56 Lexington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Education and lifelong learning are very important to me, so I continue to take classes when I can, not only in my profession as a science teacher, but also in the visual arts. I combine my love of art and science in the books I write for young readers. I like museums -- the MFA, the Museum of Science, the Harvard Museum of Natural History. One of my all-time favorite exhibits was the origami show at the Peabody-Essex Museum a few years ago.

Walking the beach is something I would do in any season, day or night. The Maine coastline is a treasure trove of natural beauty that would be fun to explore with you. There are trails up mountains that are right next to the ocean -- the best of both worlds. Some other great hikes are in the White Mountains -- we could find more together.

I want to work at a relationship that endures through life's inevitable ups and downs. I won't run from hardship, but will face it with you, together, with quiet strength and determination.

If you like exploring the outdoors on a bike, then we could ride the Minuteman Bikeway, or rollerblade it, or just take a walk along it. The carriage roads in Acadia, the Shining Sea Bikeway on Cape Cod, and other rail trails are fun, too. If you wanted to bike together, just know that I won't be wearing any neon spandex from corporate sponsors. I'm all for streamlining and cutting down on air resistance, but I never mix exercise with advertising.

The conservation land in my community is one reason I live here. My kids and I have helped build boardwalks through local wetlands in order to protect them while at the same time making them more accessible to hikers. I love working in the soil, and tat soi is my new favorite green. It's easy to grow and great in stir fry.

Simple things make me happy. I am looking for a man who sees the universe in a grain of sand.
What I’m doing with my life
I am hoping to find someone to live life with who has a sense of awe at just being alive, who is respectful of nature and the environment, and who does not take life for granted. If you write, draw, paint, plant, or do work with your hands and appreciate good quality tools, we will have a lot to share. I love drawing, painting, and photography; and have written and photographed several published nonfiction books for children on nature and the environment.

I teach science, but try to incorporate art into my work with students as much as possible. I am passionate about instilling a sense of stewardship for the planet and reverence for the world in young people, by encouraging their curiosity about how the universe works.

My other job is being the best mother I can be to my two children -- one in college, the other a high school freshman who lives at home with me. I adore them, and giving them the best life I can is a responsibility I take seriously.

My life is pretty down-to-Earth and real in the everyday sense. I use a push mower and have a compost bin. If I had an engineer's mind, I would come up with a new way to harness renewable energy. I think wind power is cool.

If you have kids, I will understand how important they are to you, and that raising them right takes time. I would welcome the chance to get to know them. If you don't have children, I hope that eventually you might want to get to know mine.
I’m really good at
juggling -- lots of demands. But I don't make lots of them (demands, that is).
I can also juggle three balls.
The first things people usually notice about me
is that I am genuine. No pretense.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am reading The Prism and the Pendulum, and The Diversity of Life -- in snippets, whenever I get time. On my to-read list: Guns, Germs, and Steel; and Blink. I'm still a die-hard fan of the print version of the Boston Globe. I like reading the pages of an actual newspaper.

Though I don't watch much TV, when I do it's usually NOVA, Doc Martin, Masterpiece Theater, American Experience, or The Office. I listen to NPR, Wait, Wait Don't Tell Me, Car Talk, and sometimes the Moth Radio Hour. Live music is best, even if it's in the subway station or on the street. A few favorite contemporary artists are Mumford and Sons, Ray LaMontagne, The Decemberists, Baka Beyond, The Chieftains, Delores O'Riordan. I went through a Radiohead phase. I LOVE soul and percussion.

Food favorites used to be sourdough bread and pancakes, until I found out I that I have celiac, and can't have any gluten at all. No beer and pizza for me! But eating gluten-free is not so bad. Indian spices are awesome, and I will make you anything curry. I enjoy preparing whole, healthy foods and making people happy with food that is delicious. At different times in my life, I have been vegetarian, vegan, and omnivorous, so I am familiar with them all.
The six things I could never do without
my son and daughter
the ocean and mountains
a pencil and paper to draw with
the seasons
being with you out in nature
I spend a lot of time thinking about
whether books with real pages that turn will still be around when my children have children.
On a typical Friday night I am
. . . looking forward to doing something outdoors over the weekend; swimming laps for endurance, not speed.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
is that I am looking for someone special on an online dating site!
You should message me if
you want to love and be loved. to hold and be held. to care and be cared for. you have a sense of humor and like to laugh. you want to share great ideas, and you love art and science. you are faithful and kind and want to be with someone who will be faithful and kind in return.