Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ww97405

52 M Portland, OR

My Details

Last Online
Mar 12
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly), French (Poorly), C++ (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I enjoy outdoor activities (hiking, skiing, bicycling, camping, canoeing), but have little use for team sports. I enjoy live music and dancing, having finally started in my twenties.

I like to travel, and have taken six trips to Europe, three with my bicycle. On two, I pedaled for a total of about a thousand miles. Bicycle touring is a wonderful way to explore the small towns and byways, and really get a feel for a country. I've also visited the Galapagos and New Zealand.

So, you say "it's nice to know what you like to do, but who are you? What makes you tick?"

I like to think of myself as reliable, honest, and open. I'm a steady, stalwart supporter of family, friends, and organizations. At work, I do the things that need to be done, and don't consider myself a prima donna. Engaging with others and working towards a shared goal is what lights me up.

I'm much more of a night owl than a morning person. That said, I tend to start waking up when it gets light out, so the early summer mornings here in the Pacific Northwest cause me to run short of sleep.

I'm a bit of a softie, tearing up a little at some movies or when reading touching novels. I really care about my family and friends, and how they're doing.
What I’m doing with my life
At this point, I'm trying to figure out where to go with my life. I had an unexpected life change in January 2012, and am still working on my directions. I'm lucky to have a little cushion, so can take some time to figure out my next moves. To get out of my routine, I headed off with my bike for a long trip. I got back, cranked up my search for better and more reliable work, and landed a job in Portland, despite having a home in Eugene. I'll have to see how that pans out long-term. Some friends have offered the use of their guest room for as long as I want it. It's still early days, and I feel a little like I have one foot on a dock and the other on a boat...
I’m really good at
... sticking with something to the bitter end, whether a book I'm reading (even if it isn't very good), a movie I'm watching (often through the closing credits), an event I'm attending (where I'll stay to help clean up afterwards), or relationships. A friend says those are all illustrations of commitment. I also have a good head for math, numbers, and directions. Unfortunately, I'm also very good at forgetting names.

I am pretty handy in the kitchen, though more of a "find and follow good recipes" cook than a free-form experimenter. The "Best Recipe" cookbooks work well for me. Their Masoor Dal (spiced red lentils) is very tasty and simple, while their Thanksgiving Turkey and Gravy are the best I've ever had, let alone made. Though mostly a vegetarian, I cook meaty dishes on occasion, like the full Thanksgiving spread, yummy Paella, or gumbo.

I'm also pretty good at home remodel projects. I've stripped three bathrooms to the wall studs and floor joists, and with some assistance, rebuilt them, installing wallboard, porcelain tile, hardwood flooring, a jetted tub, new lights, and exhaust fans.
The first things people usually notice about me
If I'm in an unfamiliar group, or around people I don't know, I tend to be pretty quiet. When I'm with close friends or in comfortable circumstances, I can be quite a talker.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read widely, though not voraciously, from non-fiction (Guns, Germs, & Steel; The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat; A Walk in the Woods), to classical literature (Charles Dickens), and genre fiction (SF: Charles Stross, Neal Stephenson, and Elizabeth Moon; and mysteries: Laurie King). Recent movies I've enjoyed include Limitless and Hugo. Up! was wonderful.

I rarely go to the theatre, but really enjoyed Wicked, and have liked almost every play I've seen in Ashland. (Distracted was a surprise favorite).

I'm a big fan of live music, tending more towards folk music, music for dancing, and some of the the eccentric. (Brave Combo is the best "all of the above" example). Back when I was in college, I worked for the student radio station, so developed an affinity for the "alternative" music of the early 80s. I love Cajun music, and wish that we had more here in the Northwest.

I enjoy just about any good food, and love variety. Nicholas in Portland makes great Lebanese food. Novak's in Albany has great Hungarian cuisine. In Corvallis, Cirello's makes my favorite pizza in the valley, and Francesco's the best Gelato. I made the best raspberry sorbet I've ever had, and make my own second-favorite thin crust pizza, and favorite "Chicago style" think crust pizza.

Despite my personal nominal vegetarianism, I still go all out for Thanksgiving, with the full turkey and all the sides. Mind, the turkey and gravy are the only non-vegetarian items, and most are even vegan, so the annual splurge isn't too much of a deviation.
The six things I could never do without
Friends, good food, music, sleep, the great outdoors, and intellectual challenges!

(I figure that air, and water are given. Perhaps food should be a given as well, in the sense of nourishment, but I'll still list "good food" as something special beyond just a bodily need for survival.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
...what to do with my life and with my spare time. Yes, those topics are closely related.

I also think about my friends, my community, technology, the economy, and the environment. I suspect these are all topics that many people spend a fair amount of time thinking about.
On a typical Friday night I am
... either starting to make a loaf of home-made bread for a Saturday pot-luck, or off dancing my feet off at the start of a full weekend of dancing.

OK, so the latter isn't really typical, but it's not that rare!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a shy extrovert. I really love talking with people and getting to know them, but have trouble starting a conversation with someone I don't know, or entering an ongoing conversation.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 34–55
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
... you'd like to chat or find a shared activity. As I said above, I'm trying to sort out some aspects of my life right now, and am not expecting to fall into a deep relationship. I'd be open to potential friends and activity partners, and if something more should develop, so be it. I'm definitely NOT looking for a quick fling.

I promise not to become a pest. I understand about the deluge of messages that some women receive, and have no wish to add to your overload.