34Wausau, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm trying to improve my life. After working at factory for 2 1/2 years and hating it, I've decided to go back to school to finish my undergrad. I moved from Stevens Point back to my hometown of Wausau. A part of me is terrified that I've made the wrong decision, leaving a stable job while the economy is so poor may not be wise. But at the same time, I don't want to blink and realize that 10 years have gone by and I'm stuck in a job that I hate. My health was poor because I was working 60 plus hours a week there, but I've managed to lose 40 pounds over the summer and I'm hoping to continue getting healthy.

I don't drink, so I'm really not fond of the bar scene. I'm more of an introvert and would also prefer being in a quieter place because I believe its easier to talk with someone. But once I get to know someone it much easier to joke around and be relaxed.

For ten summers I worked at two summer camps up north in Eagle River. During my time there, we've had staff from France, England, Portugal, Japan, Germany, Taiwan, Mexico, Canada,Australia, and probably a few other countries that I can't think of at the moment. Since we're stuck in the middle of the woods with little to do, we all usually grow close. Its really refreshing to be surrounded by people from different walks of life.

I've worked there for so long that camp is a 2nd family to me. I got my start there at 18 years old, my high school teacher recruited me to work there with him. I worked with him every summer there and he's my surrogate father figure. The camp owners are are an elderly couple and I consider them another set of grandparents. I consider their kids another few sets of uncles and aunts. Their grand kids are my age and we're friends too. As I mentioned earlier I worked there for ten summers and in that time, many of the campers have grown up and become staff members themselves. Its been amazing watching then grow up every summer and being at camp is like having 60 extra younger brothers. Its been amazing. All my close friends are camp friends and I wish they lived closer.

My actual family is filled with more turmoil. My father passed when I was 11 years old. My mother would become involved with physically abusive men and it was heart breaking watching her allow herself to be treated like a piece of property. As a result, I've evolved into a feminist. Being a male and being a feminist is difficult sometimes. I notice an attractive woman and then I feel guilty about it lol. I'm slow to make a move while dating, cuz I want to be as respectful as possible.

I am the oldest of eight, with two younger half sisters ages five and fourteen. I love them to death and worry about them. I couldn't love them anymore if they were my own and try and spend time with them when I can.

I'm going to veer away from talking about family for a bit. Wasn't sure how to smoothly make the transition lol

I'm really fond of stories. Stories can lift your spirits when you're feeling down, they can move you and bring you to tears, they can educate you while entertaining you, and I hope most stories will inspire people to be better. I have a fairly large dvd and comic book collection. Seeing a play can be fun, but its been ages since I've seen one.
What I’m doing with my life
Working full time 3rd shift while going to school part time. Hopefully I'll be able to attend school full time next semester. I'm uncertain what I want to major in at this point. I'll have to figure it out along the way.

I do know that I want to be a part of positive social changes.
I’m really good at
People tell me that I'm a good listener. I consider myself to be a compassionate and understanding person.
The first things people usually notice about me
People tell me that I'm always smiling. Even when I worked at that soul sucking factory job, people would exclaim that I must be pumped to be at work and they wished they could be so lucky lol
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: To Kill a Mocking Bird, Watchmen, Great Expectations, Preacher, Catcher in the Rye, Sandman, Death: The High Cost of Living, Midnight Nation, Y: The Last Man.

Movies: Kevin Smith movies, the Spider-Man movies, The Truman Show, Pixar movies, Studio Ghibli movies, Forest Gump, The Green Mile, Beavis and Butt-Head Do America, Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery.

Music: All kinds;from classical to heavy metal (except for manufatured pop stars and "bands")

Food: These days I'm trying to eat healthier. Not a fan of salad, but I do enjoy food that taste "fresh."
Six things I could never do without
My car, food, shelter, the internet, friends, a good story, (no matter the medium; comics, prose, movies, plays) and hope for a better tomorrow.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Mysteries of the universe. Why we're here, where we're going as a species, what can I do to make the world a better place.
On a typical Friday night I am
Same thing I do everynight, try and take over the world! (From a favorite cartoon of mine. Couldn't resist)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've had this profile for awhile now, I've just been slow to update it and never really used to to try and meet someone. Some of my "answered questions" are really old and depending on my mood that day, the answer could be totally different today.

I don’t want to be wealthy and famous; I want a quiet life with a loving family and a job that lets me do something to help others. To me, success is so much more about love and caring, than about money and fame.

Oh, and I like chick flicks. I really enjoyed Ever After with Drew Barrymore and PS I Love You.
You should message me if
If you want to know more. I'm usually pretty open.

If you want to meet in person eventually. Talking online gets old.
The two of us