Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

wayale

23 M Washington, DC

My Details

Last Online
Today – 9:17am
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Education
Working on masters program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Chinese (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Hi, I'm a grad student in DC. I just spent a year doing graduate study in Nanjing, China, and I previously lived in Beijing for a year during undergrad. China is my area specialty and pretty much my life.

What else is important? I like to travel, a lot. I love all sorts of outdoors/physical activity--I grew up in San Francisco and went backpacking in Yosemite every summer, played tennis in high school, etc. I've done Dragonboat in China and am thinking about continuing that or doing crew in the US. I read incessantly. I also sing sacred music and performed in musicals in college. Sacred music is personally very fulfilling and something I will be doing for a long time.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now, in grad school for IR/China/economics.

I want to work mainly in public service, and see myself moving between government, thinktanks, academia, and the private sector.
I’m really good at
Singing; baking pies; languages; writing; public speaking; strategic thinking.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I read mostly non-fiction but will omit that here. Candide, Balzac, His Dark Materials trilogy, Madeleine L'Engle, Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, The Pleasure of Finding Things Out (Richard Feynman).

Film: The Tree of Life, Drive, Life is Beautiful, Federico Fellini, Blue Velvet, The Blue Kite, Blazing Saddles, To Live, Eat Drink Man Woman, American Beauty, Spirited Away, Hitchcock, Katharine Hepburn/Cary Grant/Spencer Tracy movies.

TV: West Wing, Battlestar Galactica, Chuck, Star Trek, Monty Python, Arrested Development, White Collar, 30 Rock, Firefly, Castle, Burn Notice, Covert Affairs, Homeland, The Americans.

Music:
Indie: Passion Pit, Vampire Weekend, Broken Social Scene, Franz Ferdinand, Phoenix, Ra Ra Riot, The Strokes, Fleet Foxes, Arcade Fire, Matt & Kim, Sleigh Bells, The Middle East, Bon Iver, Iron & Wine, Feist, Neutral Milk Hotel, Lake Street Dive.

Folk: Simon & Garfunkel, Bob Dylan, Pete Seeger, The Weavers.

Classical/Sacred Music: Ralph Vaughn Williams, Herbert Howells, Morten Lauridsen, Fauré, Duruflé, Louis Vierne, Francis Poulenc, Claude Debussy, Benjamin Britten, Tallis, William Byrd, Orlando Gibbons, Palestrina, Tomás Luis de Victoria, Erik Satie, Bach, Mozart, Mahler, Mendelssohn, Gustav Holst, Stravinsky, Antonín Dvořák, Leonard Bernstein.

Jazz: Clifford Brown, Max Roach, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, J.J. Johnson, Art Blakey, Dizzy Gillespie, Lee Morgan, Charlie Parker, Stan Getz, Chet Baker, Bill Evans, Charlie Haden, Hank Jones.

The Great American Songbook.

Stephen Sondheim is in a category all of his own.

Food: Pretty much anything, but for obvious reasons good Chinese if I can find it in the US. Also, good coffee, moosetracks/deertracks ice cream.
The six things I could never do without
Books.
Passport.
Singing.
Exercise.
Long dinners with friends and wine.
Living in the moment.

(Family and friends to me are implicit)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
personal growth and self-reflection. I've tried to be very intentional about living in the moment, becoming less stressed out and more outgoing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Entirely situational. I generally like going out if I'm with friends, I can actually hear and converse with people, and the booze is high quality. What I REALLY like though is a home-made dinner with friends, or a nice chair, some wine, a book, a fire going, and a dog at my feet.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I think the Rodgers and Hart song "Where or When" is the most romantic thing in the world.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like guys
  • Ages 20–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you are looking for a meaningful relationship or just want to make friends. I care less about whether we share specific hobbies/interests. It's more about overall personality. I think it would be great to eventually find someone who is also hard-working and ambitious, but in a completely different field from me. I'm not sure I can talk China, IR, econ, etc. at the dinner table every night; my life is already nothing but those things. We'll see.