Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

thgisnialpni

43 M San Francisco, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 12:37pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), C++ (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I've traveled. I've thrown myself into pools of people from cultures very different than the one I was raised in. Exposure expanded me, but it also made it hard for me to feel like I fit in any one place. I gravitate towards transplants. If you feel against the backdrop of your own country you appear different, but against the backdrop of other places you appear more like your home country, you'll understand me well.

I'm a science geek turned business guy. I'm playful, yet grounded. Usually outgoing in public (extroverted introvert), yet I'm very private at home and keep a small handful of close friends. I like to focus on broad strategy, yet I'll roll up my sleeves and dig right into the tiny details make a difference.

I have a small musical/creative streak. Photography, Music (Guitar/keyboards, Composition, etc), Singing, Social Dance (Swing, Salsa, would love to re-start Argentine Tango) are all things I like to share with people. I have more fun doing something creative together than just talking over drinks (and I rarely drink unless we're at a party or hosting guests). If I have only one regret, it's my lack of drawing skills 8-/

I appreciate people who define themselves by what they create more than those that define themselves by what they consume or possess.

I grew up on the east coast with 4 seasons, banter, and a touch of deadpan sarcastic wit, though that's now wrapped/blended with an upbeat California outlook. I miss a few things from the east coast (like predictably agressive drivers), but I don't miss the negativity.

Travel wise jets, boats, trains, and feet have taken me to: Greece (4x or 5x? Mainland and islands though Santorini keeps calling me back - probably again this summer), England (4x), Scotland, Netherlands, Belgium, France, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, Germany (even chipped off a chunk of the wall back when it fell), Mexico, Canada, Thailand, Vietnam (2x), Cambodia, Korea, Japan (4x), Singapore (2x), Israel, Taiwan, and a few cities in Mainland China (HK (4x,), Shan Tou, Shanghai, BJ)... and a bunch of small islands in various seas.

Things I can teach: Basic Swing, Salsa, Cha Cha, Two Step, and more. Portrait Photography, lighting, and how to work your way around a high-end DSLR with a good lens. Audio recording. How to cheat at piano to play most pop tunes, how to sort of cheat at guitar (requires more practice, look out for calluses), basic drumming, how to find the north star on a not too cloudy/hazy night.

I've had my fair share of challenges to overcome. Sometimes that makes it hard for me to really bond with the overprotected or the overly lucky.
What I’m doing with my life
Occasionally stirring up good trouble. Usually found helping small-ish tech companies become bigger. This week I'm the digital marketing guy.
I’m really good at
Getting large groups of people to show up somewhere and have fun. Turning ideas into things people love to interact with. Not sweating the small stuff. Being calm and collected in the middle of chaos. Keeping good friends of both genders. Parsing accents better than the average neural net? Lately it's getting people to jam on piano (takes 30mins or less if you've played at all before - shooting for 15mins).
The first things people usually notice about me
Shaved head. Radio voice. Soft hands if we get to dance together (odd bit of genetics, no?).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
In Cali I tend to eat/cook a lot of whatever I can make in a stove wok (mostly Chinese/asian inspired dishes) but also includes some twists on good old Italian. Food favorites: Greek, Thai, Korean (my quest to make a great soondubu base has just been rocked by discovering KimKim sauce), Indian/Pakistani, Persian, Japanese, Mexican, Senegalese, Italian, Vietnamese, Chinese (used to make a monthly pilgrimage for xiao long bao), I think there's at least one favorite of mine in every cuisine, perhaps with the exception of English cuisine, and oddly I never found French cuisine that exciting (definitely some yummy stuff there, just never understood why people make a big deal of it these days). Yes, I enjoy spices. Don't hold back on my accord.

TV wise: I cut the cable years and years ago. However, I have been caught in front of the projector w/ Netflix/Prime from time to time. Most recently: Suits and Justified. Sherlock and House of Cards were my last minor addictions.

Movie wise, quirky foreign films (Amelie), twisty-plot dramas (The Usual Suspects, Memento, etc), and the occasional summer blockbuster are great, though I'm so spoiled with the home projector and surround sound I've almost given up going to the theater. I used to be a blanket Pixar fan but Cars broke the spell. Perhaps there's hope: MU was surprisingly good, and the opening scene of Up is still beautifully heartbreaking.

Music wise I'm all over the map but not a big fan of unstructured noise and mindless 4 to the floor. Sometimes the harder to figure out on the keyboard/guitar the more I seem to enjoy it. I have a sweet spot for Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No 3 (fond memories of classical music camp as a budding teenager), and just learned the Ray Charles version of Rainy Night in Georgia on the keys. Now if only I could sing like him 8-/.

Radio wise: NPR/All Things Considered, A Prairie Home Companion, a sprinkle of the BBC, and the occasional episode of Wait Wait.
The six things I could never do without
How about five? Hope, happiness, health, family, a partner to share the journey's downs and ups.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
This week? Why all cancer patients can't have targeted therapies (chemo is such a blunt instrument). What metrics to measure. Why so few mainlanders understand what Boba really means(?!). And headscratchers like: Why so many profiles on okcupid assert one thing but their photos assert the opposite??
On a typical Friday night I am
Mostly likely resting from a long week. A little home cooked food, dabbling on the piano, and if we've got a little energy to burn perhaps a partner dance or two before collapsing on the couch together is what I look forward to. (Yep, I'll say it, I'm boring).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I rarely kiss on the 1st date. Why this bothers Americans bemuses me. Oh, and I adore cephalopods. Well, mostly cuttlefish and octopi/podes. If there are no cephalopods around, leafy sea dragons are pretty awesome. You get 200 bonus points if you figure out my handle.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 32–42
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
[update: I'm in the middle of getting back on my feet after a year long battle with the scary C word (happy to report I won - you're welcome to ask details if we share tea). I won't be ready to date until the fall when I'm feeling 100%, but new music/hike/bike/climb/dinner friends welcome. Penpals from all around the planet are welcome too. And forgive me ahead of time if I'm a little slow with my replies. I usually save my writing for the weekends]

Non-matches: smokers/vapers, big tattoos/ink, drug use, daily alcohol drinkers, poly anything, burners, stalkers, drama queens, empty profiles, youngest of three, transactional lawyers, profiles with the phrase "work hard play hard", profiles with self-descriptions of "classy/pretty/fashionable/sophisticated", foodies that don't cook (spoiled consumerism at its worst?), anyone who believes morality is exclusively a religious concept, distrust of western medicine, zodiac followers (eastern or western), people who believe vaccines cause autism. If any apply, you'll find me horribly boring, please skip on by.

Still here? Silly you :P

Reasons to write:

If you find this animated short cute: vimeo.com/4352688

If you enjoy xkcd.

If you play an instrument, dance or sing.

If you like to host dinners for friends, or just for two.

If you're a science geek with a creative slant, a business geek with a science slant, a person who likes people even if you're a little shy, a smarty transplant, or someone with constructive/creative obsessions.

TL;DR - guy seeks smart, fun, creative, stable, healthy living/cooking/eating counterpart to make each other happy over the long run, dance on the sidewalks, and perhaps spawn some smart little ones along the way.