49Battle Ground, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
(BTW that's my beloved sister in the profile pic) I am a father first and then everything else, my children are my first priority, at all times and presently all my love goes to them. This is probably the reason I have not dated in close to 6 years now...Lonely, yes, but not alone. I give and receive so much LOVE from my son and daughter that it's easy to forget that I don't have romantic love in my life, YET! Soon to change, I know 2013 will be MY year!

I am a multi-faceted man , with only a few facets being expressed at any one time. There is too much to say, it's difficult to fit a description of my character into a box(though I could be described as a bit square, at times;), plus it would take some of the mystery out of it anyway. I have a side that loves the mountains, backpacking/roughing it, another side that enjoys the desert (rock climbing in Joshua Tree!) and yet another part of me misses the beaches of Hawaii, where I was born and spent summers for many years while growing up.

I should let it be known that I am a brain cancer survivor and come from a family with some bad cancer genetics (mom died young and both sisters are also survivors.) That experience has improved my outlook on life, in ways that cannot be conveyed. I am so grateful for still being here to enjoy the LOVE of my children, the beauty of the world, and this incredible place we live. I am beyond happy that I made it through that scary ordeal! Even though it's been close to 8 years since I was declared "clean," I still wake up each morning thankful for another day!

I've traveled to Europe once and loved it, but need to return to fit in a trip to Italy, because I wasn't able to make it last time. Besides that trip really requires romance and a woman I love, to be done right! I have spent some time in Mexico, both on the Baja, and the Gulf for SCUBA diving (Cozumel) and would enjoy returning there someday. Costa Rica is another of the many destinations on my list, I am an Orchid cultivator/lover and would enjoy walking where they grow native! It would be nice to have a brave woman to travel the world with, some day, especially one with a command of more than English, ie. Spanish, Italian, or any other language! Though I am fairly fluent in Spanish(Mexican, not Spain, Spanish,) but out of practice without anyone to practice it with. After my trip, I decided to try and learn Italian, bought the CD course, and it still sits on my shelf staring at me, reminding me of another project I didn't complete.

My Europe trip included many miles of hiking/walking; Spain's Sierra Nevada, Granada's Alhambra, Sevilla's cathedrals,the Swiss Alps (Matterhorn!). Paragliding in Interlaken Switzerland was the highlight, though! I ended my trip in Paris with long walks through Paris, including, of course, the Louvre, and Musee d' Orsay(too much to take in in a few days, so I cheated and bought the picture books!) I met a friend over there and he took me to some of his favorite restaurants, so I was able to experience some French cooking, that was not included in my Julia Child Cookbook...GOTTA LOVE THE CUISINE OF FRANCE!

I am an AVID outdoor lover and thrill seeker who loves to capture as much of nature's beauty, in digital images. Many of my greatest adventures have been solo hikes and climbs in the mountains of WA, OR, and CA. This past summer (2011,) was the best one yet for backpacking with my kids. We were able to take 4 backpacking trips that season: Silver Star Mountain, PCT to Gillette Lake, Blue Lake by MSH, and a 3 day trip to the Goat Rocks Wilderness. I hope to increase the number of backpacking trips with my kids, each year, as my schedule allows. One day, I hope to take them to climb Mt. Adams, and hopefully, someday a few of the many 14'ers in the CO Rockies, and in CA's Sierras! One of my greatest dreams is to take them to the Alps of Switzerland and Italy to go explore, hike, paraglide and have fun in the ALPS and of course EAT PIZZA, PASTA, and TIRAMISU in Bella Italia!

I am also happy just snuggling, watching movies and/ or cooking at home, during downtime, or poor/rainy weather. I LOVE COOKING and am pretty good at it (10 years in restaurants as a sous chef, broiler, pastry cook, prior to my science career!)

Though this section is as close a depiction of myself from my perspective, I need to state that the whole point is that I want more than anything to connect with an HONEST, caring, intelligent, adventurous, kind, and fit woman, for a lasting/long-term and fulfilling relationship. I know she's/your out there, we just have not crossed paths yet, but soon will, I KNOW IT!

Let's go grab life and live it to the fullest, laughing and giggling during the whole incredible ride! We only get one shot at this adventure, we need to glean as much fun, LOVE, and excitement from the short time we have here...Let's CHARGE!
What I’m doing with my life
I am working on being the BEST dad that I can be to my kids, and soak up as much fun and adventure with them, while their still young. I have planned one final summer backpack for us later this summer to do a multiday(3) backpack into the Indian Heaven Wilderness, to Blue Lake along the PCT. I'm really hoping that I can convince my sister to come along with us, but I will have to see.

I wanted to climb Mt. Adams this summer, but with my new job, there is almost no way, the summer got away from me and I wasn't able to get the training in that I had hoped to.

