68Monmouth, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am healthy, athletically fit, and youthful. I exercise daily and eat reasonably, except for the frozen yogurt with peanut butter. Power walking is a form of meditation for me. It also works off the peanut butter I added to the yogurt. I thrive on activity that takes me outdoors and into nature, which inspires and restores me. I enjoy outdoor sports and recreation (hiking, biking, skiing, kayaking, beach walking), as well as photography and maintaining my home on ten acres. It’s a peaceful, beautiful location with soaring hawks,
deer, and sometimes coyotes (A fuzzy pup last
spring) and wild turkeys. It’s a great place for a
leisurely weekend breakfast with coffee and a
newspaper or a book. It can also be a lot of
maintenance for one person. However, a move is inevitable. Change is good, and I'm open.
Speaking of which...I've shaved the mustache. New look.

Learning is an essential for me. I’m drawn to friendships and conversations with intelligent, thoughtful people. I’m a habitual reader as well as a fan of public radio and TV, and yes, I sometimes watch commercial channels, but usually for news or information. I love music of many kinds- jazz, classical, blues, world, some classic rock, and Christmas Carols in December. I prefer films that are thought-provoking as much as those that make me laugh. A film that makes me laugh and cry, or laugh till I cry, is a good one.
I’m in search of a friend with whom I can find true partnership- one in which two distinct individuals appreciate the uniqueness of the other but find happiness and strength through sharing and mutual support. Together we would share common values, while recognizing that interests can be different.

I am Intelligent, supportive, and energetic
What I’m doing with my life
My first priority at this time is to be a loving and nurturing parent to my teenage daughter- to provide her with a solid a foundation of healthy development in a variety of ways, so that she may achieve her potential and her own dreams, as she increasingly charts her own course in life. She is now off to college at PSU. She is on her way.

Beyond this, my intent is to be a contributor, not a taker. My son is now a young adult in his twenties. He is very independent. I'm very proud of the person he is, and support his efforts to pursue his goals for his life. Similarly, I value and seek to support my friends and friendships.
I’m really good at
Listening, analyzing, and communicating.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hmmm??? That's a tough one. I'm sure it would depend on the person. For some, it might be that I'm there;-) Physically, I have a youthful, fit, and athletic build. Beyond that, people react to me as if they feel at ease and comfortable with communication. I've been told that I appear to be a "genuine" person, who "comes across well."
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I've mentioned this above.
Most of my college daughter's music. Prefer discovering new music rather than the same old thing. Been there. Done that.
Recently saw Lincoln and Argo.
"Wild," by Cheryl Strayed, "Team of Rivals,""Guns, Germs and Steel," "Catfish and Mandala," "A Whole New Mind, "Ishmael," "This Is Not Civilization," "Outliers," "Geology of Oregon," New York Times, Atlantic Monthly, maps, travel info, yada, yada.....
I'd have to update this daily.
Six things I could never do without
An intimate, loving relationship with a woman.
My children.
Physical activity.
Information and opportunities to learn.
Access to experiences in the natural world.
Notice I haven't made a list of things. The best "THINGS" in life aren't things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Almost everything! And often from a purposely objective and humorous perspective. There is so much to laugh at. It's a healthy balance to the tragic, of which there is more than enough.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing things that are typical for that particular Friday. These things vary from Friday to Friday. Typically, Fridays vary ;-)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm really only 37 ;-)
You should message me if
You're politically progressive and environmentally conscientious.
You enjoy being physically active more than being sedentary.
You have an active mind, and enjoy wide ranging talks about issues and ideas.
It doesn't bother you that I shaved my mustache.
You are truly someone who can balance your personality with that of another.
If you believe in your capacity to learn, to love, and to share that with another.
The two of us