Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

zaminbk

30 M New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 4:21pm
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Entertainment / Media
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Arabic (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I am a journalist who moved to NYC in Nov. 2012 after seven years spent in Cairo, Egypt. My first year in NYC I lived in the hetero wonderland of Park Slope, but I recently moved to Hell's Kitchen, a neighborhood I have been really loving so far.

About me: I love living and traveling overseas and have been making a life for myself in the great big world since I was in college. My goal is to have a home base in NYC and continue to see the world and do work overseas, whether in journalism or some other capacity. I am ambitious, left of center, creative, and like adventure. In my down time, I am very social and like to go out and spend time with friends as often as possible. That said, I also really value time spent hanging out by myself, whether that's a quiet night at home or spending the morning with a coffee in the community garden.

I love to cook and entertain, although the size of my Manhattan apartment makes that a challenge. As a kid, I grew up with a single parent in a blue blood Connecticut town, and I go home to visit once every couple of weeks. I went to school in DC and was a really political gay in college, which mainly manifests itself now as a deep love for Paris is Burning, RuPaul's Drag Race and thinking about queerness. My family is quite Irish and that combined with my years in the Mideast means that I spend a lot of time thinking about the legacies of the British and Ottoman empires. I really like Riot Grrrl, Arab revolutionary politics and gay high-camp performance.

If we're going to get along, you should be open-minded and flexible, have a sense of humor and be able to put things in perspective. A sense of adventure and an international outlook are extremely important. My ideal match is someone intelligent, confident, warm and kind who is mature but young at heart. A sense of humor is key, and I find upbeat guys with an easy laugh very attractive. As a good friend of mine once said: "Just be a good person, with a good brain and a good heart."
What I’m doing with my life
Professionally, I'm a reporter for a giant newspaper, where I work on a multimedia project about the conflict in Syria. I also write about foreign affairs fairly often. I am also really good at the Internet.
I’m really good at
Striking up conversations. Cooking. Writing. Evading Salafis. Figuring things out. Adventures. Navigating awkward situations. Making people laugh. Telling stories.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am tall. Sometimes people also comment on my eyes, usually when I am wearing green.

When I am in the Middle East the first thing people notice about me is that I am foreign. The second thing is that I speak Arabic like an Egyptian drug dealer.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food: I like spicy food but am open to trying anything, although I am mainly a vegetarian. I love to cook and a lot of my prized possessions live in my kitchen: a rice steamer, an Egyptian lemon press, a Cuisinart, a set of super sharp knives that I keep cutting myself with.

Books: I read a lot of newspapers, magazines and blogs. The last books I read were by Michaela Wrong: "In the Footsteps of Mr. Kurtz," her account of the fall of Mobutu in the Congo and "It's Our Turn to Eat," on corruption in Kenya. Both were fantastic. I am also re-reading now a book that had a big impact on me in college, a memoir by an Irish journalist named Nuala O'Faolain called "Are You Somebody?"

Music: a hodge-podge. a lot of Arabic pop, indie rock and girls with guitars. Lately I've been listening to a lot of Palestinian hip-hop. I love hearing new things though.

TV: Drag Race, Queer as Folk, 30 Rock, Parks & Recreation, Battlestar Galactica. I've watched Paris is Burning about 100 times. Things like that. Got any suggestions for me?
The six things I could never do without
my iphone, so i can check twitter and take photos.
my passport.
friends and family.
good food.
goals.
clothes to wear.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The first thing i should say is that i think a lot about politics and not so much about art or fashion. That said, the rest of the list goes: the future, the meaning of life (uh, really,) Arabic grammar, my family, work, the revolutions in Egypt and Syria, NYC real estate, boys.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually out with friends in Manhattan or Williamsburg. Sometimes at dinner parties, either as a guest or the host. I also really appreciate a quiet night in and am sometimes spend Friday relaxing at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I grew up in a very Irish family, but I hate the song "Danny Boy." Like, I really hate it.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like guys
  • Ages 23–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends
You should message me if
You're a fun, nice guy with a good head on his shoulders.