34 Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I live on a boat. If that isn't something that you think seems pleasant, be warned. It gets worse.
I spend a lot of my time lately playing with functions. When I'm not playing with functions, I am playing with my cat. Her favorite game is "Paw," where she boxes and bites through a window or from on top of a roof. If my cat is out swimming, or whatever it is she does when she is not around, I am playing the piano, or perhaps reading comic books about calculus.
In my entire adult life I have never owned a car. I prefer to transport myself by bicycle, or, when possible, by dinghy.
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently enrolled full time in school. I would like to get a degree in engineering because I believe that I can do the most good in the world through math and creation. Beyond that I have been rebuilding a 46' sailboat for a few years, which for reasons both fiscal and aesthetic I call my home. I play music a lot- to walk through my home requires immense flexibility as one must navigate a piano, contrabass, four accordions, a trombone, and a cello- and have recently started learning how to make electronic music on a program called Ableton. I love physical activity. I would probably never take public transportation if I could cycle across the bay bridge and the Posey/ Webster tube (yes, technically you can cycle through the latter, though it is detrimental to your health.)
I’m really good at
Music (several instruments), cooking, mechanical work, making people laugh a lot, obsessing over something and spending endless hours researching it.
The first things people usually notice about me
Certain obvious physical characteristics that probably deal with mating potential. For example, the presence of extra thyroid cartilage in the front center of my neck.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Really? Favorites? I like nonfiction books, and spend a lot of time reading about history, engineering, science, etc. Textbooks are fun! For movies, I would probably say comedies, especially pre-1940.
Shows? Musicals I suppose.
Music? Geez, most anything. I like a lot of classical- Borodin, Beethoven, Bach, Chopin, Rimsky-Korsakov, Mussorgsky, Saint-Saens, Puccini, Wagner, Verdi, Delibes, Strauss (both of them), Schubert, etc. Jazz- Charles Mingus, Nina Simone, Art Tatum, Sidney Bechet, Jabbo Smith, Willie "The Lion" Smith, James P. Johnson, Raymond Scott, etc. Hip Hop- Afrika Bambaataa, Ultramagnetic MCs, Cookie Crew, Salt n Pepa, Grandmaster Flash, Young MC, KRS One, Outkast, Public Enemy, etc. Rembetika- Rita Abaci, Markos Vamvakaris, Xaris Alexiou, etc. Turkish- Selim Sessler (we got to play with him!!!), Göksel Baktagir, N.Nalabantoglu, Mustafa Kandirli, etc. Romani- Dona Dumitru, Gabi Lunca, Roberto de Brasov, Madalin Voicu, Fanfare Ciocarlia, etc. Chinese, Indonesian, Thai/Lao pop all have a special place in my heart too...
Food? Wow, even broader. Never had a snack I didn't like. Fermented mare's milk in mongolia, bao zi in China, Nasi Lemak and masala dosa in Malaysia... Most mediterranean snacks- dolmadakia, mousakka, mercimek corbasi, all pasta, frutti di mare, etc. Love to eat, love to cook!
The six things I could never do without
Snacks, music, laughter. Repeat in any combination. Also maybe a scientific calculator, protractor, compass. I'd say coffee, but I could certainly do without that, though I truly enjoy it in all of its incarnations and in large quantities. I couldn't do without relieving myself of snacks past, and I do that at least once per day.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Symphonic composition, cats, snacks, spiral bevel gears, whether to take the shortest route or the more comfortable route. I think about friends past and present. I dissect musical compositions and think about harmony, counterpoint, tone, timbre. I think about how many sentences on this profile have begun with the letter "i" and whether I should change that.
On a typical Friday night I am
These days probably working. I repair musical instruments and I often sleep in the shop. It is possible that I am drilling math problems, and that is likely taking place in the shop too.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like Britney Spears sometimes, and will actively listen and dance to it too, even among the truck mechanics I associate with. Sometimes people think I am nuts. I probably am. I sing to my cat too, and rewrite the lyrics to pop songs so they apply to my cat. I also found a taco costume for my cat!
You should message me if
If you have read thus far then you are overqualified. I will almost certainly take the time to respond, but please be patient because my internet access is extremely limited. I love meeting new people and will go out of my way to do so, regardless of what the "ok, cupid" algorithm has determined our compatibility to be. Please take note, however, that I do have financial limitations, so if I am invited to a dinner in a more affluent locale, I will likely feel disappointed and reserved during the entire experience. Summarizing, if you feel compelled to write then by all means do so. I am happy to receive fan-mail!