Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

zarcana

31 M Portland, OR

My Details

Last Online
Jul 20
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Libra
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Married
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has a kid
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I read, I write, I try to create things that make an impact on people. I believe in magick & the mind-altering power of storytelling. I hike and camp. I'm a father and a husband (consensual non-monogamy). I'm heteroflexible, occasionally fun and occasionally misanthropic, decently bright, and very interested in making new friends of all types.
What I’m doing with my life
I write software for a living; I recently started working for Dark Horse Comics working on their iPhone app (send me feature requests and bug reports! everyone read moar comics!).

To blend my technical skills with my love of art and storytelling and game playing, I've founded a small indie games studio and am working on a mobile game in my "free time." It's an RPG with a story told completely in comic book form, and it's really pretty.
I’m really good at
I'm pretty decent at strategy games (except for Ticket to Ride; I end up with negative points every time). Board game nights, card game nights, or chess over coffee are all great times (dates?) for me.
The first things people usually notice about me
My gentle southern accent has gotten a mention or two.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a lot of comic books (erm, graphic novels?), especially those by Alan Moore, Neil Gaiman, Joe Hill, and Grant Morrison. (Come to think of it, their prose work ain't too shabby either.) I've read most of what Alan Watts has written. Hermann Hesse's lesser known works are some of the best things ever written. Those are the favorites; the likes-to-loves list is much longer.

I both love and hate the movies that pander to my childhood love of popular comic book characters. I also find the Rotten Tomatoes an imperfect but decent predictor of my enjoyment: I'll be your date for nearly any flick earning 75% or higher.

For television, the AMC heavy hitters are my recent favorites. Also I finally gave in and started watching Arrested Development on Netflix. And of course Doctor Who, Sherlock, Joss Whedon's work, Battlestar Galactica, and other nerdy shows.

I listen to whatever album I most recently purchased over and over and over again during the day, until I find a new one to purchase. Most recently those have been Macklemore and Lana Del Rey.

I will eat anything and everything. Pho, Thai, sushi, Indian, and Ethiopian are perpetual favorites: you know, stuff you don't usually make at home. Personal history: after a particularly inspirational Iron Chef (original) marathon, I once enrolled in culinary school (slash vocational training) in New York City.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Identity, self worth, anarchy, sex and sexuality, kink, the nature of consciousness, fiction and metafiction, magick, the hows and the whys, nonviolence, and what it's like to be a beginner. Also how to make things that people enjoy.

Let's talk about one of those things.
On a typical Friday night I am
Changing diapers, reading a book, watching Netflix, or hanging out at Guardian Games.
I’m looking for
  • Everybody
  • Ages 18–45
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
you'd like to make a friend for hiking, game playing, movies-while-still-in-the-theater watching, or other fun pursuings;

or you know Portland and surrounding areas well and want to show them off to someone who knows them poorly;

you have a toddler or two and want to connect with someone who understands;

or something just caught your eye.

If you're interested, send me a note. I'll reply. Let's have a friendly chat and see if it leads to a friendly evening.