Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


33 M Tucson, AZ

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 6:30pm
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Mostly vegetarian
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Graduated from masters program
Science / Engineering
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Relationship Type
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Likes dogs and has cats
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I make an effort to go through life with an adventurous spirit and a smile on my face, to live in the moment whenever possible. Doing so has brought me to many enjoyable things: interesting music and crazy art/independent/foreign films, ultimate frisbee, adventures outdoors, a culinary incident or three, close friends...and hopefully, one day soon, to a woman with whom I'll eventually have the desire to spend the rest of my life.

For now, I find myself happy with most aspects of my life, and looking to share it with someone meaningful. Of the many hats I wear, the ones that mean the most to me are 'brother,' 'son,' 'friend,' and 'ally.'

In the spirit of full disclosure, it's likely I'll be moving away from Tucson in the next couple years, possibly to the Pacific Northwest, possibly elsewhere. (See below.) I've actually lived in Tucson for all but five years of my life, and I'll definitely miss its natural beauty and interesting culture.

Wherever I end up geographically, I intend to have room for a vegetable garden, and the time to tend it. In the meantime, I'm excited to say that I finally started that compost pile I've been talking about. :-)

Oh, and I happen to be a sucker for softly-hued eyes. Just sayin'.
What I’m doing with my life
Recently, I finished up my MSEE, after six years of going at it part-time. It has been surprisingly easy adjusting to the abundance of free time this has afforded me! Okay, so I'm joking here. Mostly. I definitely have more free time than when I was in school, but there's also that little matter of my job. In any case, please understand that I don't always expect you to have free time on a given night, just because I happen to. And I believe it's healthy to have our own activities, in addition to those we share with each other.

I enjoy volunteering, be it tutoring elementary and high school students in math, packing boxes at the food bank, or adopt-a-highway. Time spent in these endeavors leaves me more fulfilled than does the career I've worked hard to build over the last nine years (I'm an engineer, though that was probably clear from the degree).

Ultimately, my goal in this life is to make a lasting, positive impact on the lives of others. To this end, I recently decided to pursue a career in audiology. Earning my AuD is going to require four more years in grad school, beginning in autumn of 2015. I'm very excited to have started down this path!
I’m really good at
Being a sounding-board for my friends' quandaries.
Spitting up random useless trivia, especially music- and sports-related.
"...begging for that frypan..."

Probably other things...
The first things people usually notice about me
The smile that I suspect is eternally plastered to my face. Or at least I assume so, given the number of smiles I get back.

My beard, such as it is. When my mane was longer (and curly), it was probably that instead.

My sometimes dry, usually ridiculous sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
By no means an exhaustive list, but here are a few of each...

Books: "Pastwatch," "1984," "Lord of the Flies," everything that I've ever read by Roald Dahl

Movies: "Metropolis," "Micmacs," "Back to the Future," "Let the Right One In," "PCU," "Alien"

Shows: "The Daily Show," (the first season of) "American Horror Story," "Austin City Limits," "The Big Bang Theory"

Music: Medeski, Martin & Wood, Porcupine Tree, High on Fire, DJ Shadow, The Mars Volta, Muse, Tori Amos, Tool, Pat Metheny, Robert Cray, Phish, Umphrey's McGee, Parliament-Funkadelic (the various incarnations thereof), Bootsy Collins, Muddy Waters. Also, have a gander at the bottom of my profile.

Food: Thai, Italian, Sushi, Vegetarian, Mexican, Vietnamese, Ethiopian, Mediterranean, Indian, Chicken 'n' Waffles

Finally, since this seems as good a place to put it as any...
Games: I happen to think board games are a good deal of fun. Backgammon is probably my favorite at the moment, and it might be nice to find someone interested in playing chess and/or scrabble on occasion. But more party-oriented ones can be nice, as well. Cards Against Humanity, anyone?
The six things I could never do without
Let's go with 'things that make life worth living,' shall we?
(Of course, there are never just six...)

-family and friends (platonic and otherwise)
-opportunities to make a positive difference in the lives of other's
-good health
-my hearing (music really is that important to me)
-time spent in nature (serene, as well as active)
-dark chocolate (I'm talking 70-90% cocoa)
-college sports
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The universe, and what its existence means. What I'm doing with my life. Putting myself into the shoes of others. Where I'd like to live next. How fortunate I am for so very many reasons.
On a typical Friday night I am
Having a potluck dinner with friends and/or family. Attending a late movie at the Loft (with friends or by myself). Decompressing from a long work-week. Reading/relaxing/people-watching at a cafe on 4th Ave.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
1) I am a cancer survivor. I put that out there, not to garner sympathy, but rather because it informs a good chunk of my attitude towards life these days. I am willing to answer any questions you might have on the subject, but I'd prefer to do so in person.

2) I've recently come to the conclusion that I'm a (heteroromantic) demisexual. If you'd like to understand what this means for me, feel free to ask. Notwithstanding the previous, I happen to be quite sex-positive, and to find sexuality, as a subject, absolutely fascinating ("Go Team Fun!"). :-)
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 27–37
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
We'd probably get along just fine if... like your humor wry and dry, and you're sarcastic as all get-out. managed to string together an entire profile without once using "lol" or "omg." happens that you understood my "body" shirt (not mandatory), and you were still willing to read the rest of my profile. Trust me, there are many more bad jokes where that one came from. like metal music. I own and listen to a fair amount of it. Again, not mandatory, but it's an interest that I think would be awesome to share with someone special. Bonus points if you can understand my appreciation for "Between the Buried and Me," "Kyuss," and "In Flames." don't take yourself too seriously -- goofiness and playfulness are virtues -- but are mature enough to know when to be serious.'re genuinely interested in getting to know me, and think I would be interested in getting to know you.'re not arrogant, but at the same time you realize that what makes you unique is pretty damn cool. try your best to treat yourself, your fellow beings, and the environment with the appropriate level of respect/dignity. have no problem with my desire to raise Jewish children. I'm alright with the idea of dating/long-term relationships with women who aren't Jewish (including atheists and agnostics), and I would never proselytize. That being said, if you happen to be -serious- in your practice of another religion (with the possible exception of Buddhism, which is (a) really more of a spiritual practice than a religion, and (b) all kinds of beautiful), we probably wouldn't work out.

...while on a first date, you wouldn't bat an eye at the idea of collaborating to build a trebuchet out of whatever random crap is available to us at the table. Seriously, a willingness to do something like that, regardless of who's watching us, fucking melts my heart like almost nothing else.