Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

whynotpiano

28 Mountain View, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 21–31
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 22
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I enjoy understanding new things and using logical & musical creativity under time pressure. I love chatting about common interests and new things learned.

I studied mathematical optimization in school and can still be nerd sniped (XKCD) by an interesting problem.

I like playing music. I learned classical piano and cello as a kid and now I relax by playing pop/jazz styles on the piano, because I like the freedom to improvise and create your own arrangements.

I enjoy entertainment most in a cosy environment with a small group or alone, so for movies and music I'll usually watch or listen at home. When going out I like nature (parks, beaches, light hiking, etc.). Indoor rock climbing is fun because it turns exercise into a puzzle game.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I moved here recently to work as a software engineer for a tech startup. Before that I was a mathematics student. I'm mainly looking for a relationship, but my close friends are mostly out east, so I wouldn't mind making some in this area too.

I like working because the product I work on is useful, and I think that's one way to improve the world. I sometimes miss doing research, so I might try that again in a few years.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
- Math & Computer Science, especially contests in either. (I was on the contest teams in university.)
- Music. Piano mostly, and I was lucky enough to develop absolute pitch as a kid.
- Set & Dominion. I like other card & board games too but these are easily my favourites. I've also designed a Set variant.
- Noticing typos in writing or programming.
- Saying silly things seriously that get interpreted as jokes. (I don't mind.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Music: Some examples: pop (Ikimono Gakari, David Bowie's Low era, Fripside, Pet Sounds), musical soundtracks (Disney songs, My Fair Lady, Jane Eyre), genres with instrumental hooks (certain metal, Eurobeat), movie/game soundtracks (Inception, Chrono Trigger), jazz (Keith Jarrett), classical (Bach).

Movies: Spirited Away, Before Sunset, Frozen, first bit of Wall-E are favourites. I'll try anything with good reviews and don't usually re-watch movies.

Books: I read mostly non-fiction: for example, Moonwalking with Einstein, The Pixar Touch, Masters of Doom. I find myself reading a lot of pop psychology and anthropology lately.

Food: Dark chocolate, kidney beans, brocolli, cheese, anything spicy (especially indian food). My weak sense of smell means I have no appreciation of subtle flavours, but the silver lining is that I like most food (but I eat gluten-free because I'm allergic).

Video games: Every 3D Mario, Chrono Trigger
Podcasts: New Yorker Out Loud, 99% Invisible
Casual interests: Economics, game design, UI design
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
- Improvising on the piano when emotionally moved (such as after a good movie).
- Wrapping my head around math/algorithm problems.
- Explaining something interesting to somebody who's interested.
- The moment with a song or album where I can have it on loop and not get tired of it.
- When I finally "get" something when learning it.
- Earplugs when sleeping.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
- How to make efficient use of resources, and how specific ideas can be generalized.
- Whatever catchy tune is on my mind at the moment.
- What I'd say about what I'm doing or just did if I were talking to someone. My inner monologue is often active.
- How our surroundings and culture shape our actions, values, and lives.
- What the world might be like in 100 years.
- Which skills can only be acquired in early childhood. (I know only two.)
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Exercising, playing piano, chatting with friends and family, or browsing the internet while listening to music.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have a weak sense of smell so I'm a little worried about accidentally drinking or eating something that has gone bad.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
...you want to chat, have music/movies/books/podcast suggestions, or want a belay partner.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!