Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

thouartgod

28 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:46am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 4″ (1.93m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Non-monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a musician and a native New Yorker. I grew up on Long Island, did my undergrad in Burlington (UVM), my grad work in Queens and I now live in Bushwick. I listen to a lot of KEXP, WFUV, WNYE and WNYC (I haven't lived with a television since high school). I can't spell to save my life (I will often use synonyms when writing by hand to prevent embarrassment). I pride myself on how many hole-in-the-wall spots I know in the city where you can eat incredible food for less then 5 bucks. I won't drink anything 'diet'. I'm extremely driven. I work really well, if not best, under pressure. I take my coffee black and as strong as it's physically possible to brew. I'm seriously about atheism. I believe a good cut of beef should be consumed rare. I never bask in accomplishment, it's always, 'ok, what's next?'. I don't enjoy watching sports (although I love playing) and the way that people live vicariously through sports teams really rubs me the wrong way. That being said, I will go (physically) see a Mets game once a season for kicks. I yearn to get lost in the American Southwest for a year or so. I've heard that I'm just about as Leo as they come, but I'm certainly not very big on astrology. I'm can come-off as arrogant and it can be a bit of a challenge to keep me entertained/interested; but if you earn my respect/admiration I'll take a bullet for you. I like being on control (that extends to most aspects of life, including sexuality). Too much information?
What I’m doing with my life
I write for, produce and perform with several bands/ensembles. I play mostly avant-garde/experimental music and 'indie-rock' (whatever that means these days). I finished my grad work at the Aaron Copland School of Music in 2010 (but believe me, a master's in jazz composition and arranging is completely useless, I did it mostly for the networking). I'm considering going for a doctorate (which will undoubtedly also be utterly useless). I taught private lessons for a while but quit doing that because kids tend to really try my patience. I travel as much as I can but plan on living in New York indefinitely (although I've considered moving to Berlin or Copenhagen). I work a day gig as little as I can afford to do so (I wouldn't, and couldn't, ever work a 9 to 5). Consequently I'm not exactly rolling in it (I wish life wasn't about money). I'm all for chivalry but I get this check you get the next; a good relationship is a partnership. I have expensive tastes but usually live extremely frugally.
I’m really good at
I can cook my ass off.

I can drive almost anything with wheels (or a prop).

I have a damn good sense of direction.

I know the five boroughs like the back of my hand (you could literally blindfold me, throw me in the back of a van, drop me of in any neighborhood, take the blindfold off and I would know both where I am and where the nearest bad-ass falafel joint is).
The first things people usually notice about me
My height and how serious I look all the time (I've come accept the fact that I am a heck of a lot more serious than most people are the majority of the time).

I've also been told I have pretty interesting eyes and a very solid handshake.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Coffee. Broken Social Scene. Twin Peaks. American Football. Tom Waits. Lost in Translation. The Claudia Quintet. Bukowski. LCD Soundsystem. The Beach Boys. Electra Glide in Blue. St. Vincent. Blade Runner (the cut without the awful narration). Yo La Tengo. Heinlein (hence my handle). Refused. Evil Dead. My Bloody Valentine. Chocolate (anything 70% cocoa or better). The Slackers. John Zorn. Talking Heads. Fishing with John (actually everything that John Lurie has ever done). Jim Black. American Psycho. Earth. Kids in the Hall. Broadcast. Vonnegut. Black Flag. Better off Dead. Brazilian Girls. Hemingway. Nick Drake. Portlandia. The Police.
The six things I could never do without
coffee (brewed strong...Oslo, Blue Bottle, etc).
passion (in whatever forms it might manifest itself).
great food (especially really good breads).
great beer/whiskey.
well broken-in shoes/boots.
the changing of the seasons (I live for autumn).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
L'esprit de l'escalier.

What the best use of my time is.

Where I can find a room that I can get that "When the Levee Breaks" drum sound in.

Where the woman selling tamales in my neighborhood has run off to.
On a typical Friday night I am
Playing a gig, in a recording session, working on a song or at a friend's show. The nights of the week are pretty irrelevant to me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not a private person at all, but, I'm consistently consciously fighting a New York accent (I turn it on pretty thick in certain situations where it's necessary)...and I talk to myself while driving (very often).
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 20–30
  • Near me
  • For casual sex
You should message me if
You can really appreciate a good drink but won't turn your nose up to a bad one (there is, however, never any excuse for bad coffee).

You would rather drink out of a brown bag on a bench than in 'a club'. In fact, if you've ever even set foot in 'a club' and it wasn't because you lost a bet you probably shouldn't message me.

Update (7/27/14): I'm in a very happy relationship with a beautiful 24y/o woman. We're very much in love but both looking to explore new territory sexually; specifically with regard to inviting an additional partner into the bedroom with us. She's 5'8", sweet as hell, raven-haired, porcelain-skinned, very submissive and rocks a perfect hourglass figure. We're looking for someone who is disease-free (we're both completely clean) and interested exploring some (what is for us) uncharted territory.