Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

thalfor54

32 Austin, TX Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 18–36
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 2:41pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Gemini
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Open relationship
Relationship Type
Non-monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Ancient Greek (Okay), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'd say I'm a study in contradictions. I'm uncomfortable going to a party where I don't know many people, but have no problem speaking in from of a classroom of 50 or 500. I've always been an intellectual, but I'm writing a dissertation on the importance of irrational motivations in Aristotle's ethics. (For that matter, I picked a topic that requires learning ancient Greek, but I suck at languages.) I'm often quiet, often the life of the party, and rarely in between the two (but no, I am not bipolar or anything like that). I don't believe in astrology, but I still think I fit the description of a Gemini to a tee. (My favorite description said something like "As a Gemini, you see both sides of every issue. Instead of giving you clarity, this makes you argue with yourself endlessly. You'll probably end up a strung-out drug addict or a philosophy professor." I swear that's not why I became a philosopher though.)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've been working at turning myself into a successful philosopher and professor for some time now. This fall I take my Greek translation exam and defend my prospectus (basically a plan for my dissertation and a sample chapter). I'm excited about it, but still periodically wonder if I shouldn't open a food truck instead. I'm also enjoying being in Austin and discovering the various things it has to offer. It's a big town though, so suggestions where to look would be great, and a co-explorer even better.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Listening, talking in small groups, talking to large groups, cooking, baking, entertaining, friendly debating, making people laugh, calling misogynistic BS when I see/hear it, being passionate (in a variety of senses), making parenthetic remarks (see above), putting a lot of (too much?) thought into movies/music/popular culture, forgiving others, being hard on myself, keeping other people's secrets and giving up my own.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My hair. Girls often tell me they'd kill for my hair. No one's actually tried yet, but I keep my guard up just in case.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: I don't get to do much pleasure reading any more, but Daniel Suarez and and H.P. Lovecraft rock my world. I grew up mainly reading fantasy like The Dark Tower series and The Wheel of Time, but I haven't read the latter since Sanderson took over writing it. The Black Jewels world is amazing, I'm nerdy enough that I really enjoy reading Aristotle's Nicomachean Ethics, and I'm eagerly waiting the chance to finally read The Bloggess's book "Let's Pretend This Never Happened."

Movies: Closer, Brick, The Dark Knight, The Machinist, May, Dead Poets Society, Secretary, Salton Sea, The Last Castle, Pitch Black, Unforgiven, The Prestige, Repo! The Genetic Opera, The Devil's Carnival; more generally, I love horror as a genre, but I also think most horror movies suck. I want a creeping psychological fear, not buckets of blood and cheap jumps.

TV: Firefly, Scrubs, Daily Show, Colbert Report, Iron Chef, So You Think You Can Dance (seemingly the only competition show out there that actually has world-class contestants and isn't interested in fabricated "reality" drama), Game of Thrones

Music: Emilie Autumn, Rent, Robbie Williams, NIN, Rammstein, Regina Spektor, Wumpscut, Straylight Run, Dresden Dolls, Angelspit, Motion City Soundstrack, Dr Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, kidneythieves, Mumford and Sons

Food: I was raised a very picky meat-and-potatoes type of eater, but I've grown out of my culinary shell into a full-blown foodie. I'm almost as good with veggie dishes as I am protein entrees, and a while back I stretched my foodie muscles by putting on a five-course dinner that was vegan and gluten-free. Show me a new cuisine or a creative new chef and I'll be eternally grateful. Or give me a culinary challenge and I'll enjoy cooking for you even more!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Friends
Laughter
Thought
Books
Coffee
Goals
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
What counts as a life well lived, how to make sense of moral disagreement, how to engage with society to make it a better place, the ethics of sex and our messed-up cultural stigmas about it (or sex-positivity more generally), whether Socrates really thought it would be unjust to flee Athens, ancient Greek grammar, my two cats, when I'll get to teach my own classes again instead of being a TA, what restaurant to visit next, how good wine can be, how bad it is for my wallet that I'm starting to appreciate good wine.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Getting together with friends for drinks and a movie or board games (Settlers of Catan anyone?), or going to a show or industrial club downtown, at least until the semester gets going and I have papers to grade, papers to write, papers to translate, and all the other good fun of being a grad student (which actually rarely requires sacrificing my Friday night anyway). There's also a good chance I'll be cooking for one or more people, so if you're hungry, hit me up!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Well, it's not really private at all, but this seems like as good a place as any to make explicit: I am in a serious non-monogamous relationship with one person right now, and have been for 9 years. I'm NOT just looking for a threesome. I'm looking for dates and ideally a relationship with someone. If we hit it off, you'll need to meet my current partner at some point and not actively dislike each other, but there is no need or expectation that a relationship with me entails more than friendship with her. It's not out of the question if you and she hit it off, but I just want anyone checking me out to know that I'm looking for me, not for her and me together. Also, since the question sometimes comes up, if I did get serious with someone, I would be down for becoming "closed" to just my current partner and the new partner. I can't really imagine having the time for two serious relationships plus dating other people as well :)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
We share interests and you want to.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!