Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

wanderlust_wk

40 F San Francisco, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Asian
Height
5′ 0″ (1.53m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hmmm...Where do I begin? I am an ex-New Yorker, who made my way to San Francisco in 2001 via Toronto (born), Long Island (raised), Boston (undergrad), NYC (grad school), Singapore (I worked there for 2.5 years, but it was more like an extended vacation), and Burma (taught English to the rebel hill tribes).

I am open-minded, adventurous, curious, intellectual/intelligent, fun (loving), sincere, very easy-going, independent, confident, and outgoing. My friends describe me as effervescent...

I've got a career/profession that I enjoy/am passionate about. It's very broad and my professional path has taken me to places and given me opportunities that have shaped my life in a positive way. It brings variety, challenges, and neverending learning opportunities. However, it does not define me. I work hard, but I don't live to work.

My life outside of work is filled with lots of activity, but I do appreciate the quieter moments in life as well. Traveling and getting out in the world are my ultimate passions in life. I love to travel off the beaten path and explore off-limits. It's the gateway to learning about the larger world we live in, but also a way for me to learn more about myself. It totally takes me out of my comfort zone and makes me more resourceful.

I also enjoy pilates/yoga, swimming, biking on my sweet orange bicycle (I call her the Orange DreamCycle), hiking (nature and urban), SCUBA (but haven't been in a while) and snorkeling (really anything water-related), reading (books, magazines, newspapers), photography, good food, live music, volunteering, museums, movies (mainly foreign and indies, but mainstream as well), the SF Bay Area's unique/fascinating events/festivals/etc. I also work on home/DIY projects and crafts in my condo.
What I’m doing with my life
Working to pay the bills (I am an urban planning consultant to the military and also do hazard mitigation/emergency management and environmental planning), but I don't live to work...More like working to live...I think I've mastered a good balance between work and play...

Living my life with no regrets (I call it Regret Minimization Framework)...so that means taking chances, being adventurous and going on adventures (local and abroad), and experiencing new things (food, activities, etc.), as much as possible...I will try anything at least once...

Trying to see as much of the world as possible and create memorable experiences...
I’m really good at
Making a kick-ass pavlova (meringue) and ricotta cheesecakes...

Talking to and being comfortable with various people...

Navigating in any place/country...I have a keen sense of direction and am a great map reader (which I should, since I am an urban planner)...My sister and I rented a car while in Morocco, and I was able to navigate through the windy roads in the various cities without the benefit of street names on maps (or the streets)...We were also able to find our way through the medinas and souks...Not an easy feat...

Planning vacations/events (again, it's that urban planning thing)...but I am spontaneous as well...

Finding good places to eat...
The first things people usually notice about me
My height...

That I look much younger than my age...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Lonely Planet, travel memoirs (three of my favorites: A Fortune Teller Told Me, Tiziano Terzani; The Places in Between, Rory Stewart; The Geography of Bliss, Eric Weiner), David Sedaris, military memoirs (especially about experiences of those in the current theaters of war)...Not books, but most of my reading is the Digital NY Times, and magazines: travel magazines, home improvement magazines, and health/food magazines...There is just not enough time in the day to get all the reading I want done...

Movies: My movie tastes run more of the indie/foreign genres...Although there are mainstream movies that I enjoy...Faves include Casablanca, Amelie, The Hangover, The Godfather, Iron Man, The Dinner Game (French movie), Death at a Funeral (the original British version), Gone With The Wind, and others...

TV: I don't watch a lot of TV, but I can't miss Mad Men...Other shows I like when I am home relaxing and watching TV include 60 Minutes, Family Guy, Frontline, HGTV, Travel Channel, House Hunters (International), Anthony Bourdain No Reservations...

Music: I love all kinds of music, with the exception of country and rap...If you scrolled through my iTunes library, you'd think I was schizophrenic...I can go from Latin to Classical to Grunge to Bossa Nova/Brazilian to Electronica to totally 80's alternative to totally 80's freestyle to Indonesian gamelan in one sitting...I also have an insane obsession with Frank Sinatra...I also listen to NPR a lot...

Food: Yes, please...My last meal would be Maine Lobster, Mussels and Pommes Frites, a cheese platter, good wine and beer, fresh watermelon juice, young thai coconut for the coconut water and scraping of the pulp/meat, and Carvel ice cream cake for dessert...

Cities: NYC, Hong Kong, Fes, London, Budapest, Bangkok, Boston, Bali (not a city, but couldn't leave it out)
The six things I could never do without
My family and friends...I am fortunate to have a wonderful family and an awesome group of friends all over the world who support me and enhance my life.

My passport and backpack, it's all I need to travel and explore...

Reading materials (books, magazines, newspapers)...

Adventures, local, national, or international...

Mental stimulation either through reading materials (see above) or through meeting people and learning from each other...

The Ocean...

Good food...

Warmth of the Sun beating down on me (but no humidity, please)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My next career move, starting my own business...

How I can swing early retirement and split my time between Bali and San Francisco (and thus, looking at available homes/villas in Bali on line)...

Where to travel to next (spent 3 weeks in Morocco and Madrid in November 2012, contemplating a trip to Iceland in August to meet up with a good friend, and/or another trip to Bali)...

Why Americans get so little vacation time (really you can't do much with only 2 weeks of vacation per year)...

Will I be able to get a camel to do a trek retracing the Silk Route...
On a typical Friday night I am
Fridays aren't necessarily typical...It really depends on what's happening in the City, how the week has gone, and what I've got going on for the upcoming weekend...for the most part though, my Fridays involve good food and drinks with good friends...sometimes, if it's been a crazy week, it'll be a mellow evening to get ready for whatever the weekend has in store...and other times, I could be traveling somewhere...it's really hard to predict...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
private things on a public website would make them not so private... I am willing to admit that I own a pair of penguin footie pajamas...
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 27–44
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Something you've read above has struck a chord...

and You:
can challenge me; make me want to be a better person; can teach me a few things (and vice versa); are someone I can laugh with; are willing to explore fully the world and life's adventures; and are adventurous, confident, easy-going, intelligent, sincere, passionate, positive, ambitious, and ready for anything.