AlexGKC
31 Kansas City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
AlexGKC
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an idealistic introvert. I was born and raised in Kansas City, and most of my family still lives here. I'd like to stay, and help the city become a better place for everyone. I'm pretty liberal, but open to listen to other people's views, as long as they're open to hearing mine. I try to live my values without shoving them down other people's throats. But that doesn't mean I'll let people's bullshit slide just to be polite. I will call them out, I just try to do it respectfully.
What I’m doing with my life
I run a small law firm with 3 other attorneys. That takes up most of my time, but I'm involved in a couple of local non-profits as well.
I’m really good at
I'm good at looking at a problem and marshaling resources (people, persuasion, and, if need be, money) to solve it.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't know. You'd have to ask the people who know me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
There isn't much I love more than a great novel. Catcher in the Rye, Lord of the Flies, Gregory Maguire's Wicked books (especially Son of a Witch), Mysteries of Pittsburgh, Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, The Things They Carried, just to name a few.

For movies I like anything interesting and well made, although mostly not horror. A lot of my favorites are smaller films (Brick, Donnie Darko, Death to Smoochy, True Romance, Wet Hot American Summer, Paris, je t'aime) but I love a good blockbuster too (Independence Day, Dark Knight, Up, Jurassic Park).

On TV I'm devoted to The Daily Show (and until it ended Colbert Report) and Archer. I have an on-again off-again relationship with The Rachel Maddow Show. Beyond that everything I watch is on DVD or Netflix. I recently started Breaking Bad, and have thus far enjoyed it.

My taste in music is pretty eclectic, but can be summed up as a love of great rock music, regardless of sub-genre. Some of my favorites are Vampire Weekend, Janelle Monae, Regina Spektor, The White Stripes, Green Day, the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, the Ataris, and Bad Religion.

Food I like a lot of different things, although I'm mostly a vegetarian, so that limits what I eat.
The six things I could never do without
> My family
> Good food
> Good drinks
> Good company
> Good reading
> A safe, warm place to sleep
On a typical Friday night I am
Staying in. Often this is when I see my family, but otherwise I like to take it easy.
More