58Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am in an open, polyamorous relationship with a wonderful woman. If you think that means "cheating", that's not how it is; you can meet my wife and ask her yourself (in fact, if we end up going out repeatedly you will need to meet her). I am not available for a long-term committed relationship but am available for dating, friendship and other less-intense relationships.

I grew up with a strong work ethic and put it to use earning my doctorate, with occasional partying but always putting my schoolwork first, and saving the fun for later. Much later. Years and years later. I got married, had a couple of kids, built my practice, and kept waiting for the fun to start.

About 18 years ago my first marriage was falling apart and I found my life turning sharply in new directions. I started to rethink many of the things I had accepted as given, including the conventional Western Medical perspective on healthcare, and I started taking continuing education classes in alternative medicine. This was eventually to lead me to become one of the few naturopathic veterinarians.

My life changed in many others ways around this time as well. For one thing I was dating again for the first time in 13 years. At first it was awkward, but once I started to meet new people and socialize, I realized that I had been sorely missing going out for a fun night on the town. I found myself attracted more and more to very different people from who I had been used to socializing with prior to my divorce. I started going to parties, raves, Burning Man, and in short finally started to have some of that fun I had been putting off for so many years. I started attracting friends who were wilder and more “out there”. I tended to date wilder and more “out there” women as well. And I became reacquainted with drugs as well (a brief flirtation with marijuana in high school and very briefly in college was as far down that path I had traveled up to that point, and nothing since then). And the more I experienced this new lifestyle, the better it felt and the more it felt like I was coming home.

In the middle of all this fun, I fell in love with a wonderful woman who had been leading a pretty wild and crazy life up to this point, just the kind of life I had missed out on and was wanting more and more of. To her, I seemed like a stable business-owning successful career man (who still liked to have fun) which was just what she was looking to become. So we each seemed like a perfect match to the other one, because each of us wanted to turn into the other one. This eventually would lead to some difficulty between us, but in the end we were able to work through it which resulted in deepening our relationship. Our relationship has grown and strengthened as we worked through our stuff, and I am grateful for our beautiful relationship that allows me to get my needs met outside of the relationship.

And I still have the desire to go out to parties and nightclubs while my wife is settling down and starting to build her therapy practice. Which that brings us to why I'm here. I'm looking for a party girl friend with bennies, someone who wants to enjoy all that life has to offer, go out on the town 2 or 3 or 4 times a month with me (and maybe sometimes with both me and my wife - she still likes to have some fun after all) and drink deep from the well.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a lot of interests and never enough time to pursue them. For one thing, I would like to do more traveling, but it's difficult to get away when you own your own business. So I am preparing to sell my practice, with the exception of the phone consult portion, which I plan to expand. I can do phone consults from anywhere with a cell phone connection, and I envision traveling for several months at a time, financing my travels by working for a couple of hours each day on the phone. This will also free up more time for my writing, which is important to me. I am currently restoring a '65 Mustang. I like to do creative projects; for example, last year I created a large art car project for Burning Man.
I’m really good at
Having fun, healing, mathematical and logic puzzles (e.g. Sudoku), communication, listening deeply, holding space, loving, figuring things out, fixing things, throwing kick-ass parties and partying, being creative, being supportive, snuggling, being attentive, and did I mention having fun?
The first things people usually notice about me
My sense of humor, my eyes, my smile, my kindness.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, ZOTZ, pretty much anything by Heinlein, Asimov, Niven, Pratchett, The Matrix, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Wicked. Food: I am mostly vegetarian, and my comfort foods are pizza, chocolate, milk shakes. I enjoy ecstatic dance, and the type of music that usually goes along with that.
Six things I could never do without
Fun. Sex. Chocolate. Adventure. My wife. Oxygen.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The nature of reality and consciousness.
On a typical Friday night I am
Going out to dinner, dancing, socializing, clubbing, exploring the universe. Unless I have to work on Saturday, then I do all that Saturday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can be insecure when meeting someone for the first time; I feel pressure to say just the right thing to make a good impression.
You should message me if
You are OK dating someone in an open relationship, and you like to party.
The two of us