47Madison, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Not very active on the OKC these days, life is keeping me busy in some pretty excellent ways ... somost of the profile/recent activities below are a little dated. That said, I appreciate any visits, but I may or may not have time to respond :)

Life is an adventure, and I like it that way. It's the sum total of experiences: physical, rational, emotional. I try to aim for a balance of practical and theoretical, work and fun, comfort and novelty. That's not always easy-peasy, and that loops back to being interesting ...

But more concretely, I live in Madison WI, and I plan to be here a while. I have two lovely and awesome daughters, and I'm quite devoted to their well-being in all aspects. That means being here for the foreseeable future.

Which is a conflict with the adventuring - among other things, involvement in the burning man community (hello Lakes of Fire!), scuba diving, new countries, motorcycle trips ... did I mention balance and responsibility?
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to be a good friend/companion/parent (as appropriate) to the people closest to me.

(Semi) Recent adventures have been Burning Flipside in Austin, Mayan ruins and diving, fun+work time in London. Where would you go next?
I’m really good at
Wrapping my brain around a new and complex problem so that I can figure it out.
The first things people usually notice about me
I suspect the height ... that's kind of hard to ignore in a first impression. I can be a bit shy in groups until something captures my attention or draws me into a conversation, then it's hard to shut up.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books tend to lean towards fiction and sci-fi: Neal Stephenson, David Brin, Matt Ruff, A.C. Clarke, Tolkien, Niel Gaiman. I enjoy some assorted comics such as Hellboy/BPRD, Fables, Akira. I read pretty quickly, so I'll pick up just about anything and see if it captures my attention.

Shakespeare at APT in Spring Green.

All-time favorite movies include Blade Runner, Alien (and Aliens), Blues Brothers, Princess Bride, Casablanca, most Marx Brothers, Cowboy Bebop, The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly, Monty Python & The Holy Grail, City Of Lost Children, Army of Darkness, Seven Samurai (and the remakes in other genres could be a good marathon...). I don't watch a lot of TV but make exceptions for Doctor Who (classic and recent!) and a few other sci-fi serials.

Live music is excellent. My tastes run all over the place, but with a known bias towards guitar driven neo-psychedelia, shoegazer, and generally interesting noise; not so much into rap, country, or pop music but there is almost always worthwhile stuff in any genre. In no particular order: Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Brian Jonestown Massacre, Flaming Lips, Spacemen 3/Spiritualized, Stereolab, Brian Eno, Man Or Astroman?, Ali Farke Toure, Thievery Corporation, Butth*le Surfers, Camper Van Beethoven, Cornershop, Flying Saucer Attack, The Cramps, Frank Zappa, Jorma Kaukonen/Hot Tuna, Loop, The Mermen, Propellerheads, The Orb, Black Sabbath, Stooges, Velvet Underground, The Verve, Ween.

As far as food goes, I am completely omnivorous at this point and will always be willing to try something new and unusual - a friend and I had a quite excellent day in Japan where we only at food that came on sticks. Hot and spicy is a positive in my view. I prefer to try a new restaurant (often ethnic/regional) over repeat visits to the same place; that said, a current local favorite is Osteria Papavero. With 13 years of fending for myself as a vegetarian, I can also be a pretty decent cook when the occasion merits. In the last couple years, I have been focusing more on bread baking when it comes to kitchen creativity.
Six things I could never do without
Mental acuity
My daughters
Learning something new every day
A good pair of boots
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Technologies for genetic analysis - don't get me started unless you're prepared for a little eyeball-glazing (or it's your field! then I want to chat you up!).

Where I've been, where I am, and where I'm going.
On a typical Friday night I am
In a transitional state. Until kinda recently, it was making pizzas with family&friends and playing board games late into the evening about one Friday a month; reading to kids and putting them to bed. But there's not a regular, typical activity - I like to see live music when there's something interesting, read fiction, learn something new, watch a movie, talk to long-distance friends on the interwebs, or fix something or do something useful with mind and hands.
You should message me if
You want to do interesting stuff: live music, bicycling, climbing, take something apart to see how it works, build something out of the pieces, motorcycling, hiking, talking science and life and all its complexities, and good simple human fun ...

You've always wanted to take dance lessons and would like a just-friends partner to go with.
The two of us