Aqueya
37 Winnipeg, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Aqueya
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Just looking for some chemistry.

I'm big kid at heart, inquisitive, adventurous and fun loving. I'd consider myself an extroverted introvert. Some people don't like labels, but humanity wouldn't be where it is today if our brains could not group and organize information, so I'll proudly claim the labels Geeky (love board games and sci-fie) and Artsy. I love other peoples kids, but i'm not interested in starting from scratch at this point.
What I’m doing with my life
Working fulltime. Learning pottery, guitar & piano. Improving at fiddle, going to bluegrass jams. Earning a degree part time at UofM. Tinkering with bikes or cycling. Spending time with good friends and family when I can. Keeping my eye open for new friends, and eventually I hope, a life and adventuring co-pilot.
I’m really good at
Listening, seeing various perspectives, trying to understand people and what makes them tick. Hugs. Making other people feel special. And massages. I try to make people laugh, or at least bring a smile to their face. I'm a fairly resourceful person, I'm not too shabby at fixing certain things.I'm pretty good at dreaming up new hobbies or things to explore.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm about medium height, and usually have some sort of playful mischievous glint in my eye. I'm pretty resourceful, independent and open to most things. Possibly that I'm more the geeky girl next door type of gal. And that I might have mud (clay) stuck in my hair. That I'm trying to figure out if you play guitar or board games.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I prefer sci-fi for all things visual media, and non fiction and sci-fi for books. I recently came across this list of documentaries, and aim to watch all but a few categories: http://earthweareone.com/300-mind-expanding-documentaries/

Favorite Books/Authors:
Various titles by Bill Bryson, Malcom Gladwell and Neil Gaiman. Newly added: Chuck Klosterman. Currently reading The Brain that changes itself, next up, Dancing in the streets - Communal Joy, and Eating the Dinosaur. I could use a month just to read at this point!

Favorite Movies/TV:
Anything with a good original twist to it. If I can predict the entire movie, then I'm not really interested. Preferably it fits into the sci fi, but not horror genre. I also appreciate a good thought provoking (not ranting) documentary. Generally will see Marvel films, however watching "The Wolverine" are sadly hours I will never get back.

Favorite Music:
A varied map of alternative, indie, folk/traditional, bluegrass, old tyme, french folk, some dubstep/electronica ect. Currently can't get enough of Florence + The Machine, The New Deal, Leisure Cruise, Lucy Daucus, Yeasayer, Cigarettes after Sex, Julien Baker and Tyco.

Food:
Currently following the Keto diet, but otherwise generally Japanese, Thai, Indian, Freshii, Chinese, Cheese, and fruit. In the future I hope to be weekday vegetarian.I try to avoid gluten.
The six things I could never do without
My Fiddle/QueTrad/Bluegrass Jams & Music
Family/friends
Learning/Internet
Hugs
Forests/Water/Nature
Sunshine/Mustard
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Psychology. Society. Music. How to rewire my brain for health. How to bring down Monsanto. The world, the human condition, and how to ease emotional suffering. How things work. How things are made. What can I take apart. The law of attraction and gratitude. What should my next project be? When can I go camping/swimming next? How much longer should I wait before getting a puppy? What am I / Should I be doing with my life? Relationships, and how to be a really good partner. How to catch up on knowledge with seemingly everyone else/ how to not worry about catching up on knowledge with seemingly everyone else / paradoxes.Pottery designs. Boardgames. The Enneagram. Having fun. My family.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hopefully something involving live music, gaming, bike building/riding or else cuddling. More recently: Studying, wishing I was jamming/cuddling. Or: seeing as I just joined a pottery studio, playing with mud! When it's cold.. more likely to just hole up at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It's odd.. when trying to think of what would be considered private.. there are things either too private to say, or too .. normal to be considered private. I have a flying pet elephant that I keep out back, but it's against the law to own a private elephant in the downtown core, so I guess that makes it a secret. SSShhhh!!!!!!!!

Addenum... I'm not sure how private this would be .. but I have a somewhat .. strong sense of smell.. um... I've been on dates with promising people who couldn't take the hint that they had about the worst breath ever.. or some other smell I couldn't handle. So.. as polite as I know how to make it.. there's a not so subtle hint. :)
You should message me if
If you are between 36 - 38 or so, and you claim the badge of geekery or outdoorsy type in some form, especially if you play guitar or somesuch. If you know where to find the Tardis, definitely msg me.

At this point, I'm hoping to date, meet people, and see where things lead.

So if you've gotten this far, I'll leave you with this:
http://waitbutwhy.com/2014/02/pick-life-partner.html
More