Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


43 Washington, DC Man


I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 26–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Mar 4, 2014
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body type
Atheism, and laughing about it
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Dropped out of space camp
Art / Music / Writing
Has cats
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a laid-back guy who writes about science for a living.... and I throw excellent dinner parties. I've been in DC 11 years so I know my way around and provide excellent cheap tours.

I like bike rides, hikes, scuba diving, and I try to visit one new exotic place each year. Last year, Sayulita, Mexico. The year before, Slovenia. The year before that, Costa Rica.

I've dated enough (both long term and short term) to know that solid relationships take a lot of effort. It really all boils down to great communication and being open. There's nothing better than being with someone you don't have to censor yourself around.

I'm a bit of a misfit for DC perhaps - I prefer open spaces, I'm not all that into politics, and unrepentant career strivers bug the hell out of me. But I have a lot of good friends here and enjoy the amenities of the city. I'm sure someday I'll move to someplace like Colorado, New Mexico, or maybe even Old Mexico.

I can take a little while to warm up to people, but when I do, watch out...I've got a pretty absurd sense of humor. It's all about the laughs, really.

I am sleepy, snarky, and hungry
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Living a life of full-time freelance writer craziness. It's a lifestyle choice, not just a job. I've been at it for 5 years and I'm pretty happy that I can make a living at it even as journalism crumbles. The job requires lots of patience and an ability to handle TONS of uncertainty. Like, where is my next check coming from? Or will that publication ever effing pay me? The bigger the publication, the more B.S. But it's worth the trade-off (most days) and the job has taken me everywhere from Mexico to Berlin to 100 feet under the ocean.

Also...spending a lot of time with my friends...dinner parties, out for dinner, occasional bars, golfing once a summer maybe just for laughs...I keep a few good friends real close.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
My female friends tell me I'm bright and damn funny. I'll take their word for it.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Not sure...I'll need to do a poll.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Sushi, perfectly-smoked king salmon, crab (yes, I love seafood), Contact (the movie, not the cold capsule), Lyle Lovett (met him), Tom Waits (haven't met him...yet), jazz, lots and lots of jazz.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
The ocean; good food; friends; music; travel; great books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The absurdity of the universe. And why is 8% of the human genome made up of fossil viruses???
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Often out with friends....sometimes chilling at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm an INFP, though kind of cuspy with the I and the P.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You live in DC or in a nearby, accessible burb. (I ditched my car 7 years ago.)