Alexa0000
29 Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Alexa0000
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey!

My name's Alexa - pretty sneaky screen name, I know. I do eat meat, and I don't run marathons - two things I would have never thought to mention up front before living in DC. (Although don't despair veggie runner, it's totally cool if you don't/do). I also enjoy volleyball, whiskey, listening to podcasts, and trying to dance like a robot.

I'm looking for someone who I can really enjoy spending time with, learn from, feel energized by, and comfortable with. So many details (likes / dislikes) end up being less important to me than being able to recognize awesomeness in each other, expose each other to new things and experiences, be kind to each other, and be drawn in to each other.
What I’m doing with my life
I grew up in Delaware, spent a couple of years in Morocco, and I've been in DC almost four years now - working with an international non-profit focused on achieving gender equality and ending violence.

I like my job, the chance to explore social justice issues across contexts, and, of course, adding vacations on to the back end of work trips (last few have been Turkey, South Africa, Rwanda/Uganda, and India). I usually end up going unplanned - but that's when the interesting things happen.
I’m really good at
Asking questions in truth or dare, being a friend, looking at how much credit people in front of me in line have on their SmarTrip cards, bringing mix-n-match grab bags of beer to friends' houses.
The first things people usually notice about me
My lion's mane.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Documentaries, Aziz Ansari's new show, New Girl, Jinx, The Office, 30 Rock, Parks and Rec...

Robyn, Jenny Lewis, Shaggy, Voxtrot, most pop country (shut it), folk, indie, and top 40 to get my dance on, although I let Pandora take a lot of this on for me.

Sushi, nachos, and Bobbies from Capriotti's.

Latest book is Sex and the Citadel.
The six things I could never do without
My parents/brothers, good friends, a sense of adventure, a personal oasis, some healthy curiosity, a trip on the horizon.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
When Wawa will come to DC, human behavior.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with my friends around Columbia Heights, Shaw or U Street, traveling to go see them...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My first pets were named after Star Trek characters. Also, if you have no pictures that show your teeth...I Will assume you have no teeth. It's not necessarily a deal breaker, but you should know that.
You should message me if
You think we would hit it off, you are open to the idea of finding a relationship, you can be adventurous, witty and a little weird - and if you are metro accessible, that definitely helps. If you've got some creative energy, I'm into it.
More