Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

urbantwilight

49 Vancouver, WA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 35–49
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 21
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I’m a creative professional at work and creatively adventurous with family, friends, and when I’m just plain creating in an energizing and unstructured environment. When it comes to vacations and time with friends and family, I prefer a rough plan that has plenty of opportunity for living in the moment and following life wherever the adventure leads. I have a flexible and relaxed attitude towards life. I’m a combination of independent and highly collaborative. I have a strong sense of self, ethics, and purpose in life. Even though I'm mostly an extrovert, I prefer a balanced mix of social and creative time. I improvise/compose on the piano, I’m learning the acoustic guitar, finger picking style, and I love to write. I’m nearly always happy and I bounce back quickly from adversity, often with a comedic perspective on life that's very fun to share. My wide circle of friends and several close friends are very much a part of me and I’ll often make time for them. I pursue life with a sense of curiosity, exploration, adventure, passion, and fun. I have numerous hobbies, am a very capable cook, can fix nearly anything electrical or mechanical including my son’s cracked iPad. I consume information and readily share it depending on the situation and need. I also enjoy the arts, theater, Indie and big-budget movies, fiction and non-fiction books, and experiencing the lively ecological wonderland that we call the PacificNW that I happily call home...since 1991 (Albuquerque, NYC, Austin, and Dallas/Fort Worth were just transitional places on the way to get here. :)

I have three kids and the empty-nest situation has partially and successfully occurred. I really enjoy being a parent, coaching and inspiring, and there to provide whatever helpful insights I may have. My daughter and oldest son attend WWU in Bellingham, WA. My youngest son, an International Baccalaureate program high school sophomore, lives with me half time. I enjoy kids and the pell-mell artistic chaos that occurs every other week as hordes of my kids’ friends descend on my house to play board games, roll-playing, and watch the latest viral YouTube videos and anime series.

I require and get 8 1/2 hours of sleep a night. I can easily focus on something even when the environment is noisy. Although I'm creative and intuitive with good warm emotions, I can also be highly analytical when needed. I'm on the pragmatist/optimistic side of the spectrum. I am very curious and I'm an excellent listener.

On the other side of the equation, I don't do drugs, I don't do any big pharma, I have no health issues, and I don't like big drama (although I can effectively deal with it when I need to). I don't get along well with people that have ADD/ADHD beyond acquaintance. Also, big or numerous tattoos now scare me just like those with crazy fiery tempers do. However, I do like to see passion, excitement, and genuine happiness in others.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a Software Development Manager at a very well known medical software company. I help others succeed by coaching, mentoring, inspiring, and leading by example. Although aspects of my job are highly technical, it is the human part of my job that I enjoy the most. I'm particularly passionate about providing the best medical content and telephonic health coaching possible.

I'm taking lessons to learn the acoustic guitar, I sing in a large choir (as a bass/baritone), I compose on the piano, I'm slowly writing a scifi book that has an emphasis on compelling characters and comedic absurdity (I can't believe I'm already 350 pages into it and about to go into the editing round), I'm a member of a fun monthly scifi/fantasy discussion book club, and I'm enjoying everything that Portland and the beautiful Pacific NW has to offer. When I'm home, I'm kept company by Elsie, an adorable 6 year old beagle, and Felix and Snagglepus, a brother and sister pair of mostly hypoallergenic Siberian cats that are always playful, joyful, and affectionate. I also enjoy having many friends and family over for food and great conversation.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
understanding other people that are quite different from myself. I'm able to change my perspective throughout the day depending on the situation. I can be an excellent technical problem solver, highly organized and exceptionally analytical, which is essential in my job. I can also be highly intuitive, creative, artistic, and collaborative, which helps me to help my friends, family, and coworkers. I'm also really good at seeing the bright side of things, regardless of the situation. Maybe this is why I enjoy improv comedy, because the rule is that you can never say no even if it leads to a potentially dire situation...an optimistic attitude coupled with creativity can always result in warm laughter. Basics that I'm good at include cooking, gardening, woodworking, fixing anything electrical, digital photography, software, arts and crafts, and making music.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm friendly, high-energy, relaxed, attentive, and happy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Bartimaeus Trilogy, Red Shirts, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Freakonomics, Guns Germs & Steel, Perseus Jackson & the Olympiads, Harry Potter, Catch-22...and anything by Terry Pratchett.
Movies: Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Wall-E, Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind, Monty Python and the Holy Grail, Back to the Future, Blade Runner, Steins Gate (Anime), Princess Bride, While you were Sleeping, Good Will Hunting, Monsters Inc., Its a Wonderful Life, The Matrix, Casablanca, Groundhog Day.
Music: Everything except acid rock, really squeaky jazz, and tuneless rap.
Food: Thai, Sushi, Italian, Mexican. Mostly I eat a healthy omnivorous Mediterranean diet.
Shows: Portland Cello Project, Portland Baroque Orchestra, house concerts with Indie bands, Renaissance festivals, Arts and Crafts fairs, Author talks at Powell's, Science and History Pubs in Portland.
My current favorite theme song is http://youtu.be/VxGKyahRdJY "Steins Gate" from the Anime series on Funimation.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
* My kids
* Friends
* A wonderfully alive planet
* Musical and writing instruments
* Communications technology to stay in touch with others
* Love
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
* How to help people help themselves, whether it is through technological means or being the best friend possible to those that I love.
* New musical and fiction book ideas
* Interplay of science and society. How does the urban form of a city affect the way we interact? How do new types of devices change how we form social groups and connections? How does all of this help to foster creativity towards solving the world's problems?
* How can I help my 8 year old nephew succeed at Farmville and Spore? (Life can't always be taken seriously)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Out with friends....Or out with a special someone if I'm in a relationship...which I'm not currently in at the moment.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I read somewhere that you shouldn't write something that is published on the Internet unless you wouldn't mind seeing it in a newspaper. Well, years ago, I worked at the Daily Texan newspaper (circulation 50,000/day) and I wrote some pretty amusing editorial articles. The most notable was one in response to an article that ran in the previous week's paper about Kim Bassinger. Someone had taken her picture (in a bathing suit) and put a dotted line around it and had the words "clip and save" causing a huge uproar on campus. So in an effort to realize a bit of equality, I wrote an article that called on the Editor to get a photo of him taken with his first cup of coffee for the day in hand. I have no idea if he was a turn-on for the women readers, but I must say that once his photo ran, complete with a clip-and-save dotted line with his apology below it, the sense of "balance" on campus was restored.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Vancouver Clause: Please read!!! :-)
* If you have kids, you either need to live in Vancouver/Clark County area or you should be accepting of my kid-reality that will keep me living in Vancouver for the next 3 years. (although I'm happy to drive anywhere in the Portland area on a frequent basis to see a good friend or someone special.)
* If you don't have kids, you need to be OK with the fact that I live in Vancouver.
I love Portland, especially SE and NE Portland, I used to live in Tualatin, and I work in NW Portland, so it may be in the cards if I find that special someone.
* You're a member of the human species, and have lots of empathy, compassion, and friendliness in the mix for good measure.
* You are employed full-time and are at least satisfied in your job.
* You are educated and enjoy learning.
* You have an upbeat, positive outlook on life.
* You're a non-smoker and you've never smoked.
* You have at least a couple close friends in the area.
* You're not planning on moving across the country or to a different country during the next decade.