I don't have a gym membership, as I prefer to get my workouts on the trails, in nature. I do realize that to boost my performance, I need to do interval training, but can't seem to find the time to get to a gym, between my job and my kids; excuses, I know, but sort of valid ones, I think. I believe that having a fit woman to help push me/inspire me to work harder, would be a much needed impetus for me to pursue a higher level of fitness.

I love photography and have been trying to convince myself to take the leap and turn one of my passions into a career/source of income. It is such a big leap to leave the security of a steady job. it is a difficult decision to make, and very competitive, but I need to find a way to "monetize my passion," creating a happier, fulfilling, more free life!
I’m really good at
Listening, Photography, Cooking, Hiking, Backpacking, Loving, Having Fun, Laughing, Mountain Biking, and so so on a kayak.

I have also been working on developing myself spiritually through meditation and studying texts to become a more enlightened, grateful, and Loving person/soul.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm a good listener and an empathic friend. Also that I make friends easily with just about anyone. I am honest and trusting, often to a fault, to my detriment!

I pride myself at being a great father, and have been in LOVE with them since those sweet "little" miracles were born!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am a voracious reader and have difficulty going to sleep without reading for a little while, first. My tastes in books are all over the place(like my musical tastes.) I like to read: Self Improvement - The Traveler's Gift, The Secret, Kahlil Gilbran's "The Prophet." I also just began reading The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success from D. Chopra (WOW!) I like the occasional murder mystery and fantasy book: James Patterson murder mysteries, Dean Koontz, S. King Scary books. I recently finished two great Medical mystery/thrillers by Robin Cook. I could go on, there are always 4 or 5 books on my nightstand!

Movies: essentially anything that evokes strong emotion, be it action, romance, comedy, or drama movies. I don't mind reading subtitles and have found many great foreign films, of these my favorites are Angel-A, Amelie', The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Contemporary movies I enjoy are Lord of the Rings, Sorcerers Apprentice, (Eat, Pray Love was so good, watched it with my girl and showed her Italy and Bali!))Letters to Juliet (Sappy, but emotional, I know!) My kids always laugh at me, because I "cry" at even moderately emotional themes/scenes. Possibly a side effect from the loss/removal of significant portion of my Rt. frontal lobe, I think?

Food: I love all kinds of food, but especially ethnic food; Asian(Thai, Japanese, Korean, Vietnamese,) Indian, Mexican, Italian. I LOVE Sushi, but haven't had it in too long. Dragonfish restaurant's Asian Fusion cuisine in DT Portland is a top treat for me. I enjoy cooking Italian (esp. Pizza,) Mexican, and Asian. Recently, I've been throwing together large pans(Woks) of Thai coconut Curry, and am slowly bringing my kids in to the spicy food fold.

Music: Way too much/many to list, but love Pandora radio to discover new music and artists every day!! I enjoy anything that touches me or anything Live! Big NO to Rap or "Angry-Metal!" Specifically ,I like: Maroon 5, Five For Fighting, David Gray, Mat Kearney, Brandi Carlisle, Joshua Radin, Eddie Vedder, Coldplay, Snow Patrol, Adele, Gavin Rossdale, Cat Stevens, Bob Marley. Some Genres I also enjoy are Bluegrass, Blues, Reggae, Classic Rock (Journey & Boston!!,) and everything 80's (Class of '86!!) My uncle is my housemate and he has been teaching himself Ukulele. Probably inspired by Eddie Vedder's Ukulele Songs, which are so great!
Six things I could never do without
My Children
My ability to walk--HIKING!!
Extras: Chocolate, Good Beer, My Sister, Mountains, Friends, Good Food, My kids!!!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I want to be when I grow up.

How to turn/combine my passions into a successful business.

How to be the best father I can be.

How to love others and myself better.

My next adventure, climb, or hike.

What trips/adventures to take next summer.

What I'm going to cook for dinner.

Finding the woman of my dreams(ie. The Love of My Life!)
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with my kids( if it's my week) or cooking dinner for myself, watching a movie, and drinking a good beer, or glass of wine. Recently, I have become a homebody. I am not into the bar scene, or partying as much anymore. I would much prefer a quiet, elegant dinner out on the town and some live music during or afterwards with a special woman.

If it's in the summer, I may run up to Silver Star Mountain for a moonlight hike and camp to catch the sunrise. Midnight/moonlight hikes are so fun, but a bit spooky during bear season!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I think I have already given away so much about myself, already, hopefully not too/so much to scare you away! If you want to know more, message me and find out first hand. Let's go have/start an adventure together!
You should message me if
--You are REALLY into hiking, backpacking, and outdoor adventures, winter or summer, rain/snow or shine.

--You want someone to cook with, go to concerts with, and hopefully snuggle with.
The two of us