Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


36 Ottawa, Ontario, CA Woman


I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 25–50
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Feb 28
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Atheism, and very serious about it
Scorpio, and it’s fun to think about
Working on university
Art / Music / Writing
Less than $20,000
Wants kids
Likes dogs and has cats
English (Fluently), French (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Everyone is one of a kind. But I'm truly a one-of-a-kind one-of-a-kind! I'm most definitely not normal - though sometimes I wish I was! My views and passions regarding life, faith, politics, and social-justice issues are so all-over the spectrum that I wind up being an equal opportunity pisseroff'er who has no one to happily vote for, and isn't really at home in anyone's parade. :)

I’m a Myers-Briggs ENTP with the occasional bout of INTP, and if you find me in a talkative mood online or in person, I will happily debate you on any subject. I have a thirst for knowledge and love to change minds on crucial issues, so I tend to gravitate toward people who hold varying views from my own - expect to be won over eventually ;)
I'm usually playful and fun with a child-like spirit (being an adult is just like being a kid - only you have no curfew!), and have a passion for clever puns and language twists.

I am passionate about the arts, whether watching or partaking. I enjoy acting and musical theater and have been an extra in a couple movies. I love to dance, especially the lindy-hop and blues dancing, though I enjoy waltz, country dancing and latin as well. I love photography (and truly intend to do something with the plethora of pics just sitting on my hard-drive!) as well as expressive arts like writing and the occasional painting. Music-wise I hope someday to learn to play piano and to improve on my self-taught guitar skills.

I sometimes come across as a bit of granola-cruncher/hippie/gypsy since I prefer a slower pace of life full of social interaction, dance events, and traveling. I have multiple chemical sensitivities (MCS) which forces me to take a very health-conscious approach to life. I avoid synthetic chemicals and am as "green" as reasonably possible. I'm primarily vegetarian, but I'm not overly strict about it if the meat is from a small family farm or organically fed.
I stay quite active with regular swims at the salt-water pool and with my inflatable kayak in the summer time.

I try to live my life with passion and fullness. I'm active and vocal on several social-issues. In particular I oppose violations of human dignity such as the death penalty, abortion, and infant circumcision. As a pro-life atheist intactivist, I hope to leave this world having brought about at least a small degree of positive change, while making love grow in my corner of the universe.

I recently became an ex-Christian after 33 years in the faith, and I'm still recovering from several years of challenging and painful questioning of everything I always took for granted. I still believe in family and marriage (for everyone), and I'm looking to be with people who can take things slow, starting out as friends, and who, if they think "casual" and "sex" are words that belong together, won't try to persuade me likewise. I'm not a booty call.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a freelance journalist (emphasis on the free, more often than not) and occasionally do some work as a doula (birth assistant) and this tends to leave me with a lot free time (alas not so much income, but I've learned to live simply) with which to do extensive couch-surfing journeys.

Over the past decade, I have visited most major cities in the United States, an a few in Mexico. In 2009-2010 I did a year and a half west-coast backpacking trek on $2500 savings and culminated in Black Rock City, Nevada (aka BURNING MAN!!!). I've got my heart on eventual soujourns in Europe, UK and Australia. I look forward to being married with children and having a permanent address (and a garden!) to call my own, but in the mean time it's nice to be on the open road and sleeping in strange beds with new sights out my window every morning.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
- Baking and cooking! I'm a recipe hoarder - but I almost never follow a recipe once I've read it. :) I love reading cookbooks and coming up with healthier or more effective alternatives. I bake my own bread, exploring different flours, and have now mastered the perfect bagel. My favourite new culinary media is vegan brownies and cakes made with beans, as well as raw-food pies and raw vegan chocolates.

- Parler Francais! I'm fluently bilingual and very much enjoy speaking ma langue maternelle. I've lost a little on the spelling side (stinkin' conjugations!) but I love the language, the music and the French-Canadian culture!

- Dancing lindy-hop and blues I'm pretty good at any partner dance - it's like a language, once you know the basics, learning a new style isn't too hard. I also enjoy belly dance, and tap dance too and hope to take some burlesque lessons in the fall.

Living well with very little I eat mostly organic, I travel a ton... I live below the poverty line. Go figure. :) It's a matter of priorities and knowing where and when to shop.

