Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

woman1957

57 F Toronto, Ontario, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 8:02pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 5″ (1.65m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and very serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Less than $20,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
When you meet me, you won't know quite what to make of me. But you are not the kind of person who makes snap judgements or buys into stereotypes. So you will be intrigued enough to start a friendship. We will spend time wandering through art galleries, museums and Toronto's green spaces sharing ideas, talking. We will discover so many things in common we will be surprised. Our closeness will grow gradually

You and I are not obsessed with money or status. We know that life's best rewards come from meaningful work, and closeness with friends and family. Compassion and love are more important to us than success. We march to the same drummer, but it's not the drummer than most people are marching to.

Because of this, you will understand how important my creative work is to me. You will appreciate that I also know how important your work is to you, and that I don't constantly demand your presence because I know this. We are both somewhat self sufficient, and guard each others solitude, rather than demand each other's attention. You are not intimidated or weirded out by the fact that I like to read philosophy, history and anthropology sometimes for fun.

But we do love good company! We have a wide array of close and quirky friends and we love to have a few of them over for dinner. We care about them deeply - and will do anything we can to support them. We laugh and share good food and good times.
What I’m doing with my life
I try to spend some part of each day actually making art, but I spend more time than I would like doing administrative work. Sometimes I sing a very constrained form of traditional music and sometimes I sing with an improvisational choir, but generally I don't sing as much as I'd like to! I meet up with friends to have good conversation, visit museums and galleries, watch live music and go for walks. I regularly go to Philosophy Dinner Meet-ups as I love intelligent conversation. I visit my aging parents,whom I love dearly, regularly (every one or two weeks - they live 1 1/2 hour drive away)
I’m really good at
Laughing. Sharing. Supporting. Creating. Thinking. Making a mess. Cleaning it up. Cooking. Eating. Doing without material things.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I laugh a lot. Most people see me as strong and dynamic when they first meet me - but I am searching for someone who will look deeper, who won't think less of me when he sees my vulnerable side - but will honour it along with my strength.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I am a big reader (classics like Dickens, Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky, Austen, Wodehouse, Doyle as well as moderns like A.S.Byatt, Salman Rushdie, Barbara Kingsolver, Ursula LeGuin. Reading Orhan Pamuk's My Name is Red at the moment and loving it. Classic mysteries like Ngaio Marsh and Dorothy Sayers are my favorite escape. I also indulge in YA fiction like the Bartimaeus trilogy or Artemis Fowl. I read non-fiction like history, anthropology, philosophy etc. but these days I just don't have time to sit down with a book. Such luxury! I listen to fiction in audio-book form and history, literature and philosophy podcasts while I work.

Movies: I like alternative and foreign films, especially anything by Hertzog. Action, rom-com, documentaries anything quirky. "Lars and the Real Girl" was a recent hit with me. I will go to cartoons. I loved Ratatouille.

Humour: I have a penchant for watching re-runs of QI or Mock the Week on YouTube when I have spare time. My favorite stand-ups are Dylan Moran, Dara O'Briain, Ed Byrne and Danny Bhoy (can you tell I like Irish humour?)

Music: I like almost any live music (including rap) as long as its good - but generally (not always) my favourites are well out of the mainstream: Tom Waits, Mary Jane Lammond, Peter Gabriel, Nicholas Williams, Afro Celt Sound System, Oasis, The Watersons, The Waterboys, Gil Scott Heron, Chopin, Everest, Anonymous 4, Piere Bensusan, David Francey, Sting, Eric Hansen, Mozart, Robbie Robertson, Iris Dement, Leonard Cohen, Lumineers, Llhasa, Debussy... not crazy about musicals or opera but I love authentic ethnic music (Turkish, Balkan, Irish, Persian, Georgian)

The only foods I don't like are pigs ears and mushy peas. I am a chocoholic.
The six things I could never do without
Honest - there are not six. Only two: my friends, my family. And if I lost all of those, I would be sad - but I would still be alive.
Instead I am going to tell you six of my favorite things - but life would still be good without them
1. Breakfast out (Eggs Benedict! Crepes!)
2. Going for walks in the woods with a pocketful of seed so I can try and coax the chickadees to my hand
3. Road trips (by bike or car)
4. Having a few friends over for dinner
5. Going out to see good live music or a play
6. Working on a project that engages my intellect
I spend a lot of time thinking about
the meaning of life. I ponder the great mysteries as I work. I also wonder what I am going to have for dinner.
On a typical Friday night I am
It could be anything. I don't have 'typical' days... on Friday nights I often stay in. I prefer to go out on week nights when it's not so crowded
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am a bit of a new Doctor Who geek
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 50–60
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You have read my profile and it interests you.

You should know that my expectation will be that we will meet a couple of times to get to know each other before we decide whether we want to date. I live and work in downtown Toronto - and love it there. You should at least be willing to come downtown to meet me, though I have a car and will travel for the right person.

Since it has become a bit of an issue, I will say that I won't give you my e-mail address or my phone number until after I have met you in person in a public place. I will meet you at a mutually agreed upon time and place. I do reserve the right to have the first meeting on my own terms. I hope you can respect that... this is not because I am incapable of spontaneity, but because I believe in having healthy boundaries with strangers. Once we build some trust, I can be as spontaneous as you like!