Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

urban_ginger

30 M San Francisco, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 10:15am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
6′ 4″ (1.94m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Dropped out of Ph.D program
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I am a thoughtful, laid-back, sarcastic, well-rounded nerd. Right now my job is to develop iPhone apps for a startup in San Francisco, but as little as three years ago I was a full time high school teacher. I moved here about a year ago from Brooklyn and so far I am loving California. I enjoy running, hiking, camping and otherwise being outdoors and so I am having a blast exploring all of the beautiful places in and around the city. I also enjoy food, particularly the natural, unprocessed, thoughtfully-prepared kind, of which, I am learning, this city has an abundance.
What I’m doing with my life
I build iPhone apps for a startup that makes social software for businesses. While it does not sound as sexy as developing the next hit consumer app (e.g. Instagram), I am really excited to make tools that don't just help people share photos, but which actually make them better and more efficient at their jobs. I got interested in software development while working as a teacher, thinking about and experimenting with ways in which iPhones could help me do my job in the classroom and help my students learn more efficiently. In the long term I hope to return to some of those ideas, perhaps in the form of my own startup.
I’m really good at
I have a friend who believes that every individual has one super-power. Mine is navigation. I excel at knowing exactly where I am and figuring out how to get where I need to go, geographically speaking. I love exploring new places, puzzling over maps, and otherwise orienting myself in the physical world. And once I am familiar with a place I never forget how to get around it, even if I haven't been there in years.

Some runner-up candidates for my super-power included:
- sarcasm and dry wit,
- puzzle and problem solving,
- strategy and board games,
- circulation (my fingers and toes NEVER get cold, and cuts heal extremely fast),
- organization.
The first things people usually notice about me
Well, I'm six foot four with red hair. I think that makes me stand out.

As soon as I open my mouth it becomes obvious that I am hopelessly sarcastic. But, occasionally I also have something intelligent to say. I am also pretty self-deprecating.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I wouldn't call this a definitive list, but among my favorite things are:

Books: The Brothers Karamazov, Ender's Game, Contact, The Death and Life of Great American Cities, The Geography of Nowhere, The Glass Castle, The Drunkard's Walk, On the Genealogy of Morality

Movies: The Big Lebowski, The Matrix, Toy Story 3, True Grit, Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back, The Rock

TV Shows: The Wire, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, 30 Rock, MythBusters

Music: The Who, U2, Rush, Led Zeppelin, Green Day, Ratatat, DJ Tiesto, Ulrich Schnauss, Deadmau5, The Killers, Kurt Elling, Mulgrew Miller, Daft Punk

Food: natural, healthy, authentic, carefully-prepared anything. I will cook it. I will go to a restaurant.
On a typical Friday night I am
I do a lot of different things to unwind at the end of a week, including:
- cooking and enjoying a delicious meal (and drinking a few bottles of wine) with friends,
- attending an interesting cultural event (jazz, opera, orchestra, baseball game?),
- trying a new restaurant,
- resting up because I'm getting up at the crack of dawn to drive out of the city and hike all day Saturday,
- playing nerdy board games,
- going out on the town (I prefer a speakeasy to a club, but get a few in me and we can go somewhere to dance).
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–31
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating