winston89
26 New York, NY
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
winston89
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Former opera singer, current drummer. Work in arts education and spend time volunteering for arts education causes and taking advantage of anything and everything cultural NYC has to offer.
What I’m doing with my life
I spend most of my time either seeing shows or writing. I just spent a few years upstate working on music therapy programs for kids with autism. With that said, I think that I'd have to put getting acclimated again to New York City.
I’m really good at
Writing, music, listening and giving good advice, working with kids and being too nice for my own good sometimes.
The first things people usually notice about me
My outgoing personality I guess (never sure how to answer this one.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
This one is hard to answer. Honestly my taste for all this varies.

Music: A mix of anything from opera and classical to showtunes, alt rock, indie rock and jam bands (Phish fan here.)

For books, I'd have to go with the last book I read which was American Gods. One of the best novels I've read in a long time. I got into the habit since high school of reading a lot of plays (it allowed me to read a good story but in a shorter amount of time.)

TV: I've been binge watching Jessica Jones, Orange is the New Black, Doctor Who. At the same time, I am perfectly happy zoning out at night to SportsCenter too.

Food: I'm a pretty adventurous eater, not much that I wouldn't try to be honest.
The six things I could never do without
1. My laptop, not just for the internet, but it is where I do most of my writing.

2. My Iphone, mostly because having music on the go is a comfort to me.

3. A good book to read.

4. Anything art related

5. My voice. I don't do much opera singing these days, but I still sing other stuff as well just for fun.

6. New York City. After being away from here for awhile. There's nothing like the feeling of coming back and looking at this city with new eyes.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to better myself as a teacher, what book to read next. What show or movie do I want to spend my evening watching. Education reform as well as where to go to hear live music.
On a typical Friday night I am
I am either at the theatre or opera (provided I was able to get dirt cheap tickets. Well, dirt cheap by opera and theatre standards.) Sitting on a bar stool enjoying some local band or finding a good move and relaxing at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I used to work a a bartender and have a very funny and a little out there story to share about one of my nights working.
You should message me if
Honestly, I am not here for any sort of quick hookup or anything like that. I am trying to restart my social life now that I'm back in the city for good. So, if you'd be down for friendly conversation that would be great. Not sure how I feel about being in a relationship now. I'm open to it, but would prefer if it were to happen, it would be more organic.
More