-darebear-
27 Vancouver, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
-darebear-
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey, I'm Darren, I'm an I'm a semi-nerdy, outdoorsy, outgoing introvert. I enjoy hiking, backpacking, and all sorts of adventures in and out of the city but kinda need a push to get outside and do things more often, otherwise I end up waching Netflix or playing games.
So if you have idea for something new to do, from going to museums, to salsa dancing, to cooking, to concerts for someone you've never heard of I'm game. Just shoot me a message.

Some other facts:
- I try and laugh at everything and not take things too seriously.
- I can be sarcastic to a fault.
- I'm a cat person, we just understand each other.
- I think I'm pretty quiet, but other people tell me I love to be social and talk to people.
- I'm always interested in hearing people's opinions on things, even if they don't mesh up with my own.
- I'm easily impressed by anyone that's kind, a little bit weird, and really passionate about something, bonus points if its something I'm also interested in.
-I appreciate people that hit the message button instead of the like button. This isn't Tinder.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to figure out life after grad school. Finished up my MSc in Ecology in the Netherlands, moved back here and no idea what to do with it at the moment. Networking is hard.
I’m really good at
- Listening
- Learning things
- Scrabble, crosswords and other useless Trivia
- Being socially awkward
- Wondering about obscure facts and then spending hours of time following up on said fact which usually leads to some other odd fact. Its a vicious cycle.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food: Doesn't matter, put it on a plate in front of me and I'll eat it. Asian, French, Arabic, Indian, you name it. I'm a pretty decent chef as well when I put some effort into it, definitely enjoy cooking. Oh and special mention to cheese, because cheese.

TV: I'm in a serious relationship with Netflix but maybe you can fit in somewhere.

Music: Folksy Indie Rock.

Movies: Any action/sci-fi movie, or any sort of historical fiction. Plus rom-coms are a guilty pleasure.

Books: Anything that looks good, Yes I judge books by their covers, or at least the back cover. Currently Reading: Lawrence in Arabia by Scott Anderson (holy shit a non-fiction book), Last Read: Atwood's MaddAddam Trilogy.

Video Games: Pokemon, Elder Scrolls, Hearthstone, Civilization, Zelda (Breath of the Wild hype train!), Smash Bros.
The six things I could never do without
-Friends and Family
-A desire to learn new things
-My passport
-Fresh Fruit
-Nature and the outdoors
-Books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where I should go on my next vacation, Patagonia? Iran? New Zealand? Maybe I should go back to Japan? Any other suggestions?

And food, always food.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably just chilling out with some friends either playing board games or at one of our local pubs.
You should message me if
You need a mediocre salsa/swing dance partner. Would love someone to practice with!
You want to play Scrabble, or Catan, or Cards Against Humanity, or Carcassone or... Ok I think you get the point.
You want to tell me what your favourite animal is and why! I do study that sort of stuff for a living. :)

Or, most importantly, if you want to!
More