Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


33 Irvine, CA Man


You might like

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 11:35am
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Mostly anything
Christianity, but not too serious about it
Graduated from Ph.D program
Doesn’t have kids
English (Fluently), German (Poorly), C++ (Okay), LISP (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I do research, and that's a big part of what I do and how I look at the world. I bike to work. I played keys in a band. I often enjoy organizing big, crazy projects, like musicals, especially those involving zombies or robo-dancers (but on a purely just for the fun of it basis). I cook with varying sophistication. I'm fortunate enough to have lots of work related travel (Croatia, Greece, China, South Africa, Switzerland, Peru, etc.). I am an outdoors junkie, most especially running (marathons, halfs, 10ks, etc.) but also cycling, hiking, backpacking, bouldering. I climb mountains (but not the mountaineering kind). I'm not always outgoing, but I'm a fiercely loyal friend. I'm most attracted to giving, academic, and outdoorsy.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Inventing new ways to build software, teaching students how to do research, and asking (very nicely) for large sums of money.

Exploring the outdoors. Recently: Oahu, Mexico, Death Valley, Joshua Tree.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making crazy ideas happen.

Not once (but twice!) I organized a bunch of computer science grad students into doing a musical (note: this was not our day job).
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
lost in thought
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read a lot of work related books on research, but also some biographies. Some recent books: Thinking Fast and Slow, 59 Seconds, The Power of Habits, Java Concurrency in Practice, Sketching User Experiences, Steve Jobs, Seal Team Six.

Movies: Fifth Element, The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Shawshank Redemption, Braveheart

I listen to whatever pandora plays. Some recent seeds: Aqua, Muse, Imogen Heap, Regina Spektor, MGMT, Elvis Presley, Ratatat, Edvard Grieg, Ingrid Michaelson

Food: anything not Thai (well, at least without the peanuts)
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Crazy adventures
New ideas
A good run
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Cool ideas. Startups and academic life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
going out, making plans for weekend adventures, packing, sleeping; it all depends...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I still don't speak Californian and am more comfortable with yinz than bro. I'm more midwest (with a dash of east coast) than west coast.

I just lived in a place where people did not feel obligated to apologetically use the term "nerd" to describe being knowledgable. And where people were happy not to be chill and laid back quite all the time.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Your idea of a fun time includes serious conversation and crazy adventures.