46 South Windsor, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Ok. How do I do this... How do I sell myself to you in a few paragraphs, without coming off as arrogant or conceited? If I said I was everything you've been looking for, I wouldn't be the first guy saying that on their profile. I wouldn't be the second, or the hundredth, or the thousandth. So, how do I set myself apart from those profiles? Easy. I don’t. You’re going to have to find out for yourself. Are you ready to take a chance?

So who am I?

I consider myself a lucky guy, but not for things that have magically happened to me. Luck favors the prepared mind, and I've had great success at creating my own luck whenever I need it. I’m optimistic – I’m told to a fault, but it hasn't failed me yet. I’m active and adventurous. I like to keep busy – biking, kayaking, hiking, camping, and if necessary, or if I feel like I’m falling behind a little bit, I’ll even spend time at the gym. I love to laugh and be around others with a similar live and let live kind of outlook. But most importantly, I am a proud father to the awesomest (That’s a word, spell check. Don’t mock me with that red squiggly.) eleven year old son I could imagine.

I spent a good portion of my adult life married, but that's in the past now, and far enough back that the drama is done. I'm totally monogamous by nature. I've had some great relationships, I've had disasters and I've spent time on my own. What I've realized, however, is that I’m happiest when I’m sharing my life with the right person. At the same time, I know that I’m happier on my own than settling for someone that is not right for me. My life is quite full and fulfilling right now, and it’s only getting better. If it’s me and my son for the next few years, that’s fine, but I’m here because I’m pretty sure the right woman is on here somewhere too – probably wondering what she’s doing on this site, much like I am.

So who are you?

Well, if you’re the one I’m looking for, you’re probably a lot like me. You’re optimistic. You don’t shy away from an adventure. You're intelligent. Maybe even in a way that intimidates most men. I'm not most men. Not at all. You've got a great sense of humor and can dish it out as well as take it. You love to explore – whether it’s a trail you've never noticed in your own home town, a road trip or traveling to another country. You are not afraid of public displays of affection, given or received. You’re a little feisty, and can go from hiking boots to an evening gown on a moment’s notice. Your beauty outside is put to shame by your beauty inside. And you’re ready to take a chance that may change your life forever.

Sound like you? If so, you know what to do next.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm raising the greatest 11 year old boy on earth, working in a great job as a programmer/analyst at a great company, finding new adventures to challenge myself, and looking for someone special to share this great life with me.
I’m really good at
Coming back stronger from any challenge life may send my way.
The first things people usually notice about me
My positive outlook always shines through. My sense of humor paves the way for that positive outlook a bit as well.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
So busy these days, haven't read much lately other than work related stuff and books with my son. Movies, I'm a bit behind there too. If I'm flipping through the channels and Shawshank Redemption is on, I will stop there whether it's 5 minutes in or 5 minutes til the end. I generally love comedies, action and sci-fi. For TV, I usually only catch it as background noise or just before sleep. I ditched cable for an antenna and netflix a while back and I have not missed it. You never hear anybody say on their deathbed, "I wish I'd had a chance to see just a couple more reality shows..." For music, I have a varied taste, but love anything with prominent guitar, gravitating towards hard rock, blues, new country, but will still always have a soft spot for the era I grew up, the 80's. As for food, I'm primarily a carnivore. I believe bacon improves anything. I recently learned that I love sushi also, after close to 40 years believing otherwise. I'm also a bit of a beer snob, and recently started to develop an appreciation for wines, another taste which I'd be interested in expanding on.
The six things I could never do without
My son, a guitar, a two wheeled vehicle, Google, bacon, some kind of challenge.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to put in this box. Clearly not enough time though...
On a typical Friday night I am
Half of them, I'm with my son doing something fun - cub scout meeting, playing with Legos... The other Fridays, it varies greatly. Seeing live music somewhere, out for dinner, starting a weekend of camping, plotting global domination... Depends on the mood.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I wasn't wearing pants when I wrote this profile.
You should message me if
I don't need to tell you why. If you should, you know this already. If you made it to here, there's an excellent chance you should take that next step. That was a lot of reading for nothing if you don't. :^D