zaphodthebb
28 Hamilton, Ontario, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
zaphodthebb
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
28-year-old lady who works in radio, graduated from Mohawk's journalism program, has a BA in communication studies from McMaster, enjoys comedy, will gravitate towards the pet at the party 95% of the time, but will also get involved in the card game part of the party just as quickly

I'm also a big fan of good situations where people just get along, so I always do my best to facilitate that kind of interaction. I love getting along with people and my primary instinct is to be friendly and fun. Now, whether or not that comes across, that's up to the person I'm talking to, so hey - talk to me!
What I’m doing with my life
Currently working part-time as a board operator at a Hamilton radio station. Looking to pursue my career in media, aka. I will never be rich.

I'm also currently marathoning all of the X-Files before the new series comes out because why not?
I’m really good at
Writing (not in terms of these profiles, mind you), editing, very specific and useless game types in video games

I'm also incredibly friendly because I just want people to get along. I'll be the peacemaker, why not, someone's gotta gently prod the good vibes
The first things people usually notice about me
In summer: "Why is she wearing long jeans and a wool hat?"
In winter: "Why is she wearing shorts"
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: David Sedaris, A.J. Jacobs, Douglas Adams, Jane Austen, Paul Feig, Margaret Atwood, Stuart McLean, Sarah Waters, J.K. Rowling, Tolkien, and books by comedians like Mindy Kaling, Tina Fey, Mike Birbiglia, etc.

TV Shows: Parks & Recreation, Community, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Arrested Development, Twin Peaks, Kids In The Hall, MST3K, Doctor Who before it started to go downhill, classic Simpsons, Lost, Comedy Bang Bang, and I swear I'm going to finish Breaking Bad one of these days.

Movies: Jurassic Park, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Rushmore, Ghostbusters, Bringing Up Baby, Mad Max: Fury Road, and so many others I'm undoubtedly forgetting.

Music: The Decemberists, The New Pornographers, Nick Cave, Janelle Monae, David Bowie, St. Vincent, all kinds of stuff. I put playlists featuring awesome lady musicians together every week.

Podcasts: Comedy Bang Bang, Thrilling Adventure Hour, the Pod F. Tompkast, Spontaneanation, Doug Loves Movies, You Made It Weird, and the Earwolf family of podcasts in general

Video games: Bioshock series, the Mario series, the Zelda series, the GTA series, Minecraft, and someone tear me away from Destiny p l e a s e

I'm sure I'll add to this whole section as I realize how many things I'm forgetting.
The six things I could never do without
My weird little cat, comedy podcasts, adventure, a pair of good pajamas, tea, and my glasses (I'm pretty blind without them).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Comedy, social issues and eerie shit
On a typical Friday night I am
Having a raging board game night with friends, raging online, raging at work, raging at the pub, just generally experiencing some kind of exciting variety of rage out there in the world
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't have a lot of BIG LIFE PLANS figured out but I'm working my way towards some kind of adventure.

Also, I'm slowly working toward getting back in shape - emphasis on the "slowly". I broke my leg 2 years ago and it kind of derailed my fitness goals. I used to ride horses and I don't think I'll ever be THAT fit again, but it'd be nice to be able to run a reasonable distance and not feel like I'm going to pass out.
You should message me if
Say hi if you like this profile I've thrown together and if we've answered a bunch of those questions similarly! That's how this works, right?
More