74 Rio Rancho, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Life has been good and, while normal, not ordinary. My roots were in the mid-west, but I have lived in California, Virginia and Colorado before landing in New Mexico. Along the way, I've met wonderful people, shared unforgettable experiences, and found pleasure in simple things. While I've had practice and am skilled at taking care of myself, I miss the joys that sharing my life and life's opportunities can bring.

I've been single for 30 years, during which time I worked, tended my home and family, wore out several pairs of shoes on the dance floor, socialized (hiked, skied, camped, canoed, and traveled all around Colorado and neighboring states) with a recreation club and volunteered in a number of positions.

After my children finished college and were on their own, I went to college and got my bachelor's degree (at 60). After working a few years, I retired in Denver, then moved to New Mexico to be nearer to my grandchildren and their parents.
What I’m doing with my life
I am blessed to have two daughters, both of whom are bright and engaged in interesting activities. I relocated to be near the eldest, who has three children and a business, and I enjoy the opportunities that I have to be of help with both of those responsibilities. I like to go shopping at garage and estate sales, make crafty items, play word games, read, and explore my surroundings. I enjoy occasional road trips to see friends and relatives in Colorado, NE Ohio and California. I've been involved in "get-out-the vote" efforts for many years. I grew up with Republicans, but I no longer pretend to be one. Getting out of the closet took awhile, but I prefer being a Liberal and a Democrat.
I’m really good at
seeing the sunny side; pitching in and finishing what I've started; starting over; serious and lighthearted conversation; thinking creatively; making a meal out of odds and ends; listening
The first things people usually notice about me
I'll have to ask about that one.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Enjoy historical fiction. Moved west in my younger years because of Zane Grey. I've read lots of books on health and nutrition and try to keep up with new findings and ideas. Now I watch too much TV - especially drawn to liberal politics, movies, BBC shows, Longmire (please find a new home), The Good Wife, and others. I like most movie genres, altho' fantasy and horror aren't at the top of my list of likes. Listen to classic country, easy listening, progressive talk; prefer healthy, nourishing food--veggies, fruit, some meat, grains, dairy. Especially fond of our NM red and green chile dishes.
The six things I could never do without
The obvious life-giving elements we all require, then "never say never." I would not choose to do without: family and friends who help me grow and live more fully, children and grandchildren who add richness to getting older, telecommunications (radio, TV, computer, etc.), transportation, and laughter.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to make life more fulfilling and maybe leave a footprint on the sands of time, to paraphrase Longfellow and his poem that I recited at high school graduation.
On a typical Friday night I am
doing what comes naturally. I don't have a typical Friday night.
You should message me if
we have a reasonably close match number and/or something I've posted inspires you to write.