40San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
UPDATE: Relocating to San Francisco in January 2014! (In NYC till then.)

Well, let's see here. My DNA seems to be one-half "angel" and one-half "devil." I'm a Midwestern boy turned Big Apple lawyer. I apparently look innocent and young, but have been known to cause trouble and easily get impatient. I've done pretty well professionally, but can quickly revert to a five-year-old (just ask my niece and nephew). And while I'm not big on the zodiac, my scorpio sign definitely seems to fit. Oh, and this is the first time I've filled out a dating profile, so please cut me some slack ;)
What I’m doing with my life
I ask myself this question daily. The basics are that I'm a lawyer with one of the big law firms in the city. I've been there for 10 years (!), since I graduated from law school. I grew up mostly in Minnesota (the suburbs of Minneapolis, so not completely hicksville), and then went to Penn for college and law school. From there I made the leap to NYC. Even though my job can be stressful and draining, I know I've been very lucky professionally. I get to focus on the legal issues that have always intrigued me, mostly copyright, trademark, and media law. Before you fall asleep reading about my legal profession, I'll move on to other topics ;)

I've been living in Hell's Kitchen for only a short time, since March of 2012 (yes, a stereotype, I suppose; another gay in HK). But before my move to my new place, I spent the decade on the Upper West Side, in the West 70s. I decided to move to HK when I got too tired of all the strollers on the UWS (kidding, sorta). I love the mixture of the people, restaurants, and shops in HK and it has been a rush exploring my new hood.

As for fun, I'm definitely *not* burnt out on New York. I love all the different kinds of food here, and so eating out at a restaurant is always fun for me, but so is ordering in. When it comes down to it, I'd say going out to eat is my favorite pastime here. The Midwesterner and child in me still loves all the touristy things in the city too; I've done the Circle Line boat rides more than once, or twice, or thrice.... Movies, Broadway, bars, wine bars, the occasional dance club, and things that shouldn't be mentioned on public profiles all make for fun times too ;)

So, what am I looking for? Well, since this is a dating site, a boyfriend ultimately is the goal. But friends, dates, etc. in the meantime would be good too. I have some nice groups of friends here in the city, and a bunch more spread across the country, but there's always room for more. In the boyfriend department, I've pretty much had three serious relationships in the past. The first was a long time ago, and he was my first love and there will always be a connection there. The second was special in very different ways, opened me up to new things, and remains a dear friend. The third is best described as a roller-coaster: some very high highs, along with some big lows, lots of bumps in between, and a desire to ride more than once. I'm bad with cliches, but all three relationships have helped shape who I am now, even though I know I'll keep changing....
I’m really good at
Architecture and interior design, at least on an amateur and totally inexperienced level. I tend to not have regrets in life, but I do have one: I never took any architecture classes in college, mainly because they were at 8 in the morning and I was always up late studying, so I never felt like I could take those classes. But when I was a kid, I'd go to open houses with my parents on the weekends for fun, and I even used to draw floorplans of houses and buildings just for the heck of it. (Does this make me sound like a total dork?) Needless to say, one of my favorite parts of New York is some of the fascinating architecture.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall - somewhere between 6'2" and 6'3". If I've been on vacation anywhere sunny, my tan - I tan insanely easily. And most people peg my age at this point in the late 20s, which is good on the social scene but not necessarily so good on the professional scene :)

And although it might not be one of the first things people notice about me, eventually the parts of me that make me a scorpio seem to come out. Sweet and playful sometimes, intense and devilish other times. A colleague once said I'm the type that smiles while twisting the knife into opposing counsel; I'm not sure if that was a compliment. I also seem to say "awesome" at work a lot.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
So, whenever I'm asked this question, I always say that I don't really have "favorites" of anything. With a lot of stuff, my tastes seem to be pretty mainstream, though if I had to put any of it in a particular category, sadly, "teeny bopper" might be the most appropriate. I can get hooked on reality shows like the Hills on MTV and on bands like One Direction. Embarrassing, I know, but maybe a little charming too? ;)
Six things I could never do without
Like I said above, I'm bad with cliches, and this question is ripe for cliches, but here goes:

- My parents, my twin brother, my older brother, and my niece and nephew. They keep me grounded, give me advice I can't get anywhere else, are my best friends, and drive me nuts at times.

- Deep personal connections. Friends are great, but it's the deep personal connections with only some friends that constantly light my fire.

- My phone. It keeps me connected to some of the best people in my life who don't live in New York.

- My television and computer. I'm combining these because they serve the same purpose. I have them on when I'm home for distractions and entertainment, and to catch the news.

- Caffeine. I've tried to give it up in the past, but I always fail. Coffee is such a core part of life (at least mine - I drink it while walking to work and love hanging at coffee shops), and sometimes I just crave an icy cold Coke.

- Sex. Might as well be honest ;)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
If I want to continue being a lawyer, or try something entirely new, especially architecture and interior design. I'm pretty sure I'd love to get into the business of flipping houses - a potentially great combination of legal skills and architecture/design, I think.

The special someone who I'll eventually spend the rest of my life with. Someone who will make my heart go pitter-patter and make other parts of me twitch ;) Someone who will have those same feelings for me....
On a typical Friday night I am
On a typical Friday night I'm either out at a restaurant having dinner with a friend or friends, or laying low in my apartment getting some rest after a long week of work. If I'm with a special someone, I love watching a movie on my couch on Friday night, though be forewarned that I'm usually laying down with my head in your lap and pretty quickly fall asleep like that in bliss :) On less chill nights, I've been known to get into shenanigans and have seen the sun rise more than a couple times....
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Some things definitely can't be revealed on here, but there are a couple I'm cool with disclosing:

I've made it to the Black Party the last two years and had an absolute blast both times. I had always wanted to go since I moved here ;)

I can be shy in social group settings, at least at first. Not quite sure why that is, but it's the reality.
You should message me if
You are adventurous and curious, but also have a good head on your shoulders. You are ambitious and successful in what you do, but not obnoxious about it. You're not a prude, but can be brought home to mom. You are a kid and a grown-up all wrapped up in one, maybe even with a bow on top ;)
The two of us