Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

untitled_event

35 Washington, DC Woman

Woman

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 32–43
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Jul 29
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Sign
Sagittarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Status
Single
Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay), German (Okay)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
When I was a kid I wanted to be an egyptologist. A schoolyard friend insisted that wasn't a real thing. I patiently explained that it was like being an archeologist but for all things Egypt-related: it would involve adventure and climbing and tunnels and time traveling and also figuring things out with your brain and-- and then gave up trying to convince her and suggested we play on the slide instead.

That basically sums up my personality to this day. I have three passports and have lived in many cities around the world. I have a PhD in (twentieth century, non-Egyptian) History and like going back in time and finding out how things work. I love meeting new people and trying to find a way to connect with them. Sometimes I like to explain things earnestly. But most of the time I think it's more fun just to enjoy the slide.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Oh gosh. Right now I work at a think tank doing international relations/ public diplomacy, mainly U.S.-Europe. I write analsis, lead workshops, and do lots of connecting. The most central part of my life, though, is my Buddhist meditation practice and that world, and am increasingly moving in that direction. I can fill you in if we meet.

In addition to sitting in silence everyday, I love to do yoga, go for long urban hikes, grow vegetables, have intense conversations with my friends about our lives and thoughts, and laugh uproariously and be silly whenever possible.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making apple tart. Lavishing attention on other peoples' parents, pets and children. Dancing around my apartment to the soundtrack randomly generated by my ipod.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Let’s try one thing per category...

Recently been voraciously reading mystics of all religious/philosophical stripes (that's a genre-- is that pushing my one thing rule?)

Shows-- am almost done watching the Mad Men final season (don't tell me what happens!)

I recently watched the movie The Namesake and loved it.

Music. This gets hard. There's almost nothing I don't enjoy. All time favs: Luke Kelly, The Kinks, New Order, Bach, Chopin, Otis Redding, the Shirelles. I like gipsy jazz and giant dance parties with balkan music. This past week have been listening on Spotify to Caetano Veloso, Florence and the Machine, and bluegrass classics.

For food-- everything, with a fondness lately for stir-fried kale and corn with lots of coarse Malden salt and excellent olive oil.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
freshly ground morning coffee
Rose scented lip balm
yoga mat
fresh air
dry wine
meals shared in good company
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Either meeting a friend, or going to yoga, then walking around Dupont/Adams Morgan/Logan Circle to clear my head of the week's chatter in advance of weekend activities. I like to eavesdrop on conversations on the streets. Recent favorite: “and you knew he’d made it, because the party had a cigar-cutting station, and everybody got their own lobster!"
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You're fun, smart, and open

You have a lot of energy and like to be outside, and want to go for long tramping rambles on Sundays up and down the trails of Rock Creek Park-- or pack up and explore outside the city altogether.