31Wichita, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved to Wichita (though I grew up in another part of Kansas) from Washington about three years ago. I don't particularly love the big city and I could probably live contently in a cabin far out in the woods sometimes. I love getting close to nature, whether its messing around in the dirt, or just laying out on a grassey hill staring at the sky.

I also love cooking, and expanding my cooking genres...I am a vegetarian not for the normal reasons but because to me... it tastes bad...kind of rotten and bitter. I'm not an ass about how I eat though, unless someone *makes* it an issue. Time with a more vegetable based diet helps me expand my cooking base a bit, which is nice. I can still cook very good meat dishes though. I bake too, occasionally.

I really like camping and hiking, as well as having a chance to go to the gym. I'm not a gym rat by any means, but it's a great way to blow off steam. If you just want a gym partner in the area, let me know! I'm good at kicking my own ass at that place.

I'm easy to get along with unless you have a knack for getting on my bad side.

And for those who care about sports, I'm picky in what I like. I prefer hockey and baseball. I'm an Avalanche, Canucks, and Red Sox fan. Deal with it.
What I’m doing with my life
I got my BA in Rhetoric/Professional Writing with a minor in Philosophy.

Decided I couldn't do much with that, so I got an MA in Literature focusing on Pre/Medieval and 20/21st C. Lit. It's something I'm good at, but I realized it's not what I want to be stuck with all of my life. Mostly, all I could do with it was teach or go on to law school, so now I'm finishing up a MA in Anthropology. It's something I'm passionate about and it's very versatile.

I miss the west coast- I've been applying for jobs teaching at community and junior colleges up in western Washington for next year, and I really hope everything works out. (Note this means relocation is in my near future which is why I'm looking for "short-term" dating, keep this in mind when contacting me unless you'd be willing to move).

So much to learn and so little least I have many years ahead of me.

I've recently gotten into running and some other sports I'd never touched before. Can't say I'm terribly good, but it's important to me that I keep improving. I'd like to find someone that has an active lifestyle similar to the level I'm on.
I’m really good at
Writing, teaching, and academia in general. I dont like to do dishes but I do them well. I like cooking, and I also do that well. I'm good at thinking things out. I'm good at helping people through problems, and neglecting my own. I can hide feelings well, and I have more logic than most. I think peanut butter is awesome and strawberries are the best thing to have at a picnic.

My annoying fail: As musical as I am, I can't whistle. :-p
The first things people usually notice about me
Maybe people notice my friends before they notice me, or physically that my eyes change color?

As a friend added as an edit "At least one person has picked up on my creative and artistic side as a first impression. Also, it's not hard to notice I'm just plain awesome."
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A) Book: Einsteins Dreams by Alan Lightman, Inferno by Dante, Illusions by Richard Bach, Most Anne Rice and Mary Higgins Clark.

B) Movie: My favorite is "Whale Rider", then RENT, and Moulin Rouge!, but I like a lot of Sci-Fi and Dramatic movies too. I'm also big on comedy and animated movies (which usually go hand in hand) like Shaun of the Dead, What About Bob, Office Space, Ice Age, etc. I think I just like movies in general.

I love Zombie movies! Of any kind! I actually like zombie anything... I'm planning on going to the Zombie 5K this year...just so I can run and be chased by zombies...

C) Music: All kinds except half of the country music out there, and most of the rap. My favorite bands include Seal, Soul Coughing, James Blunt, ZZTop,Steppenwolf, Five for Fighting and Aerosmith, plus a bunch more.

D) Food: Depends on who cooks it, but I like the simple stuff. I like homemade pizza, and mexican food. Particular favorites include mushrooms, cheese, strawberries, mashed potatoes and gravy, ice cream, and on occasion chocolate.
Six things I could never do without
1) notebook/Pen
2) books and outside mind enthralling entertainment
3) friends
4) my family
5) music
6) My current furry companions
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, and stuff thats gone wrong or right, and what I need to do, or wish would happen in the future. What in the world I'll do when I graduate with my final degree- work, volunteer, or what I should work doing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Watching movies with my friends, just hanging out somewhere in town with friends, working... I don't go out drinking or partying very much.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I secretly dream of the perfect romance, but I'm kind of bummed that reality doesn't tend to support perfect.
You should message me if
Honestly, if you're a loser/mooch/etc., leave me alone. Right now with so much going on, I can't support someone else who isn't able to support themselves, both physically and mentally.
The two of us