Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


40 Montreal, Quebec, CA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 30-43
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Online now!
Relationship Type
Mostly monogamous
6' 0" (1.83m)
Body Type
A little extra
Working on Post grad
Doesn’t have kids
Has cats
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I've been told "I'm not your typical 40", many times. Though still haven't figured out exactly what that means. I would like to think it means that I haven't been subsumed by cynicism, that I'm optimistic about my life and the future.. that I'm not willing to settle into a life of routine or banality.. Others might say it's my reticence to get a "proper" haircut, my continual difficulty with 'authority figures', or it's related to me being a single catdad of four (yes, I said four!)...

While all of these may contain kernels of truth, I am perhaps more, or less, than this.

Currently, I'm working on my PhD, looking at the history of videogames and digital artworks (and the places where they collide and intersect). I'm also a practicing artist and curator, and travel fairly frequently for exhibitions, performances, festivals, etc. While my "art career" is important to me, what's more important to me are the people I have worked and developed relationships with. My "community of practice" and the people in it are something I could not live without.

I have a wide array of interests, but there's some nerdy things, like vintage radio technology, synthesizers, etc. One of my favourite things to do is go to flea markets and explore the odd artifacts, objects and people that populate them.

Sometimes I like to unplug and do that whole sit by a big body of water and just listen... But mostly I'm built for urban culture. It fascinates and captivates me. Recently I spent 10 days in Mexico City, and spent the bulk of it exploring the alleys, plazas and markets.. it was an incredible experience!

So yeah. That's a bit about me. Want to know more? Drop me a line!
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Working on my Phd. Building Synthesizers.Making Art and planning events / art exhibitions. Travelling to places near and far. Singing to my cats.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Being Prepared.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Usually that I am covered in a fine layer of cat hair. yup. not glamorous, but whatchagonnado?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Films: I'll pretty much give anything a shot, but here's some of my favourites: Primer, Ghostbusters, Code 46, Pi, Donnie Darko, the Quiet Earth, the Machine, Stray Dogs, Tampopo.. ok, too many to list. Watch a bit of TV (online) as well. the usual. the Wire, Walking Dead, House of Cards...

Books: As you can imagine, a PhD comes with a lot of reading, but I won't bore you with the theory books (there are MANY!) But I'm a big fan of William Gibson, Cory Doctorow, Bruce Sterling, Paul Auster...

Musical tastes: I'm a cross genre listener, and will give anything a chance. Lately it's a lot of minimal synth / ambient and drone. Long, quiet, good working music. When I need to pep things up, it's anything from De La Soul to Sonic Youth.

Open to any and all foods except for mushrooms, olives and broccoli. If you like that stuff, that's fine.. you can have mine!
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
fizzy water
tiny note books + not so tiny notebooks
my soldering iron.
my cats.
.7mm liquid ink pens. in a pinch i'll take a .5mm . if i have to, i guess.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
games. art. architecture. community. citizenship. curating. museums. archives, radiowaves, ghosts, the visible (and invisible) spectrum. cats.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
sometimes on a train, heading towards an art adventure.
sometimes at home reading and writing and doing PhD related things (not so much a job as it is a lifestyle).
out and about at a gallery thing.
sometimes a live show.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
sometimes when singing to my cats, i break into raps, often rapping to each one of them about their personality traits.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like what you've read.
You're also a fan of taking selfies while wearing strange eyewear.
You're an amateur ghost-hunter.
You have a passion for a thing and want to share it.

Or you also think that Pink Floyd's "Shine on you Crazy Diamond" is one of the top two makeout songs of all time.