45 Toronto, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Thanks for dropping by! Here's the executive summary: I'm a well-educated guy, equal parts intellectual/cultured/athletic with a positive outlook on life and mad skills in the kitchen, who is looking for a wonderful woman to share my life with.

Now for some more detail :) Though I grew up in Toronto, I left for grad school (in mathematics) in the Bay Area in California and then "hit the road" pursuing an academic career after graduation. This led me to Berlin, then Toronto, then back again to the Bay Area, where I lived until just recently. During my second stint in the Bay Area, though, I decided to do the unusual thing (in academia) of changing fields (into computer science). Amazingly, and quite happily, this decision ultimately resulted in my job in Toronto. So at the beginning of this summer, I packed my bags and drove across the USA to end up right back here, leaving my sun-drenched California life behind me.

I am very happy to be able to say that I have found a job that I love and that is very well-suited for me. (I do miss teaching math though.) However, I also believe in living a balanced life and I try to spend my evenings and weekends doing other things. I have a great variety interests and am looking forward to incorporating these as best I can while building my life here in Toronto. Above all, I especially love connecting with friends and family through shared activities, fun conversation and a great meal.

I'd love to settle into a lifestyle that balances outdoor pursuits with urban cultural activities -- to really try to embrace all that Toronto has to offer. So far, I spent my summer months biking up in the gorgeous farmland north of Pickering (I say: Land over Landings!), sailing dinghies on the lake, attempting to grow tomatoes in my mom's backyard, searching for furniture to fill my apartment, enjoying TIFF, and reconnecting with old friends. Winter has brought new challenges and I'm happy to say that my ability to withstand the cold hasn't totally disappeared. I have joined a great swim club and started to work my way through Toronto's theatre offerings. Once it starts to snow for real, I plan to learn how to cross-country ski -- my winter coping activity :) What's missing of course is a wonderful partner with whom to share all of this!

I aspire to be an honest, genuine, thoughtful, generous, kind and supportive person. I feel that some of my positive traits are: I am calm, (er, usually) rational and patient. I can be independent and resourceful. I can lead by building consensus. I have a booming voice when I need it. I am a good listener. I am polite. I'm very tolerant and can see things from different perspectives. I eat a lot of fruit. I have my Dad's sense of humour. I can navigate the metro systems of many cities in the world with aplomb. I'm fun to go grocery shopping with. I have a lot of energy and enthusiasm for the things I like to do.

I would like to meet a positive, intelligent, educated, sporty woman with a lovely smile who will be my best friend and partner in all things. I'm looking for someone who'll enjoy cooking a meal with me. Or playing a sport with me. Or someone who'll want to mix up our circles of friends and see what happens. Or someone who will go for a 10 km walk with me. Or someone who'll have lively, multi-faceted, sometimes deep, sometimes whimsical conversations with me into the wee hours.

I'd like our connection to develop into a serious and long-term relationship. The woman I'm hoping to meet will be someone with whom I can share my thoughts, interests and pleasures; someone I can learn from and be inspired by; and above all, someone with whom I'll share a joyful and meaningful life.
What I’m doing with my life
I moved to Toronto to work as a research scientist in a software company specialized in design and engineering. This is the culmination of a multi-year effort in which I've transitioned from pure, academic mathematics to applied science. So far so good... But still lots to learn!
I’m really good at
I'm a good organizer. I can teach well. I can cook well. Yes - good at math.
The first things people usually notice about me
Deep voice, blue eyes, strong legs, big head (Ok, I'm an academic, we're not called egg-heads for nothing...). I look young for my age.(Honestly!)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Top five plays I've ever seen: Arcadia, Major Barbara, The Witch is Not For Burning, Waiting for Godot, Copenhagen. My favourite movie in recent years has been The Lives of Others. I love Brubeck and Coltrane. I love a good paella and a good pizza. I make a salade composée that would impress a carnivore and a roast chicken that would impress a herbivore. I'm making a dent in some of those shows that have placed us squarely in the middle of the Golden Age of Television, and improving my fluency with Bob Dylan's music. I love Fresh Air on NPR and Ideas on CBC.
The six things I could never do without
Fruit and veg
Long walks
My bicycle
A pool
Friends and family!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Getting my new life in Toronto up and running, current events, 20th century history, keeping up with my good friends abroad. These days: furniture purchases. And of course: tetrahedra (that's my day job).
On a typical Friday night I am
At a dinner. At a movie. At a play.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Tough one... I believe that good relationships are precious and worth fighting for. In the past, this has led me to stay longer in relationships than perhaps I should have. But I have no regrets -- my past relationships were always with good people from whom I learned a lot; and I am optimistic that this character trait that I have just described will one day be extremely useful and valuable to me and to my partner.
You should message me if
Hopefully you've liked what you've read (and what you've seen)... If so, I would love to chat!