Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

tryagain13

34 M Salem, OR

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 9:21pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Gemini
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Indonesian (Poorly), Malay (Poorly), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
[A friend looked at my profile and gave me some advice. Instead of changing the whole thing, I'm going to add her comments throughout in brackets and italics. First, the user name: the day I made the profile, I got up way too early on a hungover Saturday, and all my witty attempts were taken. 13 is my favorite number. No, I have not been in 13 disastrous relationships or anything like that.]

Relatively new to Oregon; I've been here just over three years.

I was born and raised in Wisconsin, moved to Alaska to get my Master's Degree in English, stayed for a while until I no longer wanted to be cold ever again, went overseas to teach English for a couple years, and now I'm back in the states. For the reasonably foreseeable future.

I tend to live a fairly quiet life, punctuated by occasional bursts of exuberance.

I like to be outdoors, try new foods, and just sit and chat. I have a Master's Degree in Poetry, but I need to start writing again. I used to teach literature, but I need to start reading again. I've been away from the snow for too long and need to start snowboarding again. Fortunately, these are curable problems.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Currently, I have the flexibility of working from home and setting my own hours. I work for a company that provides services to nonprofit organizations.

[Yes, it's a real job and I get a real paycheck.]

Also, recently, http://quizsocial.com. Working on the site, not taking a bunch of quizzes.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I love trivia. I'm good at knowing useless facts.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have no idea. I've never asked anyone this question about myself. I have been told I have a very recognizable walk.

[My friend said that I should point out that I am not "gimpy," as one message asked. I just don't swivel my hips much.]
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: "The Things They Carried" by Tim O'Brien, "Song of Solomon" by Toni Morrison, "Atonement" by Ian McEwan, "The Brothers K" by David James Duncan, "The Rings of Saturn" by W.G. Sebald, "In Patagonia" by Bruce Chatwin, "Lives of the Animals" by Robert Wrigley.

TV: "Lost," "How I Met Your Mother," "Chuck," "The Office"; I just finished plowing through the first four seasons of "Mad Men."

Movies: I have a soft spot for stupid comedies, otherwise some favorites are "The Big Lebowski" and "Tombstone."

Food: I'll try anything once (this includes cobra, ants, and calf testicles, which have all found their way into my mouth in the past), but I have an affinity for southeast Asian cuisine, as well as anything with cheese on it (grew up on a dairy farm). I like making risotto and homemade pizza.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family and friends and, um, a sense of wonder? (Cf. Louis C.K.'s bit about planes and technology.) Other than that, I'm pretty much a minimalist.

However, I lasted a year+ without acceptable cheese, and I'd prefer not to do that again. Coffee and beer make my days somewhat more enjoyable.

Oh, and running water is nice. Did without that for a while, too, and probably don't want to go that route again.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Comma splices. Or the lack thereof. Seriously.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have no sense of smell. I've been told that this trait is shared by several serial killers.

[My friend said I shouldn't mention serial killers. Even though I'm not one, I shouldn't even put that idea in anyone's head.]

I've also had a couple disasters involving pits. (Not the arm kind, the hole in the ground kind.)

And I sometimes read magazines from back to front. I probably read your profile from bottom to top.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you were interested by something in my profile. Don't worry, I don't bite.

[Lastly, my friend said that there is nothing interesting in my profile that would make someone want to message me. I don't think that's true, but I'll let you be the judge.]