41Bear, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved to Bear Delaware at the end of 2012 for a new career opportunity and to be closer to my family, particularly my two nieces who I was only seeing a couple times every year while they grew up quickly. After spending a good while getting used to my new surroundings, I've just moved into a new place as of June 2014, and with all of the other updates and upgrades, I thought I'd give OKC another try - and to prove to you how serious I am about it, I even took a few new selfies. . .which I never do. I'm an introvert who has no fear of public speaking or performance. In fact, I enjoy it. While we're talking contradictions, I'd like to meet someone with whom I feel completely comfortable, but also someone whose presence excites me and sets off sparks - and I want to have the same effect on her at the same time.

In the past few years I've committed more and more to working out and eating healthy, and it's improved every other aspect of my life along the way. I'm nursing a calf injury right now, but once it's all healed up I hope to be back to 100% of my fitness goals. I don't keep any junk food at home, but I'm not completely draconian about the food, so I can still go out on weekends and on vacations and indulge. The health stuff is an important thing for me, but not in the narcissistic shirtless-selfie-in-the-mirror way. It's more about having energy and being well and good things like that.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a government contractor (CMMI/software engineering process improvement), a writer, and an uncle. Before I moved here I lived in Seattle for 8 years. I had a great time for the most part in Seattle, and there's a lot I miss about it, but I decided to move here for a couple of reasons. Most of my family is on this side of the country, so now I get to see them much more often, especially my nieces who live just an hour away in New Jersey and are my favorite two people in the world. I'm originally from Pittsburgh, and in addition to Seattle I've also live in Los Angeles, Phoenix, and Enterprise Alabama. I spent a semester in Florence Italy during undergrad, but I'm not sure if you can count that as a place I've lived. I always have a writing project that I'm working on, if not at the computer then at least in my head (often at the office when I should be thinking of work-related stuff). My project for the next several months involves helping a friend who recently published his first young adult novel, helping him see how his book could be adapted into other forms.
I’m really good at
Writing, impressions and accents, jokes, storytelling, karaoke, remembering unimportant details, demonstrative affection.
The first things people usually notice about me
Broad shoulders, hazel eyes, you tell me what else if we ever meet.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
For literature, I've loved Shakespeare and Dickens in the classics, and I've dug Hemingway (the short stories especially) and Hunter S. Thompson for something closer to the present.

Movies are my favorite thing in the world, primary interest, #1 pasttime, etc., so choosing a favorite would be utterly impossible. I love any movie that's good, no matter who made it, whatever genre it may be, from any country, from any year, and at any level of budget.

TV shows I love are either on HBO or animated comedies.

I'm much more selective when it comes to music. I love both the Black Keys and Jack White regardless of how much they despise each other. I also love the likes of The Hives, J. Roddy Walston & the Business, Dropkick Murphys, Eagles of Death Metal or any other band that Jesse Hughes is working on, Queens of the Stone age or any other band that Josh Homme is working on, Bad Religion, Social Distortion, Dinosaur Jr, The Gits, Beck, the Brian Jonestown Massacre, Foo Fighters, Flaming Lips, The Nightwatchman, Tegan and Sara, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Sleater-Kinney, Spoon, Tool.

Food for me is much the same as movies - if it's good, it doesn't matter what it is or where it comes from. I have adjusted my habits over the past few years to eat more and more healthy, so I do enjoy experiencing new vegetarian and even vegan options. I have a bias for Italian since that's what I come from, and I never seem to get tired of Indian - but I've had a hard time finding Indian food where I live now. Unfortunately I have never developed a liking for seafood. I've tried it over the years, but I simply don't enjoy it - but I have no problem at all if you love it.
Six things I could never do without
An overall goal of some kind/any kind to work toward
Good movies
Strenuous Exercise
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I can do anything and everything better than I do it now.
On a typical Friday night I am
Seeing a new movie at a theater, relaxing with anyone whose company I enjoy.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I was scared to death of roller coasters until I was 12 years old. In the summer of 1988 I was at Kennywood in Pittsburgh, and I found myself in line for the Racer with a girl from school that I really liked. I got nowhere with the girl (even after I won her a Michelangelo Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle plush doll at one of the games), but I haven't been one bit afraid of roller coasters since then.
You should message me if
You like what you've read and seen above, you're not excessively religious, you are in favor of same-sex marriage, and. . .
The two of us