51 Oakland, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved to the Bay area from Nebraska in 2000 to find a teaching job. I'm now a professor at a local university and am doing well. I'm a bit of a geek (it goes with the professor thing) and am also a bit shy. I was told by a friend that I should take chances, so here I am!

I am inquisitive, ironic (sarcastic), and competitive
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I'm just teaching and hanging out with friends. I'm also looking for the next laugh.
I’m really good at
laughing, pool (in my own mind), scrabble, chess, bowling, miniature golf, cooking breakfast, watching TV, dancing (though I'm not a good dancer - I just like to dance), oh - and Karaoke (see 'dancing' above)
The first things people usually notice about me
People say that I'm a nice guy, but that can't possibly be the first thing they notice. People probably notice my big head (but most are probably too polite to mention it. I think it's why babies like me; I have a big head like they do, and it makes them feel comfortable.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite books: A Prayer for Owen Meany, The World According to Garp, and typically John Irving. I was a big fan of Calvin & Hobbes and The Far Side cartoons (very 80s & 90s). I'm also a fan of Vonnegut and Bradbury. I like Stephen King (the non-horror stuff) and also liked the Harry Potter series.

My favorite movies include Juno, the Shawshank Redemption, The Breakfast Club and Caddyshack.

For music I enjoy Rock R&B, Alternative and Retro.

I love going to restaurants and trying new places. I'll try most any food once, and won't say I don't like it unless I've tried it (I find people who do this annoying).
The six things I could never do without
family, friends, water, laughter, sports & potatoes
I spend a lot of time thinking about
actually meeting someone on the internet that doesn't want to steal my identity and run up my credit card bills (I feel there is way too much 'fear-mongering' in the world...)

My next trip...

How to become more physically fit without straining too much.

How to get people to let me off the BART before they get on...

(If you're still reading, go back to the first one)
On a typical Friday night I am
hanging out with friends or catching up with the TV that I have recorded for the week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am the most humble man you've ever met...
You should message me if
you want to find out more...