32Whitestone, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm Ali, short for Alexandra. New Yorker, born and raised.

I love running...I'm a big fan of 5ks, 10ks, half marathons, and trail runs. I also do lots of Spartan races, which has become a pretty important part of my life.

Liking/participating in sports is definitely a huge plus, but if not, that's cool too.

A random list, because those are always fun:
- I've been skydiving twice and will go again.
- I went scuba diving once and got so claustrophobic under water I started thrashing like a netted dolphin.
- I like going out with friends, but I'm also okay spending a weekend with myself.
- I can binge watch TV shows all day, but it takes me forever to sit down and watch a movie.
- I'm an aunt thrice over...benefits of being the youngest sibling
- This age of social media we live in makes me nervous.
- Fax machines mystify me. So do 3D printers.
- My idea of a perfect night is sitting in an apartment with good friends, lots of wine, and lots of food.
- I am a Pisces, through and through.
- My least favorite chore is putting away laundry.
- If I could learn a language it would be ASL.

I'm looking for a guy who is settled and confident about his life and job, but not arrogant about it. "Quiet confidence" is a phrase I think has a lot of meaning. Someone who understands that relationships take work and is willing to put in the effort. Someone who thinks a relationship is about being part of a team and working together. Someone who is thinking about the future and working to build one that includes a family.

I'll be honest, I'm pretty disappointed with how men and women have grown to interact with each other over the past decade. Anything related to flirting, dating, courtship, and mystery is gone. Don't people miss those butterflies? I do. I'd love to hear from you if you miss them as well.
What I’m doing with my life
I started off working in publishing as an assistant editor, but I hated it. I changed careers and got a masters in social work. This is a much better path for me. I now work in an outpatient psychiatric department in a hospital.

I spend most of the week in a windowless office, so I really try to get outside on the weekends.
I’m really good at
Saved by the Bell and Boy Meets World trivia. Procrastinating. Cleaning my apartment and somehow making it messier than it was. Listening to one song on repeat for a week solid.
The first things people usually notice about me
Usually people comment on either how tall I am, or how I look much younger than I am. I'm a high school volleyball coach, and refs/other parents routinely mistake me for a player. True story.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I can read for 10 or 12 hours, if I have the right book. My favorite book is Watership Down, by Richard Adams. I like the Fire and Ice series (and dislike the television show). I love Neil Gaiman, Lev Grossman, and Tana French. Clearly I like the fantasy genre (I'll add the Narnia series and Lord of the Rings here, too), but I really enjoy a wide variety. Other favorites include The Secret History, Jane Eyre, Dracula, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, and The Book Thief. I love Wally Lamb. Major points if you recommend me a book I might like. Recently I've gotten into a nonfiction kick, especially with memoirs and psychology/mental health books.

My favorite movie is Stand By Me. When RENT was on Broadway, I saw it six times, including with the original cast reprisal. One of my biggest guilty pleasures is binge watching TV shows on Netflix, although I tend to stay away from reality shows. I am a huge Joss Whedon fan, including all things Buffy, Angel, and Firefly. I love Blacklist, Walking Dead, How I Met Your Mother, Friday Night Lights, Big Bang Theory, Supernatural, The Office when it didn't suck, and The West Wing, also, when it didn't suck (Read that: before Sorkin left). Just finished the Six Feet Under series for the first time and realized the last 6 minutes were as good as everyone promised me they were.

There are few foods I won't eat or at least try. Except spicy food. I really dislike spicy food.
Six things I could never do without
I figure as long as I have my friends and family, I'm ok.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What personal anecdote I would share if I ever made it onto Jeopardy.
On a typical Friday night I am
Taking my dog to the park. Going to the gym. Usually pretty relaxing since I have to get up early Saturdays pretty often.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If you have a race bib visible in one of your pictures, I'm probably (definitely) going to look up your time.
You should message me if
You're done playing games, you don't take yourself extremely seriously, you think chivalry isn't dead, and you're looking for something real.

I believe it's impossible to get to know someone over email/text/phone, so I'd prefer not to have lengthy exchanges before planning to meet.

Oh, and this is a total FYI, but it would really be a lot easier for both of us if you have a car. I don't live near subways, and I've come to realize having a car just make everything easier.
The two of us