Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

traveler20042

60 M Chapel Hill, NC

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:38am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 5″ (1.96m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Management
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
After spending nearly 35 years north of the Mason-Dixon Line, I am preparing to return to the Land of Sweet Tea and of 17 Year Cicadas. I'll still be traveling (Nebraska is next on the series of sojourns), but NC will be home again.
Mature businessman with more than a little boy in him.
Now a single man again, I am looking for a rich, intimate relationship with an female friend in my home area, and - since I travel - I am open as well to a relationship in a city in which I am working for several months.
I believe that I know how to offer support, affection, honesty, advice (if my partner would like - otherwise, I do know how to hold my tongue), space when she needs it, closeness when she wants it, passion when the time is right, open communication, and the realization that I am growing younger daily (and, that's a great way to live).
And, one more thing: I believe that completely voluntary relationships (those to which the partners commit themselves every single day) are the best ones, because each partner really really wants to be there - and because they give the partners the freedom to be themselves.
I am passionate, intellectual, and hard to describe.
What I’m doing with my life
Opening Chapter 3 - the fun part of my life.
Having been granted the prospect of decades of a healthy life, I am happily being single, working hard, and enjoying the process.
I’m really good at
Good food, great wine, free-flowing conversation, loving the Boston Red Sox (yes, even after the demise of 2011 and unbelievable mess of 2012....), being a Dad to my kids (two boys - ages 21 and 18) and enjoying ALL of their activities, travel (no surprise, eh?), openness to life, and a feeling of accomplishment.
Asking what sort of gift(s) the people I care about would like - and not presuming, unless the message was so strong that I really knew what he/she wanted. I love to see the smile of "Oh, thank you! I really wanted this!!"
I used to say I was a "willing Chef's Assistant", but - after a couple of cooking ventures in which the food I made actually tasted like food - I am considering buying one of those tall white hats.
Spectator sports are always a terrific way to spend a summer's afternoon (Baseball), or a Winter's night (youth and college Hockey, and college Basketball).
There is no feeling better than the wobbliness in one's legs after a long bike ride or a great hike.
And, I am an enthusiastic tyro at Golf, Sailing, and Tennis. Not good, but enthusiastic.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile.
And the mischievous twinkle in the eye(s).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Book(s): Since I have only so much time to read (and do so primarily when I am traveling), I try to make sure I read the Best books I can find, focusing on Pen/Faulkner, National Book Critics Circle, and other Fiction Award Winners. Recent reads have included a number of books by Cormac McCarthy (whom I consider the greatest living American Author), and several winsome "Notes from..." books by Bill Bryson.
Movies: Young Frankenstein - the pinnacle of Mel Brooks' career. Absolutely anything with Bogart in it. "Avatar". And, for something completely different: "Sea of Love". Oooo - Ellen Barkin in the raincoat in the Bodega!!
Music: Just about anything other than Rap. Finally had the opportunity to see the Boss in Concert - WOW! Youngest 62 year old I have ever seen!!
Food: As long as it doesn't involve excessively pungent greens or boiled preserved fish which has been preserved in lye (yes, I am talking about Lutefisk!), I am good with it.
The six things I could never do without
Good food.
Great wine.
Compelling, intellectually stimulating companionship.
Real, genuine affection.
A challenge both worth undertaking and worth winning.
My sons.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What it means now to be single - and what it means too to be a Dad to young men.
On a typical Friday night I am
Too often on an airplane, coming back from Timbuktu and looking forward to driving back up I-40 to CH.
But then, unwinding from a long week.
And, looking forward to the refreshment of the weekend.
Sometimes (as often as possible, when I was already at home) out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am left-handed, and - as a result - in my right mind.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 39–53
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
What I have to say intrigues you.
And, here's the rest:
I am looking for a woman with intelligence, wit, grace, and beauty. I am looking for a woman who's a challenge mentally, who's capable of giving without the drama, and who really knows what she wants - and how valuable she is.
She should also be every bit as interested in "Yes" as I am - a strong sense of fun and an open-minded appreciation of the sheer joy of adult play are hugely important.
I am looking for a true, intimate, adult, female friend who wants a totally voluntary relationship - a relationship that each of us works to nurture and to keep alive because we like each other so much that we cannot imagine allowing it to end.
I am looking for smart, funny, confident, vulnerable, open, kind, and responsive.
I am looking for a woman who will be proud to have me by her side - and about whom I feel exactly the same way.
I guess I am looking for it all - but, I am sure that such a relationship is possible, and that she is out there.