Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

verbivore

31 F Ål, Norway

I’m looking for

  • Everybody
  • Ages 24–44
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Jan 18, 2013
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body Type
Curvy
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Married
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Norwegian (Fluently), Swedish (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Originally from San Diego (So-Cal), mellow and easy-going. I like to listen and observe at first to figure out situations and then usually I become more extroverted. Basically, I try to keep my mouth closed until I know what's going on. This is especially helpful when living in a foreign country. :)



I love reading and learning languages. I'm fluent in Norwegian and speak it pretty much on a daily basis (because I live in Norway, fyi). I'm even trying to learn a dialect (dork/crazy?). Decent in Spanish comprehension but can't really speak it anymore because Norwegian pushed it out of brain. I learned how to read Middle English a la Chaucer in college. I cherish proper grammar and spelling. I'm kind of a dork like that. :) I get along really well with musicians and people who have travelled a considerable amount--I even seem to unconciously float towards musicians. I play viola and hardanger fiddle, which is a really crazy awesome nine-stringed sympathetic Norwegian folk violin. It's called hardingfele in Norwegian, sounds rather ethereal, and sometimes people compare it to a kinder, gentler version of bagpipes.



Often I am reading, making jewelry, knitting (mmm...textiles), writing poetry, articles or papers, speaking Norwegian, swing dancing (lindy hop), cooking, or playing music--essentially, engaging in some form of creative self-expression. If I'm doing something, chances are I'm extrememly passionate about it. That said, I do enjoy new experiences and am usually pretty much game for anything. Living in a foreign country has contributed to a wide variety of new experiences throughout the past year, some of which I knew I was getting into and other which I didn't, but did not regret them in the end. I suspect this year will be much the same, and yet totally different...



quickmatch people: verbivore

I am patient, quirky, and game for most things
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm living in Norway, my 7th year now going on 8. On a day-to-day level, I'm just enjoying life up in the mountains. Mostly I check the thermometer in my house to see if I should build a fire or not, teach fiddle to children and Norwegian language to immigrants.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
knitting, dancing, making food from seemingly zero ingredients, converting US recipes to metric, dressing in layers, listening, making jewelry, sleeping in and developing (and thriving in) a nocturnal lifestyle, raking leaves, and making up my own knitting designs.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
knitting needles or a fiddle in my hands, creatively stylish outfits, jewelry and makeup, natural blonde hair, red lipstick.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
not limited to...
a) Books/literature: Nearly anything by Shakespeare (Measure for Measure, Titus Andronicus, Much Ado About Nothing, Measure for Measure again and again), The Canterbury Tales, Memoirs of a Geisha, The Liar's Club, The Phantom Tollbooth, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, the Harry Potter books, Erlend Loe--Naiv Super, and Kurt Quo Vadis... Latest conquest: Watership Down. Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Vern.

b) Movies: Quills, The Lord of the Rings trilogy, Batman Begins, The General's Daughter, Billy Eliott, I Heart Huckabees, Run Lola Run, Buddy, Bare Bea, Eternal Sunshine, Elling, The Count of Monte Cristo, Rushmore, Garden State, Amelie, Elling, Hero, Gosford Park, Eddie Izzard's "Dress to Kill," Pirates of the Caribbean, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Closer, Shakespeare in Love, Monty Python's Holy Grail, MP Life of Brian, also Flying Circus episodes, Black Adder, Fawlty Towers, Simpsons, Family Guy.

c) Music: Beck, The Postal Service, Death Cab for Cutie, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, J.S. Bach, The Fire Theft, Cake, Norwegian hardanger fiddle/hardingfele, Swedish folk music, Frou Frou, The Fiery Furnaces, Ani DiFranco, Stravinsky, Radiohead, Elliot Smith, Sondre Lerche, Sondre Bratland, Ravel, Shostakovich, Rebecca Clarke, Bloch, Royksopp, Modest Mouse, Jeff Buckley, Kent, Bright Eyes, swing music like Glenn Miller, Benny Goodman, much more, Missy Elliott, Eminem, Miles Davis, Thom Yorke, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Andrew Bird, Rasputina, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The White Stripes, Iron & Wine, Nick Drake, Brahms, Rachmaninoff, Black Eyed Peas, The Faint, Ani DiFranco, Nina Simone, reggae music, salsa music, Tenacious D, Ben Folds Five, Fiona Apple, The Albumleaf, Colin Hay, PJ Harvey, The Chemical Brothers...and the list goes on.

d) anything I can come up. I adore gourmet ingredients but rarely get a hold of them. Pesto and fresh tomato and mozzarella slices, fresh salmon, fresh mountain fish (ørret), pumpkin pie, good red wine with linguini and homemade sauce (onion and garlic are welcome), blue cheese omelettes, potatoes in all forms, Norwegian heart waffles, Danish pancakes, cheddar cheese (I'm a bit snobby with my cheese, but I like a wide variety), good coffee, green tea, Yorkshire tea, red wine from Chile, pear cider, Norwegian akevitt, South African Amarula, gin & tonic, whisky, tequila (especially in margeritas), Mike's Hard Lemonade and Cranberry, Corona while in San Diego, Guinness and bitters when in London, Blue Moon while in the Midwest.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1) expressing myself through some creative form, 2) music (live or on CD, but how would I ever choose which CD??) 3) my imagination, 4) touch, 5) my hands, 6) dancing. plus 7) a pen for sketching future projects, making lists, or writing down my thoughts or letters to friends, 8) rules to break
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
my next jewelry or knitting project, hardanger fiddle, hardingfele, norsk musikk, fashion and reasons behind it, cross-cultural interactions, cultural differences, learning Norwegian, how one goes about learning languages, how to improve my playing, lindy hop, how lucky I am to have found a great husband and good jobs, figuring out how to make things from plants on our farm, which shoes to wear--the practical ones or the slightly less practical ones, and how nice it would be to live in a city where it's possible to wear impractical shoes on a daily basis. How many layers of wool to wear...whether or not to build a fire.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Every Friday is different every week for me...I could be making a delicious dinner with friends, playing fiddle, maybe going to the pub or a friend's house, cuddling with my husband, watching a movie, knitting and drinking tea. Perhaps staying up late designing jewelry, or possibly reading or writing, watching Netflix, internetting, Skype chatting with my family.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm not very good at being on time. This can vary depending on the situation though... I'm slowly improving.... Ok, I wrote this about six years ago and I still haven't improved as to being on time. Ok, I'm on time to work but other than that...
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
if you like to travel and want a friend in Norway; if you share any of my interests or are just curious; if you can use a semi-colon correctly; want to know how to use a semi-colon correctly. :)