32Victoria, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
*** Wow, this is hilariously out of date ***

I've been working on organic farms and CSA's throughout Canada for the last three summers and I try to keep politically active and learning in between. Right now I'm taking a break from farming (sad) and making some money working outdoors around North America and abroad.

Food security is an issue I've spent a lot of time thinking about and acting upon. I grow food, save seeds (when I can), try to preserve food, and when I'm in cities, I don't mind dumpster diving (for delicious cheese).

Want to be outdoors and be active, even just to go running. I especially enjoying hiking in the mountains. I love snow-shoeing in the mountains! This is an area in my life that I benefit greatly by having someone to do it with; extra motivation you see. Mountain buddies, where are you?

I play the banjo, clawhammer style. Jam partners welcome.

I love everything that has to do with decomposition... I love bacteria, yeasts and fungus! I really like mushrooms. I pick them and try to grow them, sometimes succeeding. I have a strong desire to build myself a real mycology lab. Geek.
I love brewing too, so this is where my yeast buddies come in. I love them a lot. Bacteria makes me my yogurt and sauerkraut & kimchi, I just give them materials to ferment.

I have an unnatural love for big storm events. Hail, lightning, wind, blizzards, all very high on my list of awesome.
What I’m doing with my life
Probably spending a lot of it thinking about this very question.

Currently I'm still furthering my knowledge of permaculture and general sustainable farming practices.

I wish to travel abroad in the future and simultaneously have a chunk of land that I've planted fruit and nut trees on.
I’m really good at
Being inappropriately silly in serious situations, and then being too serious in a silly situation.

Rotting, fermenting, composting or otherwise decomposing organic matter.

Cooking. At least to my tastes.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my height and my (usually) disarrayed hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
All these categories are most recently, not all time favourites necessarily =)

Books: Jitterbug Perfume, Still Life with Woodpecker, Hitchhiker's Guide, Passionate Marriage (interesting beyond relationship help), Siddartha, Grapes of Wrath, East of Eden, Mycelium Running, Path of No Escape.

Movies & Shows: I don't own a TV, sometimes watch random movies on the laptop. Most nights I would prefer to listen to CBC radio 2 with some tea and a toke.

Music, recent: Beirut, Chad VanGaalen, Old Crow Medicine Show, Yonder Mountain String Band, Andrew Bird, Geoff Berner, Owen Pallet, Neil Young, The Rolling Stones, Flaming Lips, Rae Spoon, Timber Timbre, Tom Waits, Fish & Bird, Iron & Wine........ and stuff.

Food: Holy hell, I can't answer this part. I love EVERYTHING, except liver. I generally don't eat meat unless I've raised it myself or someone that I know and trust has raised it in a way that I'm in agreement with. I have a great love for curries and green leafy things of all sorts. Oh, and garlic.
Six things I could never do without
Maple Syrup
Cold, dry, snowy winters.
Conversation with a good friend late at night... with whiskey.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Food security.
Scratching dogs/pigs/sheep/mules/myself.
How to stop working and do stuff I love for a living.
On a typical Friday night I am
Potluck or a small dinner with friends that we cook together. Live music, theater, jamming, sweat lodge or just sitting and watching a movie at someone else's house. If it happens to be a full moon, ride around my bicycle aimlessly soaking it in.
You should message me if
You have the will to.

If you want someone to do physical activities with; hiking, skiiing, fighting, biting, dancing (I don't know how, really), biking, growing, scheming, etc.

If you want to harass me with cryptic comments.

I'm really up for anything in terms of friendship, relationships of all sorts and configurations or enemies if anyone is interested in that too.
The two of us