Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

veranabokov

33 Brooklyn, NY Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 30–45
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Dec 10
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Drinks
Drugs
Religion
Catholicism, and laughing about it
Sign
Sagittarius, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
More than $1,000,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Monogamous
Offspring
Might want kids
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English, French (Fluently), Portuguese (Okay), Spanish (Poorly), Latin (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
As a second-term fetus, I visited a fjord in Norway, got jostled by a major San Francisco earthquake, and ate a great deal of chocolate. I'd like to think these were formative experiences.

I was raised Catholic, but had my crisis of faith at 13, and have mostly retained a persistent sense of guilt and a love for rituals and iconography.

Allegedly ENFJ, but not sure what that means.

Semi-recent transplant to BK, spend lots of time in the East Village and UWS though, and am very open to exploring.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I've been in New York for 6 years working on my PhD, and before that I lived in Paris for 5 years teaching English (and, unsurprisingly, smoking cigarettes and drinking pastis in bars and cafés), and before that I was germinating in Californian soil. I think I have something resembling a life-plan now - teaching - but the where/when/how is fuzzy. Last year I added a part-time job working at a yoga studio, and I think another type of teaching might be entering into my goals :)
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
traveling with no money, teaching French, soup-making, dream analysis, remembering high-school level science, trivia, empathy, spelling, shower-singing, bikram yoga, geography, name that tune, getting a little bit of everything on my plate into each forkful, using maps, parallel parking on hills in San Francisco, patiently explaining things to people.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
my eyes, my shoes, my abundant hair, joie de vivre, encroachment on your personal space, and I snort or cry when I laugh really really hard.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Ada or Ardor, Pnin, Lolita, You're an animal Viskovitz, The Elementary Particles, Plateforme, Des Anges Mineurs, Tristes Tropiques, 2666, L'Education Sentimentale, Portnoy's Complaint, Zazie dans le métro, W, The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, Jane Eyre, Last Exit to Brooklyn, Martin Amis, Benjamin, Baudelaire, Pride and Prejudice (with or without zombies)
Movies: La Notte, Les Parapluies de Cherbourg, Annie Hall, Funny Girl, Black Orpheus, Les 400 coups, Baisers volés, Beetlejuice, Godfather I/II, Masculin Féminin, Night of the Hunter, The Empire Strikes Back, The Battle of Algiers, Serpico, Brice de Nice, movies with chase scenes and/or zombies, Almodovar, Allen, Antonioni, Aronofsky, Coen brothers, Godard, Fassbinder, Scorsese, Tarantino, Truffaut
Music: Françoise Hardy, Marianne Faithfull, Kate Bush, Prince, David Bowie, Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, Jorge Bem, Seu Jorge, Sam Cooke, the Dø, Caetano Veloso, Nina Simone, Serge Gainsbourg, Bruce, Johnny Cash, Dolly Parton, the Clash, Morrissey, Siouxie, Elliot Smith for the sadder days
Telly: the Wire, Mad Men, True Blood, Buffy, Twin Peaks, the Green Porno, Breaking Bad, Louie, the Walking Dead
Podcasts: This American Life, Radiolab, BBC Witness, WTF, Dan Savage, Stuff you Missed in History Class, The Bugle
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
human companions, my passport, the intertubes, NPR, modern medicine, opposable thumbs
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
past present and future (and trying to be more in the present), justice/injustice, solidarity, men/women, old people, infantile jokes, hopeychangey stuff, colors, modernity, biology, heredity, language, aesthetics, the difficulty of writing, psychology, your mom, cultural anthropology, minutae, birth, death, my next meal, and what would Jack Donnaghy do?
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
into minor mischief. But lately Friday night is specifically for hanging out with my lady friends, so we'll have to hang out another day.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I can't ride a bike! but I hope to learn someday. I once rode on the back of someone's bike and I don't know if it was the beer, but it felt like flying.
Also, I will let a dachshund or pug lick my face ad infinitum even though I'm a little bit allergic.
Finally, I study French lit but I hate Proust. shhhhh....
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
...you are a dreamboat, and I can learn interesting things from you, and you will make me laugh, and you will slay my enemies or need help slaying yours, and you have known heartbreak and are none the bitterer for it, and you will go to the opera with me, and you can convince me to not become a robot when I grow up.
And, most importantly, you want all these things to be reciprocal.
Oh, and please don't be an asshole. This includes objectivists.