Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

wybesse

50 M Takoma Park, MD

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 35–55
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Sep 18
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Overweight
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Politics / Government
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Non-monogamous
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I've found my match, and she's a pip! :-) But I'm leaving my profile here for now in case I run into interesting people it would be fun to hang out and be friends with. If something else were to happen someday, I'd be open to that, but at the moment I'm focusing my relationship energy on building this primary, as it's a zinger and I want to do it right.

I like indoor activities (like reading, conversation, boardgames, and cooking) and outdoor ones (like hiking, cycling, and kayaking). I'm fairly intelligent, moderately strong, and working to get back into shape (I used to referee soccer, but a couple of injuries have had me sidelined). I can be serious or silly, as the situation warrants.

I make an effort to be honest and thoughtful and to communicate openly without being rude, so if you're looking for a "bad boy" who will break your heart and then move on or someone into "radical honesty", you won't find him here. I have no swagger or cockiness. I lack the charming arrogance of Erol Flynn or the seductive dangerousness of James Dean (or James Bond). I'm more David Niven or Jimmy Stewart. Or Paddington Bear. :-)

I am bookish, outdoorsy, and geeky. For what it's worth, I think OK Cupid's Personality assay of me is pretty on the nose (except that I think I'm a good deal more creative than they give me credit for). I'm kink-positive, and I have a profile on FetLife. If that's an issue, best to know up front.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Looking out all the things around DC that I've thought, "Oh, I'll do that one of these days!" that after living here for 20 years I still haven't done. I'm moving to the UK next year for grad school, so I need to make up for lost time.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Losing at boardgames (but I love playing them all the same). Loving and providing a lap for my cats. Blogging about things that have a very limited audience. Drinking beer. Finding new places to hike. Buying books (I'm almost as good at reading them, but I'm still way behind). Proofreading (which almost guarantees a glaring error somewhere on this page).
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Probably that I'm tall and broad and sometimes have a coppery red beard (it goes away when I'm reenacting). Possibly that I'm somewhat quiet. This is, of course, an illusion; if they get to know me, they discover that I'm quite talkative and sometimes wish I would shut the hell up about the religious conflicts of 16th century Europe or why the tower on Calton Hill has a big sphere on top of it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: novels or nonfiction dealing with history, diplomacy, warfare, religion, and foreign cultures. Dorothy Dunnett's historical novels are lifelong favourites. Other favourite authors include GM Fraser, Neil Gaiman, Phillip Pullman, Dorothy Sayers, Susanna Clarke, and Patrick O'Brian.

Movies: The American President, A Few Good Men, Eight Men Out, Bend It Like Beckham, The Lion in Winter, A Man for All Seasons, Diner, Zulu, The Longest Day, Cyrano (either Steve Martin or Gerad Depardieu:-). Almost anything made by Merchant & Ivory, Kevin Smith, or Bill Forsyth; almost anything made from a book by Roddy Doyle or Nick Hornby. Anything with Bill Nighy, Mandy Patinkin, Alan Rickman, Emma Thompson, or Juliet Stephenson in it.

Music: Very few red lines here, other than ultra-pop jingoistic country. Currently I'm most interested in traditional or modern folk, especially with a UK element. Old Blind Dogs, Kate Rusby, Cantrip, Ellis Paul, Dar Williams, Richard Shindell, or Dan Navarro. But I can just as easily go for something more country (Townes van Zandt, Dave Carter, or Johnny Cash) or world music (I love bhangra). I'm still fond of the British Invasion artists my sisters listened to when I was growing up. I love The Proclaimers, Dire Straits, and Al Stewart.

Food: Greek/Turkish, South Asian (Indian/Afghan), and Thai. French, especially country French.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Books. Cats. The Internet. Games. Football/futbol/soccer. Regular opportunities to be in and around mountains, lakes, forests, and the sea.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
History. Games. Love. Sex. International relations. Travel. Most recently, SPSS and Excel and how to do more with them (work).
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Curled up with a good DVD or a book, some cats, and a cup of tea. Let's pick some night that < {everyone in the Metro region} is looking to go out to restaurants, the movies, or the theater, and I'll be all for going out.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I love musicals. Stephen Sondheim, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Lerner and Lowe, Rodgers and Hammerstein. I think "Once More with Feeling" was the best-ever ep of Buffy, maybe one of the top TV eps of all time. There, I finally got that off my chest. :-)
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like intelligent, affectionate, funny, geeky guys. Maybe you like spending time outdoors hiking or biking. Or maybe you prefer wandering around an interesting city, checking out markets and museums and live music. Or perhaps you'd just like a rainy day indoors with the right combination of books or movies, snuggling, and conversation. You're not looking for someone who looks great in a tux or will take you out clubbing, but you'd be happy with someone who is comfortable in fleece and denim.

We're at least 70% on both Match and Friends. I find that friends make the best partners, but I'm also looking for more than just friendship.

Bonus points if you live in Scotland--I'm headed that direction, and a local guide and dragoman would be very handy!