Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

umguy13

34 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Apr 6
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Sign Language (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a new-to-NYC (two years now), intelligent, educated, adventurous, thoughtful, honest, loyal, confident, quirky, witty, unique guy.

I'm definitely unique. I'm very much my own person, and sometimes that rubs people the wrong way. I don't always agree with people, and I won't always agree with you. I've been told by friends that when they first met me they thought I was aloof; I'm not aloof (see I'm not agreeing), but I'm not super-outgoing/loud either (at least at first). I tend to listen, observe, and take things in before I really inject myself into a situation, but I am trying to modify that at least to the extent that people don't see it as a bad thing. All of that is much more evident in group situations; in a one-on-one, people typically describe me as a flirt.

One of the things that most surprises people about me once they get to know me is that I don't really fit well into any category. And I'm proud of that. I like what I like because it interests me, not because I'm supposed to. I'm something of a hopeless romantic, but with an occassional cynical side; I'm socially-liberal, but not a democrat (nor a republican); I play sports (mostly baseball and football) and watch them (especially baseball and college football), but also love musical theatre, the opera, book club, and baking; I'm most comfortable at a hole in the wall, but also enjoy fine dining. I'm definitely nerdy about my interests, and appreciate others who aren't too cool to be themselves. I don't like anything ironically.

Some things that I particularly like: modern art, listening to NPR/TAL, jazz clubs, cooking and baking, reading, traveling, exploring neighborhoods and flea markets and hidden gems and foreign countries, and playing pub trivia. I also like vintage things, dancing, road trips, parentheses and semi-colons, barbecue, and watching movies.
What I’m doing with my life
Living (I'm neither undead nor zombified, despite current trends), learning, typically staying out very late.

I'd like to think that I'm becoming a better person as I get more experienced at living; as with other aspects of life, that process seems to have peaks and valleys, but I'm ever mindful of trying to improve.

My newest idea/quest is to learn Portuguese, and I also want to re/continue learning sign language.
I’m really good at
Remembering random facts and details, engaging in discussions, being spontaneous, and making witty remarks, identifying actors by their voice in animated movies and commercials.
The first things people usually notice about me
You've probably already checked out my pics and come to your own conclusion. Yes, I've made the assumption that people notice a physical characteristic first, but I think that's pretty safe to say.

Possibly my eyes?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Sun Also Rises, 1984, The Jungle, Carter Beats the Devil, The Corrections.

Movies: The Prestige, 12 Monkeys, The Game, Fight Club, 500 Days of Summer, Moulin Rouge, Up, The Incredibles, There Will Be Blood, Top Gun, Black Swan, Minority Report, Eyes Wide Shut, Batman, The Shining, Sideways, Ace Ventura, Dark City, Clue, Eternal Sunshine, Inside Man, The Dark Knight, James Bond movies (fave is probably Thunderball or Live and Let Die).

Shows: (TV) Glee, Archer, Fringe, Parenthood, Louie, Lost, Flight of the Conchords, Seinfeld; (Broadway) South Pacific, West Side Story, Guys and Dolls, Show Boat.

Music: lots of jazz (Miles Davis, Chet Baker, Dave Brubeck, don't always know who), Radiohead, The Rolling Stones, Sufjan Stevens, The Postal Service, She & Him, Neutral Milk Hotel, Johnny Cash, Frank Sinatra, others.

Food: most of it; Detroit and Chicago pizza, Kansas City ribs, Cincinnati chili, most things homemade, watermelon, peaches, pancakes, Carribbean, Indian, Mexican, Creole, Southern, sushi, cake, pie.
The six things I could never do without
My memory
Books
One good friend
A Kitchen
The ability to walk and/or public transportation
A sense of adventure
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'm a pretty curious person, so I end up spending time thinking about whatever crosses my path. I'm definitely more likely to say "let's look that up" than "who cares".
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
As a child I was deathly afraid of clowns. Now, while I wouldn't say afraid, let's just say I'm not the first one at the circus.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 27–38
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You think we could have fun together. You're a kind person (I think kindness is both underrated and extremely important). You are intrigued in some way.