38Toronto, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an upbeat, fun and intelligent guy, looking to make new friends in the city and eventually find the right guy for longterm.

I'm looking to try out new activities, and get back in to some of the ones I've neglected - I love exploring places, people and ideas and I think random bike trips or urban hikes are great ways of getting to know someone new. I've recently rekindled a love of exercising at the gym, swimming, jogging, coffee shop chats, walks and learning new things.

I'm very approachable though can sometimes start off a bit awkward with new people, but when we're more comfortable I'm a lot of fun to hang out with and a great friend to have. Drop me a line and let's meet up and do something fun!
What I’m doing with my life
I *just* finished my M.Sc. in Planning, combining my love of cities and travelling into what I hope will be a fantastic new career. I'm insatiably curious about how things work and I'm an introvert who loves people, so I'm hoping that this is what I do for the next few decades.

Recently, I've been satisfying my travelbug a bit - checking out some fun cities and trying to learn more about how I can participate in building communities that I would want to be a part of. I'm just finishing up a bounce-through Europe and am ready to stay home for a while... A short while anyway.

I'm very close with my family and hang out with my siblings a fair bit. I jokingly call myself the "sparent" of their kids, and take the niblings on adventures around the city or just to movies on the weekends. While having kids of my own is not something I feel like I have to do, it's a door I don't quite want to close yet.

If this seems interesting and you wanna chat - make a friend, maybe something more - let me know. I'd prefer if it's more than some variant of "Hey" but I'm not ideological about these things - though face pictures are pretty much mandatory.
I’m really good at
- learning new things
- keeping a conversation going and interesting
- finding the funny or absurd aspect about about almost anything
- (related to the point above) putting my foot in my mouth, and then removing it quickly
- figuring out complex things and then coming up with short, simple metaphors to describe them to someone. I think my Irish genes predispose me to that.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall, I smile a lot, and I like to laugh.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
This is always a bit awkward... I love good books and movies, but they always change when I've read a new one. Here are some consistent ones I recommend to people.
Books (Non-fiction): The Great Transformation by Karl Polanyi and Multiculturalism by Charles Taylor
Books (Fiction): In the Skin of a Lion by Michael Ondaatje, Unless by Carol Shields, Stanley Park by Timothy Taylor, and the Cornish Trilogy by Robertson Davies

Movies: The Royal Tannenbaums, and the new Transformer Series (I was obsessed when I was a kid and the movies are like a childhood dream come true!).

I have pretty bad taste in music and am grateful for the privacy provided by my iPod :-)

I love finding great new food spots around the city. Asian cuisine always seems to satisfy, and I have a special hankering for Korean Soup though I also love Chinese and French food. Just starting to get more into Arabic and Persian, and would love to try more!
Six things I could never do without
1. My family
2. Laughing
3. Access to the Internet/News
4. Coffee
5. Friends
6. My bike
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Politics and "big ideas"; the latest episode of The Walking Dead; where I want to travel to next and memories of where I've been; what I want to do next; and, often something will remind me of a friend or family member - so I text 'em "hello". Oh, I also probably have the "I Dream of Jeannie" theme or "The Girl from Ipanema" lurking just below my consciousness, causing me to hum or whistle part of the melody and random, sometimes inappropriate moments.
On a typical Friday night I am
Still trying to figure that out! Seems to be mainly hanging out at home or meeting up with friends for food and drink after work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
For my entire life I have an affinity for rabbits.
You should message me if
You want to meet and hang out with someone with a sharp mind and a sunny disposition without being a flake, loves trying new things, enjoys laughing and making other people laugh, and can be a great friend when you need one. Friends for now is best, but I am open to seeing where a new relationship goes.

Don't message me if you're dour, see the downside of things all the time, or constantly seek compliments through false modesty and public self-flagellation. Insecurity is a bit of a pet peeve of mine.
The two of us