32Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am me; I'm weird, quirky, have social anxieties but love being around people, love music, dancing, singing, Invader Zim, shiny things, potatoes, cheese and my Fiona cat. I have 5 tattoos, and 15 piercings. My first tattoo is a pair of wings the cover my entire back. My other tats are smaller.

I'm half African American, and half Italian. I'm more Italian in manner though. I was born on the East Coast, and tend to have - and appreciate - that straight forward manner. My mom's a New Jersey Italian if that tells you anything...

I'm a gamer geek in many senses of the term. I grew up playing D&D, but I got tired of all the die rolling and not enough actual role playing. I've since joined a group of like-minded folk and game once a month. I am a fan of video games. I own a PS2, Wii, original XBox, 360, an original playstation, and a DS (I know this is repetitive).

I don't think that there's anything wrong with spending an entire day in your pj's playing a good RPG. As long as that's not a regular event, and time is taken to eat and bathe.

Don't get me wrong, the forests make me smile, and the ocean feeds my soul. I want a huge garden I can eat out of all summer, and maybe some chickens some fine day. But I don't tend get out into those environments without company.

I want to learn how to snowboard, dance (tango, salsa, anything else that strikes my fancy), do Chen style tai chi, play piano, speak Spanish, etc. But money and time have been lacking. And I'm definitely looking for someone to join me in learning new things.

I may not know what I want to be when (and if) I grow up, but I do know that honesty is really really really important to me. If you want to get to know me, ask questions. If you want to get into my pants, don't act like you want to get to know me. I also know that some day I would like a family, kids, yard, dog... all that domestic shit.

Full disclosure: I suffer from depression and anxiety, and sometimes I need to be handled with kid gloves. This being said; I'm learning to communicate my needs to those around me so that no one has to guess, or constantly walk on egg shells. I'm also working on managing both the anxiety and depression with diet, therapy, etc.
What I’m doing with my life
First, a little story: I wanted to be a Naturopathic Physician (ND) when I grew up ever since I was 15. I took all the classes I needed to, graduated with my BS in Biology from the University of Oregon, and started at the National College of Natural Medicine. Part way through my 2nd year, I realized that the break-neck pace of the 4 year track at 28 credits a term was too much for my poor fatigued body, mind, and nerves. I slowed to the 5 year track (which is still full time), at around 16 credits, and still had doubts that I could finish this program and not have to be committed to a mental ward at the end of it all. Through all of this I was trying to take care of myself, and having a lot of trouble with all the stress I was under. I had tried all kinds of modalities, chiropractic, acupuncture, naturopathic, Chinese herbs, homeopathic, etc. I was given a homeopathic remedy that seemed to give me a new perspective on my situation. I ended the relationship I was in, and discovered that being an ND may not have been my dream at all...

Now, I'm officially withdrawn from school, working, trying to take care of myself through diet and such, and working on being more active. I have 2 jobs: full time as front office at a counseling center (Monday-Friday) and once a month helping an acupuncturist out with office stuff (usually on a Saturday).

I've been mulling over starting a business, but it's still in the thought phase...

In my non-working hours, I often veg on something video related.
I’m really good at
Dancing, cooking, being a goof, cleaning, organizing, massages, listening, teaching, being a hostess, tripping over my own feet, making myself laugh, acting, singing, nerding out on medical information, puzzles, sounding like an angry kitty and/or raptor.
The first things people usually notice about me
Living in Oregon, it's probably that I'm not white. If my back's exposed, it's my wings; maybe my piercings. Then again it might change with what I'm wearing...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Memoirs of a Geisha, Survivor, Choke, The Princess Bride, the first 3 of the Apprentice Adept Series, Clan of the Cavebear Series, Harry Potter, etc.

My all-time movie favorites are: The Fifth Element, and The Princess Bride. Love Mel Brooks movies, Monty Python Movies, and a lot of the Pixar movies (I really loved Mosters Inc.). I will not watch horror unless it's hilariously bad, I get nightmares too easily.

Shows? Depends on my mood: Dexter, NCIS, Say Yes to the Dress (I know, I AM a girl), The Voice, Family Guy, Nashville, Empire, Gotham, Sleepy Hollow, Game of Thrones, Elementary, Criminal Minds, Avatar: the last airbender, Legend of Korra, Invader Zim, Heroes, Heroes Reborn, Blindspot, Mr. Robot, etc.

I like just about any kind of music except country, whiny "punk", most 80's music (especially the ass-rock), angry rap, and an over-abundance of oldies and hippy music. Muse, Pink, Sara Bareilles, and Imagine Dragons have been played a lot recently, but that changes often. My music exposure is usually in the car while driving or discovering a new Pandora station.

I love food, food is love in Italian culture after all. Though, I am a little picky, I'll try almost anything once. Not a fan of super fishey sea foods, mushrooms, raw tomato, broccoli or cauliflower, mustard, and gooey eggs. I LOVE potatoes and cheese! I love Italian food (go figure), I have a crazy sweet tooth, and am a huge fan of yellow curry.

I'm currently on the FODMAP diet, which is very restricted. I won't go into the huge list of things I can't eat, you can google it if you want to. It has been helping me not feel like poop every time I eat. On top of the restricted diet my body doesn't like sugar, gluten, and corn, so I have had to cut those out too. I know this may sound like torture to many Northwest people, but I can't do beer, not even gluten-free beer.
Six things I could never do without
1. My Fiona cat
2. music
3. my smart phone
4. hot showers
5. comfy, cozy, fuzzy things
6. supportive friends and family (namely my sister)

Not in any particular order.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future in general, what I'm doing next, if I'm going to go back to school, if I go back to school what for? What defines a person? How things work? What stuff I need to get done, what my 1st step should be if I start a business. Why does fat free half & half exist? etc etc. My mind's constantly going, and not usually in the present moment. But I am getting better at enjoying the moment.
On a typical Friday night I am
At home, usually just vegging, or doing chores. Every once in a while I go out to a bar, club, dinner or movie but I don't have too many people to go out with.

I tend to be a bit of a home-body, but I do like to get out an socilize. Though a gentle tug is sometimes required.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I still sleep with the stuffed puppy that I've had since the day I was born, his name is Pup-pup and he's on his third nose.
You should message me if
You want to know more, you're at least somewhat intelligent, and/or you think I'm neat.

Note: I will not reply if you only say "hi" a little more effort is required.
The two of us