Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

upthepunx

28 M San Francisco, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:25pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and laughing about it
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English, French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
The Bay Area is my fourth home in the last 7 years. Before this, I lived in London, D.C., and NYC. I went to school in New England and grew up in and around Chicago, so I've been around the block once or twice. I think I'll be here a while, unlike the other places I've lived in since college. The people are nicer, the weather is better, and I found a job I really love. (I still can't settle on a place to live, though--I've had 4 apartments since moving here in 2011, spanning both SF and Oakland.)

I like going to concerts, exploring the city, reading, lifting, and checking out new bars and restaurants. I'd like to get into rock climbing, but my schedule hasn't left much time for it recently. Instead, I've been playing a bit of tennis and doing car- and motorcycle-related stuff. I'm not a car or bike nut by any means, but I love learning new things (especially if it involves fixing stuff/DIY) and I like things that go fast.

I stay out late and get up early because there's just too much to do. I used to cycle a lot, but I sold my bike when I left London to save on shipping, but I'm starting to regret it. I rode from New Haven to Seattle one summer, so not having a bike is a bit alien to me. I guess the car/motorcycle stuff has replace it for now--after all, there's only one Saturday morning per week.

I love tattoos and piercings though I've only had the latter. I'm tempted by tattoos, but I think my artistic tastes are too fleeting to settle on something.
What I’m doing with my life
Working with startups, trying to build something interesting. I used to work in finance, but decided after 4 years that it just wasn't for me, so now I spend my days messing around with technology and figuring out how to make it better.

Outside of work I travel whenever I can (I visit London about twice a year), hit up art museums (favorite in NYC was either the New Museum or the Whitney; favorite in London was probably Tate Modern), read everything I can get my hands on (within reason), and teach myself things (e.g. building a computer, fixing my car, etc.).
I’m really good at
Organizing information. Dragging my ass out of bed. Trying to do too much. Learning things.

Avoiding deer while riding a motorcycle. Keeping said motorcycle on the road after avoiding the aforementioned deer, not so much.
The first things people usually notice about me
My voice is deeper than you'd expect.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I listen to music all the time, but recently I've been listening to the new albums from J Roddy Walston and the Business, Hard Girls, The Roots, and Christian Loffler. More generally, I'm into punk, indie, electronic music, and a smattering of hip hop (though obviously not limited to those genres--inasmuch as one considers "indie" a genre).

I'm always reading something. I try to alternate between fiction and non-fiction, but lately I've been biasing towards the latter. I just read "The Fire Next Time" by James Baldwin, and now I'm working on "Capital" by Thomas Piketty and "The Everything Store" by Brad Davis. Once those are done, I think I'll do some Didion or Nabokov. For nonfiction, my tastes vary: everything from tech/law/culture (e.g. "Remix") to race/politics (e.g. "The New Jim Crow") to econ/psych (e.g. "Thinking, Fast and Slow") to journalism/history (e.g. "And The Band Played On") to LGBT/sexuality (e.g. "Sex at Dawn"). Seriously, bookshelves are probably the most prominent furniture in my apartment. Favorite authors: Salinger, Kerouac, Diaz, Wolfe (Tom), Kesey, HST, DFW, and others.

I love Pixar movies, especially Up and Wall-E. I don't know why but I'm not particularly fond of the Toy Story sequels. Other favorite movies: La Haine, American History X, Rebel Without a Cause, Igby Goes Down, Half Nelson, Wristcutters: A Love Story, Brick, The Wrestler, Entre les Murs (aka The Class), Drive, The Lives of Others, Her.

I don't watch much TV, primarily because I don't own one or have Netflix. The last show I really got into was Archer, mainly because I love H. Jon Benjamin's characters.

As for food, I'm super excited to be back in the States if only for the peanut butter (although I'll also admit that almond butter is way better). But I'll admit I'm bummed at how much worse the hummus is here compared to London. I do like to cook (and bake) whenever I have time. I make some mean turkey (or chicken) chili, and I have a serious weakness for banana bread or pumpkin anything.
The six things I could never do without
- In-ear monitors (think headphone/earplug combination)
- Music (playing (drums), listening to, watching live)
- Plain t-shirts
- Physical activity (lifting, cycling, running, tennis, whatever)
- Adventure (hiking, either urban or in forests; travel; car racing totally counts here too)
- Books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next big project/goal. Currently: prepping a race car with friends; also, learning some programming/machine learning.

Aesthetics, memetics, and what makes specific works of art/literature/music/movies "great".

The distinction between gender and sex. Biases. Heterocentrism. Racism. Other isms. Straight white (cis-)male privilege.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out! I like seeing shows or checking out new bars and restaurants with friends. Or, if it's been a tiring week, in reading or watching a movie (and then going out Saturday after getting some rest). It's good to have balance.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't really like celebrating my own birthday. I don't know why.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you don't take yourself too seriously, but are still motivated to do awesome things.