New!   Incognito Mode. Now you can hand-select who sees you on OkCupid. That means total control of your visibility.

Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


48 Seattle, WA Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 35–47
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For short-term dating

My details

Last online
Apr 24
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body type
Mostly anything
Gemini, and it’s fun to think about
Graduated from masters program
Art / Music / Writing
Strictly monogamous
Has kids
Likes dogs and has cats
English, German (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am cool and calm by nature with a thirst for knowledge, understanding, and adventure...occasionally the adrenaline fueled mountain bike ride but more often cultural/urban exploration. I strive to live a life that's consistent with my beliefs and value integrity, honesty, kindness, curiosity, open mindedness and a dry and or biting wit. I like what I do for a living and work hard at it but I won't hesitate to blow off a day of work if I have a good excuse. I'd rather read cosmo than watch the superbowl...couldn't care less about the Seahawks. My idea of a good time is browsing in an antique mall or record shop, seeing a show, or sharing a meal, drinks and conversation with good people.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I design things, buildings mostly, and run an Architecture firm I co-founded. Its very rewording work that is technically and creatively challenging, is ever changing, and allows me to work with a diverse and fascinating group of clients and collaborators.
I did a lot of traveling in my younger days and studied and worked in Germany for 2 years. Recent travels include Copenhagen, Tokyo, Thailand, Mexico City, and road trips...which I love.
Evenings I'm either relaxing/recovering, at a design/art event, or out on the town.
I have 2 kids that are with me a few days a week.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
being a father/son/brother/friend, wrapping presents with recycled materials, sleeping in, drawing, fixing things, wide ranging conversations that run into the wee hours, navigating unknown territory.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm not sure, but for years people have told me I remind them of Sean recently Jeremy Renner. Ryan Gosling would be preferable but I'll take what I can get.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Radiohead, Cat Power, Interpol, the acid, Modest Mouse, PJ Harvey, Sonic Youth, Beach House, Tame Impala, Doves, Tom Waits, The Black Keys, Bjork, Jeff Buckley, Interpol, the stooges, Bach, Miles Davis, Getz, Coltrane, Chet Baker, Modern Jazz Quartet, Billy Holiday, Bill Evans...
Also: musicals, some grunge and classic rock, opera, and just a bit of country...

mainlining liberal content like Wait Wait Don't Tell Me, Radiolab, 99% invisible, On the Media, WTF, comedy bang bang...

Movies: Adaptation, the Tree of Life, Her, Wings of Desire, Babette's Feast, To Kill a Mocking Bird, Magnolia, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Cinema Paradiso, Bladerunner, Anime, Old Boy, In the Mood for Love, Valhalla Rising, lord of the rings,
Wes Anderson, Cohen Brothers, and Almodóvar are favorites as are Film Noir, and classic movies.

Books: I'm not reading much these days, just a couple of books per year. Recently finished Murakami's Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, working on Franzen's Freedom.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Ok...I'll play along.
>a good pair of boots
>a bottle of gin
>some cheese...I'm thinking sharp cheddar or Gruyere
>sketchbook and a fine felt tip pen
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
human nature, evolution, robots, beauty, self destruction, design, the evolution of cities (Seattle in particular), what I'm going to eat for dinner, cutting edge toilets, the usual stuff.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Out with friends (usually Ballard/Downtown/Cap Hill) for food and drinks, at a design related event of some kind, hanging out with family, or just kicking back.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I occasionally read Us Weekly in the check out line...and I have a Hello Kitty toilet seat cover.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
...we have something in common and you are up for meeting new people, me in this case.