- Cuddling & Hugging :)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm very colourful. Colours make me feel happy. I love pretty and flowing skirts and head-scarves with vibrant patterns. Even my toenails are frequently painted rainbow. I often look a little like a hippie/gyspy. I love flowers and pretty things :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read everything I can! I especially love reading opposing views on the same issue. I visit the library more than the grocery store and am usually reading multiple books at the same time.
- Anything by Bart Ehrman or Christopher Hitchens (he was a pro-life atheist like me. I miss him!)
- Unnatural Selection: by Mara Hvistendahl (Since the 1970's more than 160 million girls have been aborted by parents seeking male children!)
- The Harry Potter series
- The Hunger Games Trilogy
- Stephen King's works

- The Back to the Future Trilogy
- The Party (staring Peter Sellers)
- French Kiss (staring Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline)
- Blast From the Past
- Benny & Joon
- Equilibrium
- In Time
- Inception
- The Tourist
- Momento
- The Invention of Lying
- Patch Adams
- Mrs Doubfire
- Anything Tom Hanks is in
- Ever After / The Notebook (yup, I'm a girl)
- good quality scary movies in their original Japanese versions (Ju-on, Ringu)
- indie films, Quebec films, and foreign films with subtitles (J'adores: Maelstrom, La Grande Séduction, La Sacrée, Maman Last Call )

Tv Shows:
- Documentaries, Learning Channel, Discovery Channel
- Doctor Who (Yes I am absolutely a Whovian!)
- Criminal Minds (I'm in love with Dr Reid's brain, lol)
- Dead Like Me
- Penn & Teller's Bullsh@t! series
- Lie to Me
- Mythbusters
- 1000 Ways to Die (it's educational, really! lol)
- Game of Thrones

Live Shows:
Musicals - especially Rodgers and Hammerstein

jazz, blues, big-band, oldies, country, reggae, folk music, and anything I can dance to. Also a huge fan of french Canadian music as well as anything with rich lyrics that tell stories.

- Anything I can make from scratch :)
- I love cheese and spaghetti sauce on anything!
- Indian cuisine
- organic garden-grown veggies
- quality breads
- raw and sugarless deserts
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. Dancing
2. Traveling
3. My camera
4. Access to safe water and healthy food
5. My mind/intelligence
6. Cuddling
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
how amazing it is to be a living human being. I marvel at the infinite genetic and historical possibilities that had to line up in order for any single human to be alive. I contemplate the wonder of time with a certain sadness that it will continue on without me, while finding comfort in the fact that every genetic and historical wonder who is alive with me today is facing the very same end as I within a few decades.

I regret that I can study history but am blind to the world to come. I nonetheless consider it an incredible gift to have been alive at all and able to witness this world for a brief time - and perhaps even to leave a mark on history yet unwritten! I will die and I will forget. Perhaps if I live well, I might not be forgotten too quickly.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
On a dance floor somewhere doing lindy-hop, blues dancing, or perhaps even waltz or ballroom. Or swimming my laps at the pool since it's nearly empty On Friday. Alternatively, if I'm not feeling well or not feeling very social (or it's too darn cold to leave the house!), I may be curled up with a good book. I don't mind my own company.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I had a ski accident several years ago and it cost me most of my front teeth. So I wear a partial denture. If that bothers you, you can feel free to sponsor my dental implants. ;)

I also deal with Mutliple Chemical Sensitivities (MCS), a condition that can quickly overwhelm me if I don't maintain a safe and healthy living/work environment. If you're not already a health guru living out your local health food store, hanging out with me may require some heavy adjustments. You've been warned. :)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
- You are patient. I'm not always able to read or respond to messages in a very timely fashion, especially if I'm transitional and on the road. If your message sits unread for a while, please don't take it personally. Like most women on here, I get a LOT of messages!

- You can hold an intelligent conversation and say something in your starter email that shows you've *actually read my profile*. (See previous point. Do you think "Nice pics!" and "Hey there!" are going to part the waters and set you apart?)

- You're a free-thinker/humanist/agnostic/atheist/ex-Christian, or at very least are willing to discuss matters of faith and life with large doses of science, philosophy, and reality.

- You're not looking for a quick hook-up or booty call. I believe in marriage, family and children. If you're just seeking a crotch to fill, I'm sure the gal on the corner will be pleased to meet you.